Welcoming myself to SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

Hey everyone! I have recently been urged and urged to join what looks like a wonderful community so here goes nothing.

My name is Jamie, I am an English Literature student and currently attempting to make some beer money from crypto. I was planning on writing about my opinions on this area etc but from what I can tell it seems rather over-saturated, so I’ve decided to try something different and document the year of travelling I did around India, Nepal, Myanmar, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, and Vietnam (including notes, scribbles, and lots of photo's). This is something I've wanted to do for a long time and this being a newer platform/community seems like the ideal starting point.

Soo a quick overview…

2016 seems like the logical starting place, when I was the ripe old age of 18 and before I decided to sell my soul to university (which was something I was adamant I would neither waste time or money on.) I always liked the idea of travelling but when my brother left with a group of people to drive from the UK -> Australia in a double decker bus, and I kept seeing the constant stream of photos… I just knew it was something I had to do as soon as I had the opportunity. So, I saved up all the money I physically could working in hospitality and booked a flight to Bangkok. You can see me looking extremely young with a goofy smile on the (right) and Don who looks like he could be my father on the (left).

11163234_10203991403892938_1047555234097373958_n.jpg

So, this was my first time going away from home without family and with a friend who I had known for a little over three months... but who cared? We thought South East Asia was so well travelled that it would be a walk in the park… And it was, kind of. I mean between us we still lost debit cards, had a few sketchy incidents on the 40mph restricted mopeds, missed busses, muddled up visas and met some questionable characters but that was all part of the fun.

Anyway, I plan to post here as often as I can to document my entire journey be it in the form of a blog, guide, ramble who knows. I haven’t quite figured that out yet. I’m going to try and attach a few photo’s showing a few of my favorite spots underneath all this just to give everyone an idea of what to expect! (exclude the smartphone quality and my amateur photography skills, also I apologise if my younger self dabbled with filters a bit too much).

Anyway, if you’ve read this far thanks.

Peace,
Jamie

Photo's
Walking the Annapurna trail in Nepal, on route toward Tilicho Lake. Nepal really is the most beautiful country with such differing landscapes!
IMG_3041.JPG

Happily at the top of Tilicho Lake, also the worlds highest lake so that's pretty cool. Definitely was not looking forward to the walk back
IMG_3183.JPG

Donovan chilling in Laos at a secret waterfall we found, after twenty or so minutes these guys turned up! They were surprisingly happy to see us!

Finally Angkor Wat at sunrise, one of the only moments on the trip I wish I had access to a better camera as the photo really doesn't do it justice. The 4AM start was rather peak.

Sort:  

Great meeting you and a warm welcome to Steemit. Everyone I've met on here has been amazing & super helpful. I'm sure you'll find the Steemit community very welcoming & kind. Here's a post that help me when I 1st got on here:
The Ultra Beginner's Guide to Steemit- What to do 1st
Also if you'd like to know more about me:
"You Never Know" <--- Click to Listen

Stay in touch and let me know when you post ! I'll be sure to upvote.
Follow Shomori Pass!

Welcome ! Awesome post.Thanks for sharing.
Plz visit my blog.


Welcome to Steemit @slyjamie!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63788.86
ETH 2476.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66