You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hello everyone! Should've started with the introduction first...

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Welcome! It's very nice to meet you! Your music career is impressive! I was always curious how is it to play instruments professionally. I played flute once but I was never able to compose any music or repeat a melody that I heard. So... wow! And I myself am very interested in indie game dev as well. Could you tell me a little bit more on what steps did you take to become a game developer? Anyways, I hope you will like it here :) I found Steemit very motivating. I think I should read FAQ first and look for advice of more experienced users (there are many good posts on how to thrive on Steemit etc.), I can also recommend you getting on Discord, PAL. Good luck! :) Klaudia

Sort:  

Hi @shinyforest! Thank you for the welcome! Well, at the beginning (when I was in high-school) I've bought two books from where I learned the basics (Pascal and C). When I was in the 1st year at the Music Academy (in my town) I've enrolled at the Economics University, because they had there a Informatics section (the reason why I did this is that I couldn't apply to a IT university because of my high-school degree...), from where I learned a bit of C# and JavaScript. Got myself from Humble bundle a Unity license, and started experimenting (in the same bundle I got Pyxel Edit that's really good for pixel art). That'd be great if you could recommend me a channel on Discord. P.S. what's PAL (maybe this sounds stupid...)?

I'm currently a SysAdmin for a outsourcing company in my town. We have a few (local and foreign) game dev companies in my town, but they require 3+ years experience :|

Here you can read a little about PAL: https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@doggedfi/steemit-pal-on-discord-essential-combo-for-newbie-minnows Unfortunately I'm a beginner myself and I'm still not very well oriented in Discord chats. But PAL is the great place to start everything, I think. Thank you for sharing your experience! I'm curious, what games would you like to create? I myself am a big fan of Playdead's games and ever since I played Limbo for the first time I got very inspired. What part of game design would you like to do? I mean, a story behind it, the visuals, the workings of the game or something else? :)

P.s. Saw you're work on you're blog, it's really beautiful!

Thank you @razzek, I appreciate that! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97