Hello, My New Steemit Friends!

I am thecanoecarver on Steemit... Churchill Clark. Dugout Canoe Love is here!

Again! (LOL)

I set an account up last year, and lost my password.

Don't do that.

THIS will be the account I'll go with now.

Please forgo the sign-in-hand pic! LOL ... I did it for the other Steemit page at Dugout Canoe Love. Feel free to compare that one to any of my posts here. I think you'll agree... no 'bots would wanna be me! LOL

A short intro...

 

Here's my story...
My name is Churchill Clark, 4th great grandson of William Clark. I followed the Lewis & Clark Trail during the Bicentennial Commemoration, from May 14, 2004 - September 23, 2006. The goal was to follow the journals, and camp where he did, 200 years to the day: representing the family the whole way! I actually fell into a full-scale reenactment, and joined a crew of nut-jobs from St. Charles, MO, known as "The Discovery Expedition of St. Charles". I was with them from St. Louis to Washburn, North Dakota, in 2004. In 2005, I split-off with some of the hard-core guys, paddling up the Mighty Mo' in a beautiful cottonwood dugout made by Lee Gilbert and Lee Guthrie (Lee squared), from the Twin Cities.
When we ran out of water, horse people in and around Twin Bridges, MT came through for us! We rode over three mountain passes for 5-1/2 weeks, to Orofino, Idaho! We had a beautiful 26-ft ponderosa pine waiting for us in Lewiston, which our crew carved into a five-man canoe in eleven days! From there, we paddled to the Pacific, then turned around, and went back (long story short)!
A great personal depression followed, Life just wasn't the same, anymore. It all came to a head in 2009, when I had a terrible wreck that broke my orbital socket, my jaw (lost a tooth), and crushed my T-5 vertebrae. I now have metal in my skull, and cement in my back. My vision was ruined. After three more surgeries, years later, I have one eye working... kind of/sort of/more-or less.
BEFORE I had my surgeries, Knotty found me! (please see my previous post "Knotty The Dugout Canoe".
She changed my life!
Now, I travel the country, going where the big trees call me. I've had hundreds... possibly thousands of people carving on my canoes! I've worked with schools, Tribes, and festivals, to name a few. The trees teach many lessons. I love working with children, and stand-back in awe, as the tree talks to them! I teach what I feel I need to, but let the kids figure things out for themselves, generally. Teamwork, creativity, problem-solving, history, and (my favorite) patience, among these lessons. The biggest thing I can do for them is to get them to think "outside the box", and to follow their dreams!
It's a beautiful thing!
If, by some chance, I actually make some sort of income here, it will all go towards keeping this crazy idea of a "business" going!
The kids need it. This much, I know.
Love is here.
Canoe! Canoe!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @thecanoecarver!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Thats awesome man, thanks for sharing! Ive always wanted to make a dugout. When I see those monster trees bobbing along down the Mississip I think 'could be me'. I bet it got wild around barges and stuff. Amazing adventure!

You remind me of the lumber jack man in the Little Red Riding Hood. Come save the day with an ax. I love forest and hiking.

I prefer an adze...COOPER'S BEST (1642) ADZE CHIPS XXXXX.JPG

welcome to steemit @thecanoecarver, I do a weekly post introducing new steemians, i have included you in this weeks one. have a great week, and full steem ahead.

That is super cool!!! N it's awesome you're disabled and keep going!!! I live with disabilities too!! I just followed by you. Welcome!!

Welcome to steemit @thecanoecarver. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Great seeing you on here Churchill!

Welcome back!

Woo-hoo! Took me long enough to figure that out! LOL

Welcome To Steemit! Your biggest challenge now is how can you grow from a minnow to a dolphin and then to a whale. Fortunately, it’s not as hard as it seems.

If you post great content and involve yourself in the Steemit community you’ll grow a large following in no time at all.


SteemitVideos is a project created by @spencercoffman dedicated to helping you grow on Steemit. All videos will be posted here directly from the YouTube channel.

Welcome to steemit @thecanoecarver!
I gave you an upvote value of $0.01!
Please have fun and enjoy your stay with us!

I have gave you a upvote and a follow, consider coming and doing the same back on my page, trying to work my way up here a bit and make my votes count for more. also have a few articles to come later today full of gardening tips, aswell as ewaste recycling old computers, and cellphones etc to be more enviromentally friendly

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43