I used to write a sex column. Now I solve murders. Nice to meet you!

Hi, I'm Catherine...my friends call me Cat, my mom calls me Catherine Alice when I'm in trouble.

I'm a writer, licensed private investigator and podcaster with a passion for solving mysteries and an obsession with Nancy Drew (though in my version, the punch she drinks would definitely not be nonalcoholic!)

I'm also a former dating columnist, and some people find my path from sex columnist to criminologist bizarre.

Screen Shot 2019-07-18 at 3.22.37 PM.png

And they are right - it has been one long, strange trip.

But honestly, dating and detective work have a lot in common. In both instances, I'm trying to figure out if the person I'm talking to has skeletons in their closet - though (hopefully) in the dating world, the skeletons are mostly metaphorical rather than hidden in a crawlspace.

Sorry, but since I have no boundaries between work and my personal life, the "About Me" and "About My Work" sections will definitely run together!

Over the years I have written for publications including The Atlantic, Elle, New York, GQ, Marie Claire, Cosmopolitan, the Daily Mail, the New York Post, Cosmopolitan, The Huffington Post, the Independent (where I wrote the Sleeping Around dating column) and Investigation Discovery. I've covered everything from pop culture to murder cases.

But my true passion has always been solving mysteries. So a few years ago, I moved to Los Angeles, signed up for detective school and got thrown into the field with former FBI agents, police officers and other PIs. I chased corporate criminals and cheating husbands and found myself sitting outside countless no-tell motels at 5 am - but that's probably another post!

Screen Shot 2018-12-04 at 3.27.54 PM 1.png

Speaking of which, my love of gonzo journalism means I've LOT of crazy things while chasing stories over the years - from learning to street fight like Sherlock Holmes to road testing an experimental sex drug. I've interviewed Prime Ministers, FBI profilers, Playboy bunnies and convicted killers.

Last year, I spent several months in the Arkansas Ozarks investigating the cold case murder of 22-year-old college student Rebekah Gould for the podcast Hell and Gone.

Outside of work, I have a huge passion for subcultures and for solving puzzles, which is what initially drew me to the cryptocurrency world. The number of unsolved mysteries in the cryptocurrency realm is massive (QuadrigaCX, bitcoin, etc.) and I find new ones every day.

candid headshot ozarks.png

Outside of solving mysteries...I love pub quizzes, dystopian literature and TV shows (J.G. Ballard, Aldous Huxley and Black Mirror are favorites but there are SO MANY others!). I love writing fiction and studying languages - I speak fairly fluent French and I'm currently studying Japanese. Also, as is probably evident from a lot of my pictures, I love solo travel for business and pleasure.

Screen Shot 2019-10-16 at 8.17.21 PM.png

My postings could be rather random - but on Steemit I'll probably blog about topics that focus on true crime and current events, with some random musings about travel and insomnia thrown into the mix. I'm excited to get started!

Sort:  

Welcome welcome

Now you sound like the most interesting person ever. I hope we’ll get to hear about how you found urself making the transition. . It sounds like a tv show or novel. So interesting! Will def be subscribing to the Podcast

Welcome to the SteemVerse
Your life sounds as colourful as that last picture ;D


Welcome to Steemit @supersleuth!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

Thank you! That's very helpful...I'm going to check out your stuff as well!

Good luck to you. By the looks of things, you've gathered some solid attention, so far. Don't take the slow days personally. Like anywhere, building up a following and a market for your work takes time here. I'll follow along, help out when I can.

Welcome to Steem, Cat! ;) Very nice intro post, sounds like you've had an amazing life so far. I look forward to hearing more about it! Cheers!

Welcome to Steem supersleuth! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Congratulations @supersleuth! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Goodday and Welcome to the great community of Steemit, Cat
YESS You are a new Steemian now! One for true crime Wow I haven’t seen those blogs here before so you got your NICHE I think !

I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. We haven’t met before but that changes right now. Dont let all the replies and bots scare you.
Just comment if you get scared and i Will help out.
If you download the app Steemify for notifications you see what Will happen in your account.
Blogging, building and uplifting eachother is what steemit is and what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money to.

I love blogging, But always be carefull with all your passwords, Never give those up !!
https://steemit.com/community/@brittandjosie/4-o-clocky-steem-keys-key-to-your-succes-so-secure-them

The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. Or read this blog
https://steemit.com/busy/@exyle/using-steemify-to-stay-up-to-date-about-the-blockchain-like-project-destiny-please-consider-blockbrothers-for-your-witness-vote‬
I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Good luck with your journey and may you find here what you are looking for.
Just remember that all good things come in good time and never giving up is THE key to big succes on Steemit.

Please vote for a witness to. You have 30 votes and if you dont understand let me know and i Will help. Also you could join the SteemTerminal Discord.
Or visit @heyhaveyamet #HHYA and My friend @xcountytravelers for more newbies exposure in the beginning very important.

Let me know if this was helpfull or you need more help, I am in Discord too @ brittandjosie3488
Greeting from the Netherlands
@ Brittandjosie
steemterminal discord invite
https://discord.gg/pxBj9b

Thanks so much for the help and advice - it's great to meet you too - and I will check out your content! I wasn't aware that there was an app either so that's awesome to know! :)

Yes there is also @ginabot in Discord she will notify you when there is an upvote comment or reply very handy

Welcome to the blockchain, Catherine! Nice to meet you as well. Hope you don't mind, but I took the liberty of shouting out to you on Twitter, just to confirm this is really you (but I'm guessing it is, as spammers aren't usually so articulate... 😂 ). Feel free to shout out if you have any questions, and I look forward to seeing your random ramblings.

@tipu curate

Thanks so much - I will respond on Twitter to confirm I'm not a bot :) (I see that a lot of people seem to post with a picture of today's date, which is quite clever!) I look forward to reading your musings as well!

Just replied to your reply... LOL! Yep, there's a myriad of ways to confirm your identity, but shouting out from a social media account usually works for me. 😊

Happy Steeming!

Cool intro. Welcome to steemit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97