Hello Steemit Buddies, Nick and Hayley we are NEW... Please send your love!

Hello Steemians!

While I was totally caught up in getting a few early blog posts up onto Steemit, I forgot the MOST IMPORTANT thing! Um.. introduce myself (and my gorgeous partner, Hayley!).

Who could be bothered reading about any of what I get up to if you don't know who I am. It only stands to reason. I'll keep it brief and for those who enjoy photos a bit more than reading for half an hour, you're in for a treat! (No, there are no nudie pics. Don't be silly.)

DSC08346ee.JPG

You never only take one photo. Enjoy a selection of the others that scrupulous social media personalities would leave on the cutting room floor.

DSC08343ff.JPG
DSC08342cc.JPG
DSC08340bb.JPG
DSC08347bbc.JPG

Awkward... not even wanting a smooch :(

I am an Australian. Born in Camden in the state of New South Wales - our most populous and first state. I'm a teacher during the day and love the time I spend with my students. I recently taught a lesson with 11 and 12 year olds on cryptocurrency (Nightmare. Don't ask). My advice to other casual teachers is to try adventurous things in the classroom, but don't beat yourself up if it just falls flat and the room is full of yawns. After all, they may just have gone to bed really late. ;)

I love to travel. LOVE it. We recently came back from the North Island of New Zealand for our second time. Our first time was in the South Island. Hayley and I also spent three months travelling through the US and Canada, sort of doing a 'U' shape from Vancouver and back up to Quebec (through the US, of course).
What's going to make all future travels so much more enjoyable is that I recently bought a new camera. The Sony RX100MkII is super light for what it can do and didn't annihilate our budget, which is a massive bonus. This camera will be coming along for the ride on our trip to Europe in September! Woo hoo!

I'm also very concerned about environmental issues and my conscience is often weighed down by thoughts of how to reduce my impact on other beings and the planet. The culmination of these values into how I live my life has resulted in living vegan and the purchase of an electric car - both choices actually freed up a lot of money for other activities in our lives, too. Buying meat, eggs and dairy and the consumption of petrol for gas cars is a costly ordeal. So that also made the decision very easy.

So it appears you got a bit more than you bargained for in the introduction.

Lucky you.

Please introduce yourself and say hello. The internet is a lonely place if we're not chatting among ourselves!

All the very best,
Nick

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit

Congratulations @steemitguy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Great to have you around. What kind of topics do you mostly write about?
Upvoted and Followed!
(Follow me and we can improve the community together at Steemit. I hold daily draws to help new users!)

Welcome to Steem @steemitguy I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Hey, Welcome aboard! Love your story.
I’m curating interesting postings on Science, Crptocurrency Traveling. Here’s some recommendations just for you!

If you liked my recommendations Follow me
#f4f #iFollowback

Welcome to Steemit @steemitguy, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @earncrypto.

Hello Nick, welcome to Steemit family and our ever-growing platform. You have made a great decision by joining us and helping us to create decentralized entity that will change the way social media and other business models work in the future. I would like to help you out in your early days by using my steem power to upvote your first few posts. Simply follow my account and tag me by @czechglobalhosts in your posts and I will make sure to read your post and upvote you! Good luck and steem on! Tomas
Also check out this video that will help you to understand more about Steem and Steem Power! It worked out for me in my early days!

Hello and Welcome! Nice to meet you! Thanks for join

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52