Holy shit, I'm in! Woohoo! - umm... Hello, it's me

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, it's me '@Sivehead' (aka Jason). Please excuse my excitement, I've been waiting for what seems like an eternity to join this fascinating community.

Introducing Sivehead

First things first, here's my this is me pic...

sivehead.gif

I know... Your thinking ha! What's with the hair dude? - Don't be scared, I just figured if you see me at my worst, things can only get better! :)

So what can I tell you about little old #me?

Well, my name is Jason. I've been studying at the university of life for 40 something years, and I live in the UK. I'm a son, brother and a husband. I'm a father of five and a grandad of two (so far). Yes. I guess you could say I've been busy!

I try my very best to be kind, considerate, genuine and fair - and I try to look at life in a light hearted way.

Since a young age I've been quite a practical person... Being able to turn my hands to most tasks. I've had a range of jobs over the years, from packing smokey bacon to building partition walls.

What are your likes and dislikes?

Umm... I like photoghraphy - I'm useless at it unlike @coloneljethro. Have you seen the photos in his intro post? Check this out...

DQmPyKN3ABJAVQnLPs4irBUFrmpNK2sfxLcEc7X3936iKA1.jpeg
Photo by @coloneljethro

Man, I could stare at that for hours... Imagining I was there, sat on the bank with my wife and a cool beer, taking in the view.

I like a decent Tv series like The Walking Dead, Originals or Blacklist. I can't honestly say I read a lot of books, but I do like Dr. Seuss... He's great. Mostly I read bucket loads of online content. Anything you ever wanted to know is out there somewhere... If it's not, there's a gap in the market - so get writing lol..

I've dabbled with a few programming languages and knocked up a couple of web sites. That was an interesting learning curve. I've even had a go at a little word game app for android.

My main interest would have to be passive income. The above made a start on that, but it's definitely something I'd like to expand on. I mean, I'm not getting any younger and physical labour doesn't get any easier. Reading, typing, linking to other information.... Yes, I can handle that for sure.

I Don't like Facebook.... Sorry - it just does my head in. I don't even have a Facebook account But, to me, there seems to be a lot of bitchyness on there. People just looking to piss somebody off, cause an arguement or rain on someone elses parade. I'm not saying everyone is like that, but the stories I hear from others suggests a lot of it does go on.

Something else I don't like... Prawns! Can't stand the damn things. I do buy prawns, but they are for this guy...

DSC_0323.JPG

Meet my pet - Ralphy 'Chops' MacGee

He just loves those raw peeled prawns they sell at Tesco! :)

How did I get here?

It must of been about two... No, three weeks ago. I had the most vivid dream...

Lol, no... Like many others here I fell in to the proverbial rabbit hole of crypto - or crypto hole - or 'cryptole' for the want of a better name. I'll tell the story of that journey another day. I wouldn't want this post to waffle on for too long.

The short version of how I landed on Steemit (woohoo!) is this...

In a quest to expand my passive income, I came across the possiblity of Staking with POS coins. I jumped on Bittrex and bought some Bitbean (now known as Beancash). I downloaded the wallet and went in search of more info. That's when I found Steemit (woohoo!... Sorry). A few posts on here were most helpful @don100100 is one of the authors.

Unfortunately, as my luck would have it, I don't have anywhere near enough Beancash to 'Sprout' any new Beans any time soon.

Donations welcome! (wink, wink): 2XPc2FUE9CWpf2Zb7m6Ge6LEzj2K2TiTEk

After finding Steemit and learning more about this wonderful community, I instantly thought - I need to be a part of this... I signed up, then raced back to Bittrex and bought as many Steem as I could afford.

Why are you here?

That's easy - To do unto others as I would have them do unto me!

To put it in a less biblical fashion and a tad more bluntly, I need help to improve - myself, my abilities and my online presence. I think I can learn that here. Of course I don't expect to get help for nothing... If I was after freebies, I wouldn't of bothered to sign up.

In return, with my varied 40 odd years in the university of life, I'm sure I've picked up a thing or two that I can pass on to help and advise others. After all... To go to another expression from the bible - whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap'.

Wow - two biblical expressions and I don't even consider myself a religious man.

Well that's all for now folks. Thank you all so much for taking the time to read my #Introduceyourself post. There's loads more I could tell you but I think a little bit of mystery can sometimes be a good thing.

Any critique welcome :)

Thanks again

Regards Sivehead

Sort:  

welcome-to-steem (56) · 5 days ago
Welcome to steemit!
I am a bot built for the purposes of welcoming new users! You are receiving this message as you have used the #introduceyourself tag! I know that steemit may seem very overwhelming to you right now but don't worry. There's a learning curve to everything so just be patient and you'll be churning out posts and becoming a part of something great in no time!

Also if there are any questions that you may have, then just ask your questions on any of my blog posts and I'll be more than happy to assist you with whatever questions you may have! I will also be creating a basic starting out guide for all minnows and newcomers on my blog so do give it a read as that might help answer many of your questions!

Have fun and I wish you LOADS of success on here! :)

Also. you can call upon originalworks whenever something you post is your own content like this: @originalworks

Regards
@welcome-to-steem

Hey Jason! Welcome to steem! Never saw anyone so happy for joining :)
Hope you'll like being here!

Hello @sivehead. Great to have you here. Welcome to the wonderful Steemit community. Invite your friends and family to join.

Welcome to steemit

Hi @sivehead welcome to steemit, i hope you enjoy here, have fun. Don't get tired writing an article. You got an upvote from me. You are cute in your photo :)

This comment has received a 0.36 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @vinzie1.

Thank you very much!


Welcome to Steemit @sivehead!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

The above made a start on that, but it's definately something I'd like to expand on.
It should be definitely instead of definately.

Thank you.... corrected!

Welcome to the world of steemit, beginnings can be difficult, but this is the best place to dream about everything...

Hello @sivehead Welcome to steem! Love that intro lol, that's how I felt when i finally got in! Checkout this post on my blog a few tips to get started! I hope you enjoy the post and you find it helpful!

Thanks, I'll take a look

hello, I'm also from the UK. Mixed feelings about steemit. Amazing potential, great idea, and i'd love to see fb fall. But there also a lot of low quality content and bot abuse. This it's always gonna be a way better investment of your life than fb!

Thanks @astralliam, my sentiments exactly. Fb is just a waste of time and effort imo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61829.34
ETH 2395.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63