So I'm new here...

... and noticed there was a place for introductions, but there's not much to tell. I'm a 49 year old guy from Alabama looking to transition from the retail industry to the IT industry. It's been a tough road because 1) I'm old AND 2) I've already got a full time job.

I've been buying online courses when they go on sale and I've bought two from an instructor named John Elder. John is easy to understand AND he occasionally offers one for free. That's how I found out about steemit. When I realized I might actually make a little money by doing what I've been doing on Facebook for the past 11 years I knew I had to give it a try.

I'll do my best to entertain y'all here as I'm into a little bit of everything. I'm well-read with a quirky sense of humor, really into cars, weird history, GenX nostalgia, music, movies, antiques and all kinds of other stuff.

Stay tuned... I just might say something interesting. In the meantime, enjoy this photo of a house on the west side of Birmingham. I found it in an old box of negatives and my oldest son converted it into a photo.

Wingate Antique Photos (53 of 54).jpg

Sort:  

Welcome and best of luck in your studies and career transition. That age thing sucks. When did 49 become too old for a career change?

Thanks for the welcome and good vibes. It's not too old, but it's definitely harder at my age. Your mind just doesn't retain and hold information like it did when you were in your 20s.

Welcome to Steemit. I love a quirky sense of humor. I have been accused of have one as well. Weird history fascinates me, I look forward to reading your posts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to the steemit platform, Steve. Hope you find this all to your liking. Be advised that there is a site out there that pulls your account data for a very useful summary of you account here is your address: https://steemworld.org/@steve.wingate
Check it out. Good Luck!

Hello you are welcome to steem

Welcome to Steem, @steve.wingate!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3163 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.21: Earn more by posting to DTube via SteemPlus.

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To learn more about us and stay connected with us, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47