An Artist and Art lover Introducing himself to a community he wants to call home!

header image

Hello there, my name is Malik Sky (Skypizza because I love pizza a lot) and I'm a 23 years old self-taught artist, art lover, writer, and Architecture student. The greatest gift that I'm thankful for is my never-ending appreciation and awareness for the creative things in life, both what appeals to the eyes and evokes emotions or touches the soul.

I know how typical it is for artists and art lovers to go on and talk about how they had this "quirk" or talent even before they first uttered words as kids, but that is so typical because it is true. See since the beginning I was introduced into the creative realm of art by my mother, bless her soul, who was an artist herself. Of course I was given the option to pursue anything as a child, be it puzzles, exploring the wilds, getting my face smeared with mud and eating wild plants, or scribbling colourful doodles on crumpled papers. Yet I was so interested with creating things, expressing my emotions and thoughts through linework and colors. Even in my early years in school I would get these assignments to draw something that correlates with the given alphabet letters, and I would go out of my way to draw the most imaginative and wild things.

looking back on my first grade papers and assignments I noticed that I drew this really colorful tree that had a huge Jackfruit, for the letter "J". Also drew a "Mr. Octopus" for the letter "O"

mural work

I'm 23 years old now and I have already painted or drew on every surface imaginable, be it print papers, canvases, walls, dusty car windows, dew covered car windows, sand, glass, my own skin, or even infinite amount of food packages. At the age of 15 I first started drawing digitally and never stopped since then, of course I won't be too embarrassed to mention my Microsoft paint days before that as well. I have drawn for my own pleasure, did portraits for friends and family as gifts, did digital work and design for money, painted various walls for cafes, schools, and recording studios.

As long as it was art I did not mind the time or effort I wanted to put in, or the various sleep hours I had to give away.

Traditional Artwork

traditional work

Digital Artwork

digital work

Murals

digital work

Enter: Steemit

How did it happen

I was previously posting a few videos on a now defunct platform called vidme, it had a great concept and implementation but too bad it didn't work out. They had a subreddit for promoting vidme videos that I used to frequent, and that is where I stumbled on @cruzando post titled "There’s this new video sharing site and it reminds me a lot of IF vidme and YouTube had a baby and monetization is already available on it so here’s my first real video on it if you’re interested in checking out the sites UI and what it’s like". That day I found out about dtube and steemit, I really liked the concept and wished I had known earlier about it, so I decided to join and here I am after receiving my verification email which I was so excited about.

Goals

My number one priority and goal here on steemit, and by extension on dtube as well is to share my art, my experiences in my daily life, my story, and in the conversation. Nothing attracted me to this platform like the promise of an engaging and rich community, one I will be very excited to talk to, start conversations with, add and take value from. My planned content here will be as follow for now, with no limitation on what to share more in the future:

  • Sharing my daily experiences and opinions on art, culture, videogames, literature, online hustling for both money and knowledge, food?, and random assortment of oddities such stumbling into the dark web, building a quirky app, or ranting about transportation.

  • Art tutorials, guides, inspirational ideas, and technical shortcuts.

  • My own art as well as the process of creating them, afterall the process of creating art is in itself the story.

In closing I would like to just encourage every artist in here to keep pursuing their passion, talk about it with people, engage in the conversation and never be affected by artist's block, embracing criticism, and always seek to learn new ways of expressing their craft.

For verification purposes, here is my instagram that you may contact directly for the verification questions. Or you know, follow it if you think my stuff is cool.

My Instagram

apple

*An apple I carved, this is a reward for reading through my introductory post, thanks a lot.
If you have anything to ask, share or talk about regarding me or my introduction post please feel free to comment!

Sort:  

@skypizza, first off I would like to welcome you to our community steemit! I say relax, take your time look through posts and get a idea of the community, share a post with us with some more of your artwork and get to know people! It's sorta like we are a big family here at steemit because it's as if we do most together including eat and age. You get what I mean... I am glad to hear that you're a artist and I look forward to seeing some of your work. I'm a artist myself thats into photography, painting and drawing. In the past I was into computer administration and programming. If you have a varied interests or hobbies then you will fit right in! Welcome to steemit and if you have any questions don't hesitate to ask someone!

Hey there, thanks a lot for the welcoming and encouraging words! I do like the feel of community this place has and I'm sure to stick around. Will be sure to share my artworks as well with you all! Cheers, and I followed you to see more of your future content!

Welcome to steemit! I'm an artist from the Philippines. Enjoy!

Hey there! Thanks a lot, I'm half pinoy myself and I miss the Philippines a lot! Hopefully I will get to visit it one day in the near future!

whoa that is good to hear! kababayan! Following you now ! good luck here!

Woah! I love your artworks! I'll follow you on IG. Can't wait to see your works and posts here!

Thanks a lot!

Welcome to Steemit! We can always use more artists on here! I like the work you included on here. :)

You have been resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday. Congratulations on your content Newbie and as always, Keep Steemin’! I invite you to learn more about the initiative and Come Join Us!!! Newbie Resteem Initiative

and join the Steemit Newbie Resteem Initiative Discord channel here: https://discord.gg/xcekaZU

Welcome to the fold man! Great intro and I’m sure you’ll be a great contribution to the community! I look forward to seeing your future content! Enjoy and good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50