My introduction starts from what I been through in the UK

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians!

My name is Chris :) and no, this is not my first post here. I have been thinking how should I write my introduction because I did not know where to start. My journey was like a roller coaster🎢 , it would be too long to write it all here. Finally, I have decided to tell you a little part of my story: what I have been through in the UK when I was 19 years old.

P1010309.JPG

I am a college dropout.
I went to the UK right after my college, not to study but to work. I did not come from a rich family, hence going to the UK was a smart move back then due to the super high currency exchange (it was 1 Pound to MYR7, I’m a Malaysian by the way).

Am I alone there? Absolutely not. My boyfriend (who is now my husband ❤️ ) was there before me. I started working on my 3rd day of arrival in the UK, in a Fish & Chip takeaway shop located in Liverpool to serve the customers at the front counter. There was when I noticed the accent of Liverpool (it’s the Scouse Accent) was so much different from London, I don’t even understand a single word they said.

P1010549.JPG
The Fish and Chip Shop Fying Box

My first 3 days at work was a hell of a time.
There were only 3 people in the shop; me, my boss and his wife, the lady boss. They did not teach me what to do and expected me to know what and how to do it on my first day at work.

It was a brand new thing for a 19-year-old girl. There was no Fish & Chip takeaway in Malaysia. Furthermore, I did not understand what did the customer ordered or asked about, I was so panic and did not know what to do.

My lady boss pointed my head with her finger and scolded me badly. She said I’m as stupid as a pig, saying I do not have a brain, that I’m useless and I’m a piece of shit. I was crying secretly at the shop’s toilet and promised myself that I would not give her the chance to scold me like that anymore.

Things started to get well on the 4th day after I observed (and of course, get scolded all the time 😞 ) for 3 days. I started to be able to help my lady boss to serve the customers, and learn their language at the same time. After 2 weeks, I mastered their accent and was able to communicate with the customers.

My lady boss did not point her finger at me anymore. She was treating me so well after that. Buying me some nice food, bringing me around during rest time in the middle of the day.

Looking back now, I think the first 3 days was the most miserable time of my life.

What I learned from there was, if life hit hard on you, find the way to fight back and break it through. If you ask me how did I manage to make myself through and not giving up on my first 3 days (after how my lady boss treated me), here’s my answer: when there is no turning back, you can only go forward, even if there’s a hurricane in front of you. You might be thinking you do not have the strength and capability to make it through; but trust me, our strength and capability are far greater than what we thought.

Img0063.jpg

Well, that’s my little story when I was 19. It was just part 1 of what happened in the UK. Let me know if you are interested to read the part 2 of my story in the UK. I’ll be glad to share it with you :)

Related Post:
My Part 2 Story: I met the angels in the UK

Sort:  

I'm sorry to hear your first few days in Liverpool weren't fun, but I'm glad it worked out in the end! What did you think of the city in general?

hey @acelad! I actually loved the place, wish to visit again some day :) but sorry to say, not the kids though 😂 I almost fight with one of the kid back then as she tried to steal one sausage off the warming box at the counter. Maybe I didn't have the chance to meet the good kids, only those nasty ones, lols.. And I loved the elderly in Liverpool, they were so polite, with such a good manners. I hope the younger generation can learn from them. Are you from Liverpool?

Good to hear you loved the city! Yeah I'm from #Liverpool and I love my city too :). It would be interesting to see how many people on Steemit are from here actually.

yea that would be interesting! :D Btw my part 2 is done, you can read it HERE ^^

Hello Chris! Good that we now know each other's ID and I can follow you! Great intro!

Welcome to steemit @smile4ever and great to have you onboard teammalaysia

Hi @bitrocker2020, thanks! I heard so much about you, all the good stuff of course! 😁 Look forward to meet you soon!

@smile4ever You're one tough cookie. I agree with your philosophy - always move forward. Thanks for sharing a piece of your history.

part 2 le .. ?

soon soon, need to squeeze my time a bit, hahaha

Hi @jikey, my part 2 is done, you can read it HERE ^^

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday ... I made today my #newbieresteemday, and invite you and others to do the same. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Thanks again Dave!!! ^^

Welcome to Steemit! 😊 looking forward for your good poses

@smile4ever welcome ... semoga dapat berkontribusi dengan baik

This is a fantastic introduction and I'm glad @carolfung recommended that you have this resteemed. #newbieresteemday is all about helping you to get your messages seen by others to help you get a little more traction on your posts and meet some new friends.

You did an outstanding job! I'm so happy you are here and glad you made it through those 3 days :)

Keep it up and feel free to click on this hashtag #newbieresteemday and you will find 5 to 10 others that will be happy to resteem your post... Together we are stronger. Happy to connect to you smile4ever :)

beautiful story. welcome here =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 58495.14
ETH 2461.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36