Hello steemers! Let me introduce myself. (Fire dancing, computers and being different)

in #introduceyourself8 years ago

I have chosen to talk about three of my core passions (there are more for sure) to give you an idea of who I am. They are:
Fire dancing, computer programming and being different.

Body fire

Fire dancing
I used to be scared of fire. Or more than scared, terrified suits it better. Whenever there was a little candle burning behind my back, I was compelled to turn around at short intervals to check on it.
But I have been looking at fire performers with some envy for a while, and one day a good friend of mine convinced me to give it a try myself. In just one day I learned to eat fire, to safely set my hand on fire, and to play with fire poi. From that day on the crippling fear of fire had left me for good. Dancing with my fire poi has become one of my favorite activities.

I will try and describe why I love it:
The adrenaline in my blood sharpens my senses.
I can feel the heat of the fire whirling around me.
See the magnificent color of the flames changing with the speed.
Smell the smoke in the air around me.
Hear the roaring sound of the flames passing my body.
Lose myself in the moment.
Feel alive.

My fascination for Computers
For some reasons very few females are really interested in computers but I am one of the few who are.
I like programming because it has a sense of power in it. By understanding Computers you can make them work for my cause and not against me. But power always comes with responsibility and I am committed to use the knowledge I have and will gain in the future, to try and make a positive impact on society.

Wanting to be different
It becomes more and more clear to me that I like to break the borders of what is " normal" every once in a while. I am starting to question more things that are expected of me just because everyone is doing so. For example "Do I have to shave my legs all the time because I'm a women?". Some people would say it is disgusting not to do it, but why? It's not unhygienic. Men mustn't do it. Its natural to have hair. But for some weird reason it is an unwritten law that women must shave. Well I don't care anymore. I don't want to be normal. It's boring.
Everytime I tear down a tittle wall like this I feel liberated and more self secure.

Thank you for reading. Let me know what you think in the comments.

Sort:  

Aloha and welcome! I love that you have transformed your fear into an adoration. And that is also the beauty of fire, alchemically it is been viewed as the main source of transformation - I have also experienced this in my own life, I was so fearful of the Ocean, but I have done my own alchemical transformation and now I'm in sooo much love with it!

Another note, you are already different :)

Welcome! Glad to see someone who is interested in programming because of the sense of power! I like programming because of the same reason, you create something that works as you command and do stuff for you!

The normal, average, person is so boring because there is nothing to be expected from them. Don't try to be different. Just be yourself.

Welcome to Steemit

greetings to firedancer!
do you play any other staff than poi?
check my blog here, bro - https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@simbafire/karma-of-the-performer-life-full-o-fire-with-pictures-and-video
Best wishes
and
Agni-dev bless you forever!

So far I only do fire poi (I can juggle three burning clubs, but I don't find it very exciting. It's not dancing)
I would love to learn Contact Staff and Dragonstaff some day. I haven't bought one yet, because the prop is so big and heavy, I am afraid I wouldn't use it much because I prefer to travel light.

Hey fellow fire dancer . :) im a flow artist from South Africa

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44