You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Applied Sociology: Research Supporting Non-Profits Pursuing Elevated Social Paradigms

Welcome to SteemIt. Funding social research can be tricky, as some of it doesn't show results or benefits to the people funding it. I know I've been asked to fund studies, but looked at them and asked, "Why?"

I like the way you think and as long as you can answer to the value of what you're doing, you'll find ways to get funding.

Sort:  

Yes. The "why" or "so what" of social science is not always immediately apparent. But, when you use social science to answer questions that are important to projects that are already set up and running, there is real, true, applicable value. For me, it is more about using research in the service of great projects than about simply commenting on the state of things, which is what the vast majority academic sociology does. But, in my corporate research life, I help companies answer tons of different sorts of questions, all of which are crucial to their missions. I want to offer the same type of insights to groups that are doing good work, but who are not large enough to have large budgets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24