Will Steemit Disrupt FaceBook?

Hi Everyone.

I'm Ethan and this is my first post on Steemit. Although I use FaceBook daily, I resent FB as a company and I'm not a great fan of the Zuck for a long long list of reasons. I purposely do not own any shares in FB stock because I want to believe something can and should come along and destroy/disrupt FB. My hope is that Steemit will be that disruption. I am not very well versed in the world of crypto currency or steemit, and I have a lot to learn. I hope my Steemit peers can help educate me. So I pose two questions to you:

  1. Are the creators of Steemit actually trying to disrupt FB? Is their goal to unseat Mark Zuckerberg to become the world's dominant social media platform?

  2. Assuming the answer to #1 is "yes," is it even possible for Steemit to accomplish this goal?

I'm interested to hear what you have to say on this.

1157690-koiddg7dajek2lx1qps5xw.jpg

Sort:  

In order to disrupt FB and become the "dominant" social media platform it would have to either play by the same corporate rules as Facebook does (doubtful, if it's even possible) or it would have to provide something better than what FB offers. I tend towards the latter. In my view, they don't have to be hell-bent on destroying Facebook. If their platform is less profit-driven and empowers the user in new ways, people will naturally gravitate towards it. Of course, that depends on people's ability to see what it offers, which still has a lot of people scratching their heads.

No I don't think steem will over take FB unfortunately, if it continues it's current path. Steem encourages longer blog like posts where as FB mostly consist of quick snippets, usually many a day. I think this is where the average FB user would find that STEEM requires too much attention to detail and professionalism to be a real disrupter.

However in saying all that, I still think STEEM will be hugely successful. But it's kinda like comparing Bitcoin to Ethereum. They both have their place and attempt to resolve different problems and both can be successful.

Very thoughtful reply, thanks! I think your intuition is right.

It could over take it once the there are enough different platforms over the steem blockchain... They alread are and i see no reason why not building one similar to facebook... Steemit.com as a site must transform it self in order to grow...

I share your opinion. Numerous services for video sharing, tweets, bloging, etc. based on steemit reward platform will be available in future. This will challenge google, facebook and other enterprises sitting on the market.

Sure of course. Anything is possible.

Exactly, Facebook is a platform to connect people we know of while STEEM is currently based on growing public attention and using it to earn money. Its very different to facebook, we normally talk here to people we don't really know of.

I completely agree with this

I've been trying to get facebook users to use other social media sites for years. I haven't even been able to get one single person I know on facebook to use Google+, and everyone already has a Google account. I'm still trying. I'm brand new to this site, and maybe, just maybe, I can get people to make accounts here since cryptocurrency is a hot topic and everyone wants to make money. Unfortunitely I don't envision facebook losing popularity anytime soon. People are slow.

Well, I came over to Steemit because I don't like Facebook at all. It's all memes and shitposts and pictures by some 'friends', friends that I either barely know, met only once and then never spoke again and so on. I only really use the Messenger part of Facebook and I know quite a lot of people that do the same. My problem with trying to convince people to come over to Steemit is that they do not believe that they could actually make some money here, or don't understand how or where this money is coming from.

I literally never heard of Google+ lol.

Thank you @thegreatwent for your thoughtful questions. My answer if the Steemit Creators are intentionally trying to disrupt facebook...is No. Why should they? Steemit.com is just one application on the Steemit Blockchain and aims to provide a platform and pay service for content creators and curators. That is a totally different business model and also experimental in technology because of its Blockchain nature. I think what could happen by accident is that the Steemit Business Model (To get paid for content) will eventually disrupt all other social media sites out there. That is the Revolution!!!

Good answer! Very interesting insight!

yes I hope so too @thegreatwent For me too, I agree with you about Facebook and I am not a fan, but hard to escape right now. I can see steemit growing very very quickly in popularity. I just joined I am still trying to get my bearings on this platform, but one thing is for sure. I can feel the excitement and buzz on this platform

It definitely has a good community of enthusiastic followers.

pls am following you pls follow me back

hello friend I am also a new user of esteemit and I have the experience with my son and his friends, they are very happy with esteemit, he has not stopped using facebook but I think now he spends most of his time in esteemit since it generates income and the best thing about this community for me is not their income but the quality of their people

I think steemit and fb are two total different things. As more people with low education still use facebook but only people who know how blockchain work can play better in steemit.

i think Steemit is a different approach to SM than facebook. You were supposed to use fb to connect with ur friends, not followers. There's a project called Sphere.social and they do try to take down Facebook. thanks!

@thegreatwent thanks for placing this very interesting question. I read most of the feedback from people and my opinion is that the steem blockchain has a lot more potential than facebook and totally different visions in mind.

The steem blockchain has the vision of its creator @dan (very well explained by @teamsteem in his welcome to steemit post) that in summary it is achieving freedom for us, empowering people, returning the power to the hands of us the people, and give the control back to us. No intermediaries in the middle. And this is actually really happening. Lots of people around the world are able to make a living with steemit nowadays, something it was not possible were they live. Lots of people that are unbanked that is a great percentage of population in the world, have actual access to steem and are able to make a living with a few little of steem today. And this is just the top part of the iceberg.

Steemit and the steem blockchain has great developments already operating, this developments like @utopian-io are disrupting the way insdustries work. For instance, @utopian-io is a disruption in the way open source projects are funded. It has a created a completely new markert/ new economy, were contributors are payed for their contributions (developments, ideas, suggestions, bugs on coding, tutorials, and many other things).

There are many other developments in process. And there is a huge thing that will be released soon I believe, which is SMTs (Smart Media Tokens), were any person on the steem blockchain will be able to make an ICO and create its own crypto (similar to what the ethereum ecosystem does, were new ICOs are generated, but in the steem blockchain, and with the super power and speed and deliverabilities of the steem blockchain which is the far with more transactions nowadays and still not using 1% of its capacity. While ethereum, bitcoin and others use all its capacity with less transfer going on on their networks.)

There are so many things happening on steem that I believe it can reach $30 in the next few months, and who knows if $100 by the end of the year. And it has a super potential to go much further.

On the steem blockchain, a platform like steemit can be created, more to the similarity of facebook, but with the power of the steem blockchain, and the power for people to earn, and with that single detail, people for sure will start trying it and moving to this platform.

In addition to all these things, steem has the power of being a bank itself, and not only giving what banks does, but much more, such as speed of light 3 second transactions, no fees, it gives interest to hold steem power, and so many things that it has the power to do, and is doing.

I don't know if you heard from me before, or if you got by chance to one of my latest posts/chapters.

In addition to posting several ideas to help improve the steemit front-end in order to increase the percentage of retains of users, and to help capture the attention of more users, I also finished creating the 11 chapters/posts full steemit guide to help new members and new visitors on steemit, to understand as much as possible of the steem blockchain and steemit, and thus help them make their way on the platform.

Here is the link to the newest Chapter/post 4:
https://steemit.com/steem/@gold84/chapter-4-of-11-understanding-how-to-keep-our-steemit-and-steem-cryptocurrency-account-safe-how-to-use-the-5-different-passwords

Looking forward to hear from you with your additions, knowledge and experience in any of the Chapters!

Regards, @gold84

well said, upvoted.

Thanks for your support @extrospect .

I am glad to find an alternative to facebook - their rules are becoming more and more draconian!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51981.11
ETH 2334.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 1.97