Teaching, Coding and The Wiggles

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Introduce Yourself

Hello there. As I put the proverbial pen to paper, my daughter is staring at me with the big brown eyes that only an infant seems capable of having. You can see her here, tirelessly concentrating on dismantling her activity centre - and if history proves true she will be celebrating shortly on her success!!

Zoey Concentrating

I’m new here and am very happy to be a part of this community. Fellow Steemian, @mattclarke invited me to take this journey, so, here’s to building an intelligent and supportive platform. I’m looking forward to reading posts from around the world and hope that in return, I can offer something of value too.

That's Entertainment

Only two short years ago I used to enjoy quality music from a diverse range of artists, however, the birth of my son three years ago introduced the end of my music and ushered in the era of nursery rhymes and The Wiggles. Now, if you’re Australian, and have had a child in the last twenty years, you’ll no doubt know who The Wiggles are. If you don’t fit that profile, it is still quite likely that you know who The Wiggles are anyway - they’ve forged themselves quite a following overseas too.

Anyway - two years ago my son was introduced to this child entertainment act, and he has never looked back! As with every kid in Australia, under the age of maybe seven, he is a fan, which means the music of The Wiggles fills my ears often - especially when we get into the car. The average time between the engine starting and the request for The Wiggles if they are not already playing is under three seconds! His favourite at the moment is ‘Go Santa Go’ which is getting all of the airtime currently.

You know you’ve been well and truly indoctrinated into something when you can get fifteen minutes to work before you even realise you’ve been singing Do the Propeller! all by yourself, and then, when you go to switch playlists, realise that your Spotify account has only got The Wiggles albums downloaded!!

But that’s okay. The music of The Wiggles is designed to bring joy to children, and they do just that for my son, and are already starting to do the same for my daughter. I would much rather see their eyes light up and hear their little voices sing when they hear their hero’s blasting out over the speakers than anything else.

Do Your Work, Please!

As 2017 draws to a close, so does my tenth year of teaching. It is an insanely busy profession, but, as any other teachers out there can attest, it is also a very rewarding one. Watching students acquire new skills and develop existing ones is such a privilege, and being able to add value to another person’s life is a genuine thrill.

I can still remember my first year in a classroom and marvel at how I managed to survive. Not just from how busy, and subsequently, how tired it makes you - cue 7:30pm bedtimes during most of Term 4, but from how much I didn’t actually know! That first year is one roller-coaster ride! If you’re reading this and just made it through your first year of teaching: Congratulations! Don’t worry if you found it difficult - it gets easier, and before you know it, you’ve played a small part in helping many students learn something new.

Let's Get Coding

One of those new ‘somethings’ I’ve had the opportunity to teach is coding - in particular a course on full-stack web development. This has been a great course to be a part of due, in part, to the necessity of knowing how to code. Learning the technologies required to deliver such a course has opened my eyes to a the brilliant logic and creativity that comes from being a coder.

From the core languages needed to be a full-stack developer:

  • HTML;
  • CSS;
  • JavaScript;
  • PHP, and
  • mySQL.

I have been able to extend my knowledge base even further, and while unable to really deliver courses on the following, due to the Year 12 curriculum not supporting them, it has been a fantastic opportunity to develop skills in more modern web protocols, including:

  • The MEAN Stack (MongoDB, Express, Angular, and node.js);
  • Vue.js;
  • React;
  • Swift, and
  • The CLI (command line interface).

Unfortunately, learning is an opportunity that not everyone has, and while I thoroughly enjoy building new skills as well as the next person, I would like to see more people have access to quality education. This can take many forms - the Internet has certainly made reaching people, be it through more traditional forms like universities, or newer concepts such as Udemy, a much easier process.

Thank you...

Well… if you’ve made it this far, I must thank you for reading. It has been great fun writing this introductory post for the Steemit community and I hope you’ve enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed creating it - I look forward to contributing some more helpful posts in the future!

You may have gleaned that this #introduceyourself post has included only some insight into the more important things in my life - obviously my family, comes first. Then, the opportunities I get as an educator and a coder. No doubt, as I post more, you will get a deeper insight into who I am and what makes me tick, so stay tuned!!

Again, a big shout out to @mattclarke. Thanks for introducing me to this community. Also, thanks to @teamsteem for your post: Hello Steemit! - Coinmarketcap.com Introduced Me!. Full of very useful tidbits on how an introduction post may look. It certainly helped me formulate this.

Again, thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Hey Uncle Steve :)
Great introduction. Evelyn went to the concert, But was devastated when it ended.
Slip under that tree and grab one of those presents ;)

Thanks, dude. We're heading that way today so I'll make sure I drop by!

Dominic went to one of their concerts when he one, so he wasn't too fussed when they finished, but I can imagine tears would feature fairly heavily if we took him now.

@steveblucher, welcome to Steemit. You have a lot of great experience and I am sure that you will add value to our community.

I have heard of the Wiggles, but my kids were more into High 5. We came across High 5 (Australian) while we lived in Indonesia.

Thanks for teacher future leaders. I love to teach but prefer less formal environments. My mom taught for 40 years before retiring. I know that a lot of work goes into preparing the lessons and loving on students.

Thanks, @sumatranate - I've tried showing him Hi 5 but they don't get the same reception as The Wiggles do - I think they might be geared towards older kids.

40 years! What an achievement - your Mum must've seen some changes in teaching over that time.

You're very welcome here at Steemit! Your daughter is so cute! Also, great to hear about the acheivements, I'm a beginner with code, myself! Upvoted & followed you - hope you have a great day and happy blogging! :-)

Thanks, @wallflowerpunch coding is definitely fun and a worthwhile investment. Feel free to ask if you're ever stuck with something. I don't know it all, but might be able to help.

Thanks so much :-) People are so friendly here!

I like your words

welcome bro

Thanks, mate... in my brief amount of time here, I've discovered what seems to be a great community!

Welcome to steemit, love your intro :)
Have you heard of @utopian-io yet? It's a platform rewarding open source contributions and much more!
Resteemed you via @welcoming, my account where I share promising newcomers like you! Greets!

Thanks, chief... I really appreciate the resteem! I'll also check out @welcoming - sounds like a great idea.

Utopian-io is worth a look.
Great way of rewarding coders for their open source contributions .

Congratulations @steveblucher! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @steveblucher! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great to see more locals on here, it looks like @mattclarke 's recruitment drive is working well.

Great to be here! @mattclarke has already proven himself with crypto's, so when he told me about Steemit, I had to come and check it out.

Welcome Steve!

Get ready for a exciting ride into the world of Steemit :)

Love a good Chuck Norris gif... thanks for the welcome, @o07.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63294.77
ETH 2638.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70