My first post - basic about me information!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit,

My name is Nico Scholtz. I work in IT infrastructure and networking. I have no experience in writing about myself or anything about my life, so this is a first for me. Any helpful comments and advice is welcome. I got introduced to Steemit by @aidanblue and I saw Steemit a few times while browsing the web.

I have stayed my whole life in South Africa. The past decade I spent my time in the Western Cape.

I started my career as an instructor at a college teaching students networking. Ill refrain from using IT abbreviations as they won’t make too much sense and I don’t feel it would be needed in an introduction post. This 4-5 years of my life was very draining and was never really my passion. Spend your days teaching and nights preparing so I had to get out.

I joined a new company afterwards and are currently still with them where I can focus on using my skill set I have developed over the years. This has been over 5 years now.

I recently stopped one of my biggest hobbies and that was playing a computer game called DOTA 2. I started playing this while I was till in high school. I attempted to go “pro”, but I could simply not put in enough time due to work and my family. I stopped this journey last year and this opened so much time for me.


Me in the blue shirt(Second from right) - Apologies for a blurry image

With my new-found time, I decided to focus on my career a bit more. I do part time studying at nights in topics like: Cyber security, Penetration testing and Linux. I found that I have a huge love for Network security.

Lastly for this post, I jumped onto the crypto train last year. Unfortunately missed the whole boom with Bitcoin. I think everyone have said, if I only climbed into it when bitcoin was low in price. I’m doing casual trading in Bitcoin and alt coin and is busy setting up a mining farm. Focusing on Alt coin mining and have made a lot of mistakes over the last year, so feel free to ask me anything in this regard as well.

I think that sums me up. I will attempt to post regular posts regarding my hobbies and basic “how-to” to help anyone that might have struggled with the same kind of things as me.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

welcome @slekky !! I play dota 2 as well but never on the competitive level. I'm still playing it occasionally now. do you still play it casually on and off?

Thank you @seanytan . I will play every now and then if a friend wants to me play with them. To be honest, I'm scared to get hooked again :)

yessss ikr might be addictive 😐

Welcome to Steemit! Glad to finally have you on here :)

Thank you. Glad to be on here finally.

Welcome to the Steem World!
I have recently made an orientation video that will help you in your journey here - and will hopefully answer all the questions that took me months to figure out.
https://steemit.com/dtube/@maneki-neko/rlfwsqlj


I wish you all the best here on Steem!

I will also use the tag : @originalworks for this post, this will summon a robot that, if you wrote this original article, will give you an additional upvote. :)

Thank you! Also thank you for the additional information and help. I will definitely have a look at your posts.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @slekky to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Welcome to steemit

Welcome brother

Well, we are in the same shoe,my mind always goes blank.

Lol I just started typing. Before I knew it, I had a post...

another programmer for the resistance ! welcome

Thank you :)

Hi :) welcome to steemit!!

Congratulations @slekky, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62058.88
ETH 3419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48