Hello, new steemian here

TrevorByington.JPG
Hello everyone, my name is Trevor Byington, and I just joined Steemit today. I've been looking for a place to post up some of my old fiction to get some mileage out of it, and Steem seems to have a nice combination of newness and community. None of this will have been published at the time of posting. Hopefully I'll be able to entertain some of you at the very least.

Who I am
Photo on 3-3-16 at 10.03 PM.jpg
I spent the majority of my childhood in California on the Central Coast. Around 14 I moved with my mom and siblings to Utah. So now that I'm 40 I guess I'm a...Utahn? Utanite? Utard? I live with my wife and 3 Pomeranians (which I learned today is called a tuft). I enjoy fast cars, neat scotch, and all the sugar I can get my hands on.
Trevor And Pups.jpg

I graduated Cum Laude from Weber State University with a B.S. in Creative Writing as a non-traditional student, but have worked in software most of my adult life, which tends to trip people out. I've won a few small writing contests, made it to late rounds in others (such as the NYC Midnight Flash Fiction contest), but haven't had much luck in getting published. Still, I feel compelled to write enough to fill a couple of moleskine books a year, and most of it leans a bit toward horror.
I also like to develop small tools, and play in a few programming languages, right now I'm focused on Ruby on Rails. My day job is as lead QA for Instructure's professional services team. This means if you're in a school in the USA, Greenland, UK, Australia, or South America, you may have seen my work.
Trevor In Office Profile Pic.jpg

What I hope to do
Over the years, and throughout my college degree, I have built up a good sized collection of stories (from flash fiction to novellas) that I've either never bothered to submit for publication, or had turned down in the markets I submitted them (it's pretty hard to get speculative fiction into traditional literary journals). So while fighting off depression and anxiety for the past two years I've been wanting to re-edit these stories, complete the ones that I never completed, and post them online, one a month. I figured on using some blogging site, but could never settle on one. Until now.
I came across Steem a little over a year ago and was fascinated with the idea of locking proof of authorship into a blockchain, but until this week I could not take that final step of signing up.
I hope to get some of these stories out in the wild, maybe gain some readers to motivate me, get some honest reader feedback, and maybe make a few cents along the way. And, after reading through some of the getting started guides, I think maybe adding some info on my processes may be of interest too.

Let me know what you think, and I hope to get to befriend some of you over the years to come.

Sort:  

HiTrevor
Welcome to the great community of Steemit, YESS You are a new Steemian now! I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. We haven’t met before but that changes right now.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother is what steemit is and what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I started here but I just do. But always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11. The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. Or read this blog
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote
I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Your value and input is appreciated!
Good luck with your journey and may you find what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is they key to big succes on Steemit.
Please vote for a witness to. Also you could join the SteemTerminal Discord.
Or visit @heyhaveyamet #HHYA and My friend @xcountytravelers for more newbies exposure.
Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help, I am in Discord too @ brittandjosie3488
Greeting from the Netherlands
@ Brittandjosie

Welcome to Steemit!
There's a lot of #freewrite content here, let me point you to @mariannewest and @fitinfun for a start.
And please, if you are in need of a delegation to increase your RC (to be able to communicate more), don't hesitate to ask!

Cool, thank you. I'll definitely look into them, and I be referring back to your post


Welcome to Steemit @tabyington!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Welcome Trev. Glad to have you, some pretty cool stuff on here. Hang out and look around

Thank you. I'm checking out the stuff here as we speak. :)

Hey Trevor, I adore the suit, and your pups are so cute, climbing all over you!!

I very much look forward to seeing your monthly installment from your archives, i can really appreciate the struggle of wanting to edit, wanting to do things, but being weighed down by things like anxiety and depression. How have you found steemit so far?

I put forward your latest story for the @bananafish curation, we are a small writing group, we try and support and encourage each other, and super thrilled to see you did get the upvote and invitation to the discord (i don't know if thats something you use?)

We are a group who love writing, but primarily want to help and support each other, and would be honored if you wanted to join us. We have weekly writing contests, but its a great place to start out finding an audience on here. I don't want this to come across as pushy, and there are other groups on here you may equally find your footing with (the speculative fiction one comes to mind). if you want to drop by and enter any of the contests that might catch your eye, we currently have a weekly haiku contest, and a weekly contest to come up with an ending for a story/premise, with a new contest for speculative fiction/scifi that may be right up your alley due to launch next month, that said, there are plenty more contest I can recommend if you are looking for some.

A slightly belated welcome to steemit, we'd love you to come win some prizes from us, bu equally always happy to find active authors on here <3

Thank you, @calluna, for the warm welcome, the support, and your invitation. I think in the future I'd enjoy joining your group, but right now, I am unable to commit to anything that requires regular participation. I'm still trying to find my balance. Some days I'm good, but I've not even been online (or outside) in a week, and I couldn't predict when I'd be back. I'll keep an eye out though, and when I think I'm able to participate more, I'll make sure to notify you and put some contest entries in.

Aww thank you for getting back to me.

The contests run every week, but no commitment or regular participation is required to join in, you can just drop in when you feel like it, most people don't enter every week, so you are very welcome to just enter the times you feel like it, or the prompts that grab your attention, as few and far between as that might be.
I can kinda struggle with facing people, replying, interacting, anything, but on the good days, when i want to join in with something, it's nice having somewhere that makes me feel wanted. I have had a few months where i haven't really done anything on here, and every time i come back to it, they welcome me back with open arms. There are no expectations in terms of joining in again and again, too many good writers get lost in the crowd on here and just wanted to point you in the direction of a friendly spot for fiction.

That said, we're not just here for the good days, if there is anything we could do on the bad days to help ease them a little, we would love to. (Although, I know that equally people wanting to be there can just add pressure and make it worse. I f you do want to leave it for now and come back to me another time, be that months from now, no matter how long it has been, I will still be very happy to hear from you)

Welcome tabyington!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience on Steem. You have full control over your data and content, unlike some apps we don't use our users to promote our application or services.

We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to Steem tabyington! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Welcome to steemit @tabyington.

Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Hello Dear,

Welcome to the amazing world of Blogging and Sharing. Being Original is the only way to get success on this platform, so avoid Plagiarism of any kind. Another important suggestion is to be part of Community. It helps you to find right direction and support you to grow.

I would advise to make use of Partiko mobile app, to keep your stay more convenient and happy. It gives you the foundation support to build own castle. Myself being a Partiko Mentor, found this app very useful in making engagement possible and very easy to operate. It is good to give a helping hand to all newbies.
A must for Steem, If you would be interested to know more, feel free to ask anything about Partiko or Steem ....Make yourself Comfortable and feel like home .👍

Upvoted👌

Thanks & Namaste

@steemflow

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steem! You can download Partiko and they will delegate Steem Power to you.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62864.56
ETH 2538.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93