Introducing Myself: The Shaolin Way of Life - 少林

Hi Steemians,

I waited quite a long time for my introduction but now I‘m finally sitting down and write my first blog post :)

I‘m Christian, German citizen and living since a couple of weeks in Cyprus, working as a web developer. With all the crypto currency hype last year I finally got involved and also came across the Steem platform. I like a lot the concept of decentralise again the whole Internet like it was meant to be back then and I‘m curious about the future if Blockchain technology can really show us the way.


At highschool I started to get involved into Chinese Buddhism and Shaolin Kung Fu. After 2 months of training at a Kung Fu school in central China I knew that this was not my last time in China, but only with English it would be hard for me to study more about the Shaolin philosophy and train with the warrior monks :)

So I decided to study Sinology (just a fancy name for East Asian Studies with the major in Chinese :D) and I began learning Mandarin Chinese, the culture, history etc.

After 2 years of studying I thought it should be time to test my language skills – I contacted one of my earlier Kung Fu Shifus (師父,師 for teacher, 父 for father)and asked him if it‘s possible that I could stay a longer period of time in China, also to learn more about Buddhism.

And so I went to China, staying a bit longer than a year at a Kung Fu school and Buddhist monastery. At the monastery in Beijing (北京, 北 for Northern, 京 for capital) I got a Buddhist name and took refuge together with the 5 precepts.

I will explain all that in a future blog post because else it would be too much for just an introduction :)


The monastery I stayed is called Tiankaisi (天開寺,天 for heaven, 開 for open, and 寺 for monastery).

DSCF5180.JPG

Getting up every morning at 4 was tough, that‘s why many monks after chanting the sutras fell asleep in the meditation and even started to snore :D

At this temple there were only some monks also practising Kung Fu and they didn‘t act as a teacher there so I also spent time at one of the many Shaolin temples, called 北少林寺, the Northern Shaolin Temple (There are a lot..) in Hebei 河北,province (河 for river, 北 for Noth, the river is the Yellow River or Huanghe).


Because I don‘t have that much patience I didn‘t want to learn the Shaolin forms but instead I focused on the traditional style – conditioning the body. I practised for example Tietougong(鐵頭功 , Iron Head Kung Fu).

And we also practised fighting on top of the wooden poles where you not only learn to fight but also become versed in paying attention to your balance.


IMG_aa.JPG

After I came back from China I had to find work and earn money like a normal person so I unfortunately had no time anymore to practise and study the Shaolin way because just of lack of time.


I think Steem is a great tool which can enable me to focus again on the philosophy and the sport because I‘m really missing it since I started my career as a IT Freelancer. If you sit the whole day in front of the laptop you just need to go out at least once a day and do a nice workout or you will loose your mind :D Now it‘s time for a change!

If you are interested I will write in the next posts about the daily life in China, about the Chinese language, Chinese Buddhism and for sure the Shaolin way of life.

阿彌陀佛,Stay tuned!

IMG_2157.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit society

thank you! :)

Welcome to Steem Community @tezcatlipoka! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Great photos of architecture and sports. The great thing about steemit is that you can express all sides of yourself. I am expecting the best for you.

thanks a lot! will keep posting soon..

Hi, I'm @edosweet. I stopped by to give you a warm welcome to the Steemit platform. I wish you good luck and many good things as you join us.

thank you!your posts are inspiring :)

Welcome to Steemit! I'm really looking forward to reading about these experiences in China :)

:) good to know that people are interested..will post soon again!

Hello dearie, steemit is the place for you.
Join steem schools where there are talented story writers and 5,000 steemians.
https://discord.gg/pqWrzBn
You will be thought about the use of tags and how to attract the right audience.

The school helped me, it can be of help to you too.

thanks! looks promising will definitely join

I would live to learn more of your iron head training! Welcome to steemit.

i will write a blog post about that if you like soon :)

Definitely!


Welcome to Steemit @tezcatlipoka!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hello, welcome, very interesting your life in China. I wish you much success in and out of this platform.

Thank you :) Yes, I just started and need to urge me to sit down and write..

:D thank you bee-me! Welcome too, looks like you also just started!

Welcome
Your #introduceyourself blog is very nice. Lovely pictures and very interesting
Blogging thats what its all about on this platform and this blockchain. Blogging is it, blog on and you Will be succesfull! 🤛 and You Will earn money. 💴💸💰be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give that up!
For very good safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11
I blog every day and love it!❤️
Helpfull is the Steemify App , its Free in the Appstore go cheque it out. And good luck steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie - Holland

Thank you very much for the information, it helps a lot at the beginning..let's see if i will also love the writing, so far it's entertaining :) Steemify App..is it also called eSteem? Don't want to download the wrong one..

No Steemify helps you to See who is replying etc
The other one is to See the earnings

Download both😉 text When you need other help I am not as New anymore

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66610.55
ETH 3546.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56