Husband, Father, Friend, Lawyer, and Woodworker--In That OrdersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

My name is Sam Simkins and I am pretty excited to have stumbled upon this community. I live a pretty busy life right now and it is important to me that I actually prioritize the things that are most important in my life. In my opinion, there is no greater treasure than loving relationships and authentic community. That's what impressed me so much about this community. Sure, there is the financial incentive to be active, but that does not seem to cheapen the palpable desire for shared welfare that I have seen here. The embrace of open source, thoughtful feedback, and genuine encouragement has impressed me. Thanks for setting a good example. :]

A little about me:
I am happily married and beyond blessed that I get to call this woman my bride.

We had the joy of welcoming our fifth child into our family this past November. Family pic.JPG Photo by Tara Danielle: https://www.facebook.com/TaraDaniellePhotography/
https://www.instagram.com/TaraDaniellePhotography/

People often tell me that I look too young to have five kids. I often tell them that I am. I'm 26 and this last addition was born before our eldest turned six. We do have a set of twins there in the middle though, so it is kind of like cheating. Having five under six has kept all of our hands full. Literally. There are no more hands.

I have been living in Detroit, Michigan since 2010 (born and raised right outside the city) and have become part of a remarkable community. This community has saved me from myself more than once.
Here is my wonderful neighborhood association: https://www.facebook.com/groups/woodwardvillage/
My adorably quirky church posted up on the east side:
http://hopedetroit.org/

Like the title says, I am also a lawyer. I was extremely blessed to have a job right after graduating. I work at a Michigan based firm called Dykema Gossett (https://www.dykema.com/professionals-samuel_r_simkins.html) and I mostly work in products liability litigation, specifically automotive (this is Detroit afterall). I have been slowly venturing into the autonomous vehicle (AV) and cyber security/privacy space and recently got to deliver a presentation about the ethical considerations of AVs.

Lastly, I am a self-taught hobbyist woodworker. Bless my father, but among his many giftings, handyman is not one of them. The internet has been my guide. Here are some of the builds that I am most proud of.

I recently built this custom pipe-lamp "pants hook" and shelf for my brother.
pants hook.jpg

I built this "coffee station" and tea basket shelf combo. Coffee Station.jpg

And I made the wood bow ties for this wedding party. Bowtie.jpg

I look forward to exploring the great content that you all are contributing and plan to contribute regularly myself on topics including: law, community, DIY/woodworking, politics, blockchain technology, and self-care.

Cheers,
Sam

Sort:  

Even though it shouldn't be entirely about the money - setting your rewards to 100% powerup will burn you a lot of money, look at this video why you shouldn't do that again: Two Minute Tuesday #4 – Don't burn your money by setting the rewards to 100% Powerup!

Interesting. Thanks for the pro tip.

Welcome here! Hope you enjoy being on steemit! If you are looking for some TV/Movie/Cryptocurrency news, would be nice to follow me!

Thanks! I am already enjoying being here. And I'll check out your stuff.

Welcome Sam, you have a lot of beautyful children! I understand why your life is busy! I'm looking forward to more of your stories and lots of luck for you here at steemit! It is really a great community!!

Thanks! I appreciate the encouragement. Well I don't have any followers yet, but you could be my first!!

I just did!

Great intro post mate, and beautiful kids! Keep up the good work and welcome to steemit!

Thank you! I appreciate your comment.

Welcome to steemit, Sam, what a lovely introduction, and it sounds like you will fit right in here, as you are absolutely right it is so much about a genuine community more than any kind of rewards at the end of the day! Also your interests sound like something very well worth the sharing here, I for one would love to see something like process for your woodworking, the pieces you shared are magnificent! Again, welcome and best of luck on here, bud!

Thanks! Glad to know there is an interest. I do hope to upload some DIY, tutorial type posts, but not sure what tags to use. Any recommendations?

In all honesty the best idea would be to concentrate on getting to know the community, perhaps find some kindred spirits with your shared interests, I've been here little more than 2 weeks and only recently started finding my niche. Also highly recommend reading up FAQs and intro posts on what steemit is about. I know I am not answering your question, but really, just post stuff on here, use reasonably logical tags, if it hits, that is amazing, but also don't get discouraged if it takes a while to pick up some steam (and steem to go with it), I promise the community itself has a lot of amazing people that make the stay and learning experience a breeze and the rewards system is really just a cherry on top! That's my 2c at least, take it with a grain of salt. Cheers!

Good advice. Thanks for the feedback!

Welcome to steemit. You have got your hands full there. It is a great community here and like no other online.

Thanks, Jist!

Sam, I really loved reading about you and your growing family. I'm just a year older and it does kinda boggle my mind how different we are at this point in our existence. It just goes to show how everyone has a set path and journey if we pay attention.

My grandpa is a woodworker! He made my daughter's dresser.. Awesome intro man, looks like you've got a great family.

Wheres the pic of you and your wife at? Looks like a sweet vacation spot

My grandpa is a woodworker too! Unfortunately, I have had the opportunity to really learn directly from him.

The picture of my wife and I was taken in front of the Pyramid of the Magician at the Uxmal Mayan ruins in Yucatán, Mexico. We went there last February. It was our delayed honeymoon because we weren't able to when we first got married.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65275.00
ETH 3569.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47