Sup Steemit! Greetings from the Artlaw the animator, past Pixar intern, current student of animation

Hi! My name is Austin but I prefer to go by the Artlaw online. The name comes from the fact I am an animator who studies "art" where previously I was gonna study "law." I also liked that it sounds like "outlaw" cause I friggin love westerns especially those of the Italian flavor.

I discovered steemit as I researched about bitcoin and cryptocurrency, and I love the idea! I've been trying to think of how I can use my talents and my opinions in a cool way online and this place seems to be a good place to start. I'd love to help this community grow!

A little about myself, I go to a university where I study animation. I generally focus on cinematography but I can pretty much do everything half decently (see my portfolio link at the bottom). This past summer I had the opportunity to do an incredible internship at small studio you may have heard of it.

PIXAR! It was awesome! Feel free to ask any question you may have about it! I had to sign an NDA so I can't say anything specific about future projects (Incredibles 2 is gonna be awesome) but I can tell you all about my experience if you'd like. Here's a sad picture of me on my last day at Pixar:

IMG_0065.JPG

I plan to post things focused on movies and entertainment. I really want to start making some video analysis type movies but that won't be til my schedule frees up cause I'm currently producing a student film with about 40 other students. I'll probably post a few rants about movies and my recommendations on some classics to watch. I'm also down for any freelance projects and be willing to get paid in cryptocurrencies, even STEEM. But like I said before, I'd love to help this community grow! In the words of this plaque at Disneyland; We are just getting started.

IMG_1131.JPG

P.S
Here's my portfolio of some of my work that I need to update (probably behind about 6 months)
no pixar stuff on there yet but soon
http://rodriguezanimation.wixsite.com/portfolio

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit - I'm sure people will love to see your work on here :) Kate

I'm very curious can you recommend any of these Italian westerns?

Oh man, anything by the director Sergio Leone. He was the genius behind "The Good, The Bad and The Ugly." But little known fact, that movie is the end of a trilogy of fantastic movies. Also, "Once Upon a Time in the West" is fantastic!

Love those animations :)
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my blog for sharing promising newcomers like you! Check out the other new users there!
Greets!

Thanks for that! Hope to post some new stuff soon!

Welcome to the steemit community @theartlaw

I look forward to seeing what you have to offer

I have followed you, if you would be so kind, would you please follow me @thescholarlyowl

Cool name indeed, Artlaw :-)
Sounds like a fun carreer.
How long does it take to render a single frame at movie resolution?
Does your University use Blender in its courses, or is it all Maya?

There is a ton of variables when it comes to how long a frame renders. How the lights work, how many characters, how much dark and light. It could go from 10 secs to days. A major shot in Coco took about 72 computer hours to render.

We mainly use Maya in the modeling and animating, though we use programs like Mari and Houdini for effects and rendering

Thats very interesting. Back in college I had interest in Maya , but then I some how got in to programming. Looking forward to see your post .

Hey @theartlaw great to have another cinema fan here. I think STEEMIT can really work as a great vehicle for sharing future projects, connecting with other talent and possibly even funding films.
Looking forward to your posts!

From what I have seen, it looks like a great place for those things. That's why I want to particpate!

Congratulations @theartlaw! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

A big welcome to you @theartlaw , Am glad to have you here on steemit. I love pixar so much I can't wait to see all the lovely stuffs you'll be posting here.,especially their most recent movie Coco. You welcome.

I just resteemed, followed and upvoted your post also,so that more people will see this post and support it too.

Please, I need a little favor from you, am in a design competition now, here is my design

and I'll really need your help. All you need do is to go to this link

https://steemit.com/contest/@steembay/the-big-steembay-contest-we-need-a-logo-startimage-win-50-sbd

And then check the comment section for the logo above, and then upvote the logo. My user name is @lucyc.

If you are good at designing logos, you can join the contest also. Thanks so much for your help.

Wow, it's not every day that you hear someone say that they were an intern for one of the best animation studios in the world. As a big disneyfan, I'm really curious about what it is like to work at pixas studio. How does an average work day go in there? What is the studio like? How many different projects do they work on simultaneously?

An average workday all depends on your position. It is very specialized at Pixar so everyone has a very specific job. For example, there are people that build props all day long while others light shots. Basically, you have your assignments from supervisor/director, you work on them and get them finalized to be moved down the pipeline. They work on a lot of different projects but generally only two or three are in full production at a time.

Neat! I hope you had fun during your time there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62132.42
ETH 3416.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51