Hello World - A step on to Steemit

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

hello.png

Hello steemit. My name is James, and I am a content creator who has been interested in a platform for a while. I'm rather new to the idea that steemit is founded on in cryptocurrency, and was drawn more to it due to the fact that its a creative content platform. I've chosen to refrain from giving a personal picture of myself due to the fact that I'm not particularly photogenic. Most of the pictures that are out there of me have been burned, and those that have not have a tendency to set those who still have them aflame.

Instead I decided to make my intro picture something that I have a great passion for - books. I have a love of books of most kinds, although my personal favorites are horror, fantasy, and theology. My favorite books are IT by Stephen King and Strange Wine by Harlan Ellison, which are books that have helped shape my own writing style and philosophies on writing. I tend to gravitate towards horror and the strange and macabre in both media and in real life. While I am fascinated by horror and fantasy in a literature setting, I am also fascinated by the strange and paranormal in real life as well.

Needless to say, I'm going to be spending a lot of time on the strange.

A lot of the content I want to talk about will have to do with horror and fantasy. Much of it will be talking about specifics pieces of horror and fantasy literature, both in themes and in reviewing works. I plan to also do short essays on specific topics that involve horror and fantasy literature and media, as I dig into movies as well. I also like to talk about more obscure topics and legends as well, and this might also make up quite a bit of the content that I write on.

That's the plan at least. How well this plan gets followed is dependent on how much I stick to it, because there's a variety of topics I love talking about, from comics to video games to theology and religion. I would say horror - both talking about horror stories, writing some fiction of my own, and discussing unnerving legends and folklore - will probably be a good chunk of, but not everything, I write on. A lot of this is whimsy, I will admit. I'd like to consider myself a media critic in a sense, but self-depreciation never got anyone anywhere.

For specifics on myself, I live in Dallas, Texas and am thirty years old. I've been bouncing around jobs the last couple months, while preparing to take the final step to completing a master's degree in Chaplaincy. I have a bachelor's in Psychology, so I suppose you can say that I've put down a lot of money just so I can sound holier than thou.

It's a pleasure to be here. I hope I can bring some interesting and worthwhile content to steemit.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you for the welcome!

Hey James :)
Welcome to steemit, I am sure you will love the #fiction and #writing area. And if you write nice stuff, those communities will love you as well!

preparing to take the final step to completing a master's degree in Chaplaincy.

Does this mean you are gonna become a pastor or am I stuck with my English here?

so I suppose you can say that I've put down a lot of money just so I can sound holier than thou.

Like that sarcasm dude ;)

Btw., I resteemed you via @welcoming, a page where I share promising newbies like you. Check out who else got featured there!

Greets :)

Thank you for the welcome. I'm indeed very much interested in both those areas. I'm impressed by how steemit might work as a content creation platform and the use of theoretical 'worth' that is decided on by a digital community of content.

A chaplain is very much like a pastor! The primary difference is that while a pastor leads a church congregation and evangelizes, a chaplain goes out into places like jails, medical centers, and businesses to act as a spiritual counselor and guide to those who work there. It's not so much an evangelical position - attempting to convert in your position is heavily frowned upon for a chaplain and concerned unethical - as it is a position that reminds people of the presence of God wherever they are, and gives them a chance to seek solace in faith that might otherwise be denied them. That's a vast simplification, but it's one of the quickest explanations I can give.

Thank you for the resteem! It's greatly appreciated.

Thank you for this presentation, and welcome to Steemit

Thank you for the welcome! It is appreciated.

Welcome to Steemit. I think you will like it. There are plenty of people who love talking about cryptocurrencies, but lots of other interests too. Have fun

Thank you very much. I'm taking an interest in cryptocurrency myself, so it is interesting trying to get into the debate a bit.

Welcome to Steemit! Like your horror with a funny undertone approach :). Good luck on this platform!

Humor and horror are always just a stone's throw away from each other.

Welcome to Steemit! Interesting content, look forward to it and hope you enjoy the space! Great community and place for your thoughts!

I'm looking forward to jumping into the fray.

Very welcome here on Steemit :-) This community is very different as you know till now, from facebook, twitter and instagram. I know, in the beginning it is all a bit confused. But many people are here if you have any question about something. Here is the sharing a big part of the daily life on Steemit. Happy starting and upvote for your introduction post :-)

I will keep that in mind. The community seems very welcoming and helpful and I appreciate that!

Congratulations @syzegy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

welcome to STEEMIT

Thank you, I appreciate it.

Welcome to steemit, @syzegy!

You did hit all my buttons. Horror, fantasy, weird... i am SUCH a fan!

My profile is @flashfiction and i would like to present you some links i found really useful when i first signed up here. They will make you start with the right foot on Steemit!

This links will all open on the SAME TAB (Yeah, i know...), so i recommend opening them with "right click->open in a new tab".

LinkCheckDescription
Growing FastTopYou HAVE to register here, if you want to build an audience FAST. It's a free service for boosting exposure, upvotes and followers. You just have to click on "login". Have your key at hand (That awfully long number you got when you signed up on Steemit). The tutorials are easy to follow.
All about steem coinsTopThere are three coins of use on Steemit, and understanding them is critical for your success. This is a short explaining video, the very best i've found.
MarkdownTopEven if you can use some basic HTML on your posts, the correct way to format them is NOT HTML. You use a marking ruleset called, yeah, "Markdown". Have this as a complete reference.
PostingMediumThe top activities on this site are posting and commenting. This is an excellent tutorial about making your posts look great. Don't miss it!
Better interfaceMediumLet's face it: The interface on Steemit is pretty basic. "Busy" is an alternate interface you can use, more polished and easy to navigate. Both of them can be used simultaneously. Again, you just have to login.
Using BotsMediumThere are a lot of things to learn about this platform, and understanding bots is one of the most important. They are little different services you can access for a fee. I found this tutorial extremely useful.
Trevon JamesMediumI know, i know... there are lots and lots of GREAT steemians here for picking one to recommend, but i just love Trevon's style. He explains EVERYTHING you need to know about Steemit (and crypto) in a funny, accesible way. Check him out.
@flashfictionAwesomeWell, duh. My profile! ;) I write short fiction and tutorials on creative writing. I would be honored if you'd follow me.

Anything i cand help you with, i'm at your service!

See you around!

Thank you very much @flashfiction! I will take a look through these links when time permits. I appreciate the time you're showing in giving assistance and help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61882.63
ETH 2581.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56