Stepping into the light: Introducing myself...

My name is Paul and I am a golf professional in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.

In all honesty, I have never been a fan of social media. However, as a philosophical libertarian who is not happy with the ever diminishing value assigned to free speech and privacy, I was attracted to the idea of blockchain technology and its potential to break the stranglehold which governments and big tech companies have on the internet.

Researching blockchain I came across Steemit which is an interesting fusion of social media, crypto-currency, paid rewards, an embryonic Youtube alternative (DTube) and, of course, its underlying blockchain structure. I thought a useful way to research and learn would be to participate in Steemit and see what happens.

Will anybody read this? Is it actually possible that I will earn crypto-currency by posting useful content, voting and commenting? Is this really a platform that represents a potential paradigm disrupting shift in how the internet operates?

These are questions that I'm interested in answering. So, I will break the rule which I have held near and dear for many years. I will give social media and Steemit a try. Today I am stepping into the light, come what may.

Here is a photo of me:

Paul.jpg

Just in case anybody reading this is a golfer that lives in the Vancouver area, you can check out my business at golflabs.ca

I have plenty of cool stuff at my golf lab: GC Quad (the world's most advanced launch monitor), high speed video and even 3D swing analysis. My business is at Richmond Driving Range at the far north end of the range. It is easy to book a time on my website for a lesson, swing analysis or club fitting. Who knows, maybe I'll even do a session in exchange for Steem!

Thanks for reading and all the best!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit

Thanks very much @aluma!

Welcome to steem

Goodlock in steemit.com

hey man, another golfer here from Costa Rica. But not professional like you hahah. Good luck on Steemit, following you.

Golf rocks!

Felipe Suarez Golf Costa Rica

I appreciate the welcome. We golfers have to stick together! All the best.

Welcome to steemit. Enjoy yourself. There is a lot of good information and great people from all over the planet.

welcome my friend swingsleuth on steemit
welcome to my blog @farhannaqvi7 where i give you happiness in just few second

Welcome to social media 😉 online is everything possible, but the best way to earn is to post original content. Stay close to yourself 🤓

Hello and Welcome! Nice to meet you! Thanks for join

Hello dobroman. Thanks for being the first to welcome me and comment on one of my posts. I would like to think that my upvote of your comment would have at least given you something. Unfortunately, my voting power is still next to zero. I guess it is the thought that counts. Cheers!

Congratulations @swingsleuth! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Howdy! I looked at your profile and noticed that you have made a fresh account so this is me supporting you. Take this upvote and don't forget to upvote others!
As a newcomer to steemit, it's not easy getting those big upvotes so maybe you want to try @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just directly powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I compiled this post to explain the system in more depth and share my own experience in earning wupvotes for over $1 a day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65895.15
ETH 2679.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.93