Why YOU should introduce yourself to STEEMIT!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes, it's the little things that have the largest impact

Why would you want to #introducemyself on STEEMIT?

Maybe:

  1. You're shy
  2. You're not bothered
  3. You're hesitant on sharing personal information
  4. Mum said stranger danger and mummy knows best

Well, whatever the reason, an introduction post on Steemit is like a spotlight on the stage. It's up to you to take the opportunity and slay it and to show the crowd what you've got! Though it really isn't as hard since you're behind a screen like the rest of us here.

One thing to take note is the K.I.S. rule

Keep it Simple

Simplicity is always the best. Believe me when I say that Whales (large accounts) are watching. Whales only want to see Steemit grow, as this will make their investments grow too! And what better way to do that than by upvoting #introduceyourself posts to incentivize new members to stick around. Here we will detail some simple ways you can garner more attention and conversation towards your introduction post!

Your EVERY post

1. Provide some proof


The first way is to simply verify yourself! Send us a video or image of yourself timestamped. For instance a very popular way to follow is to hold up a piece of paper containing your Steemit ID and Date & Time and sharing that in your post. A "Steemit Sign" works best

A sample intro photo by @ayuko.

2. Introduce yourself (D'uh)


A background about yourself. This can include your occupation, ambition, inspiration, hobbies, habits, interests, situation, condition, or even dislikes (since mutual disapproval does indeed attract). This gives users an idea of what kind of a person you may be like. A good start would be your History and what you've been through. Sincerity is key. Though remember to K.I.S and try not to drown everyone with minute details

3. Purpose on Steemit


Are you here to simply blog your everyday adventures? Share your photography? Reach out to the like minded to collaborate on projects? Share your super cool fidget spinner collection? Make money? Learn more about Cryptocurrency? Join a unique community and make some friends? To prove to mum not all strangers equate to danger? Whatever it may be, make sure to mention this as everyone is interested on the general purpose of those who join as the users decide the future!

Check out my Fidget Spinner bro

4. Linking other social media accounts


Adding your Website, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, LinkedIn or so into your Bio will prove to others you aren't just some bot on Steemit. Furthermore, you can benefit by sharing your Steemit content on such platforms to promote and invite new users.

5. User Verification


Do you already know an "Established" Steemit user? Why don't you try ask them to comment on your post so that others can view and verify that you are indeed a REAL LIVING BEING! The more "powerful" the person, the better. As this will give integrity to your post coming from someone who has earned is position

6.#introduceyourself or #introducemyself tag!


Never EVER forget to place the ''introduceyourself'' tag as your first tag, since it's one of the trending hashtags on Steemit, you can also use the introducemyself tag . Why, use Trending Tags? Simply because it is a very popular tag and everyone will see it. The remaining tags can be anything else, but the first Hashtag is the most important since it will be displayed alongside a post when users browse through Steemit's Post Feed

All in all, try to be creative and have fun with it. These are just a number of tips to help you gather as much attention as you can to your introduction post and to strengthen the quality and popularity of Steemit!

Here's an example of an introduction post

Thanks for reading and we hope you have gained a better insight on what to watch out when creating your own introduction post! This content is brought to you by SteemitGuide

Sort:  

I've recently posted my introduction here :

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@nehanino/what-we-did-to-improve-our-lives-and-feel-better-than-ever

I'd love for some more people to go check it out!

Will check it out. Welcome!

Great move :p

Excellent Advice @steemitguide. I have just created a Youtube channel and had not even considered entering the address as a direct link to my steemit account.

I've just been reposting the vidoes....... what a social media newbie, lol.

Fish

wow nice information for newbie on steemit, thank you bro

Ha true. I made some posts and then thought "that's rude, I should introducemyself!

Oops, I have actually thought of doing the same since I have not figured out how best to introduce myself. I am spending most of my time reading up on steemit how-to posts instead.

Hello Steemitguide ! Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit ! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure !! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Cheers! Greetings, @khunpoom!

Lol, I just love the way this post pops out at the reader. But like I did this already but sadly I think I may have made the mistake of creating one in the middle of the night. When like no one was up and I was hardly connected to anyone on the site. So yeah that was my first mistake, not to mention the fact that my post was too wordy for its own good.

Pictures are worth, well you know the rest! ;)

I'm tagging my friend @alteya for reading this post

whew. I did almost everything right;-)
Great info to share as it was a strange concept for me at first being an extremely private person. I didn't hurt a bit though!

Resteemit out for others to learn (and yes I know I have not done mine yet)

that helps. I joined 13 days ago and I didn't make an introduceyourself post but i used one time this tag writing "5 things about me".

Now I am afraid if I will use it again people will flag me :D

Oh my! This is a good point. I wanted to shelf the self-introduction post to a later time and only just realised that one could get flagged.

Hi steemitguide. Welcome to steem community! Great post, I will follow you. Please follow me too at @gaman

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57339.41
ETH 2522.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31