Notion of Introduction

IMG_20171102_212436_279.jpg
Although this is not my first posting, I am the new guy here in Steem. I could not be more thankful because of the amazing community and content I have come across. I am a co-founder of a collective called Central Texas Artist Collective (CTAC). As my hometown began its own level of progression, certain change had to take place to keep up with certain movements popping up. Being one who feels that environment is the key to life and thriving culture, a creative aspect was necessary for potential free minds to achieve that level of bravery and help curate a place to be happy to live in. I am a visual artist, however most of my time has been toward the organizing and creation of assisting the creative movement that I feel is very important for these uncertain times. Not only is art therapeutic, it is and has always been the successful tool for free speech in diverse fashions.
Art is as much a part of life as it is a skill.
This particular art piece I collaborated with a photographer friend. It was for an exhibition dealing with mental health. I felt this form of education needed to take place to further solidify a foundation to build on. We curate this exhibit in the downtown area within storefront windows to display for public viewing. The collection of works were absolutely amazing and delivered an impact. My pictured art piece is called Daily Parade. It's about suicide. Oh, I almost forgot, this special exhibition is called Ekphrasis: An Exploration of the Mind Body Soul. Ekphrasis is the collaboration of a written piece, such as a poem, to accompany a visual work of art. So, the accompanying poem goes into the routine of everyday tasks with a facade, dealing with inner turmoil.
This is me, and these are my thoughts. I hope to further my presence in this space with the awareness and awesome community I have found here.
Looking forward!

Sort:  

Welcome, Steve! I just joined myself. I share your interest in mental health, it comes up a lot in my field of criminal law as well.

welcome stevestrange,,,, and good luck

Welcome to steemit @stevestrange. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

Dear friend! Next time also use #artzone and follow @artzone to get an upvote on your quality posts!


Welcome to Steemit @stevestrange!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Movin on up! I just transferred some steem over from another wallet and feeling totally pumped!

received_10155847337070804.jpeg
And still waiting, lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47