Shift n Shape

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

7c09ed52-9a2e-4c05-9966-b3835654d218.JPG

Who are you? I know who I am and I’ll tell you.

But I’ve been nervous about opening up to you. Maybe I’m just a coward. Time will tell. I feel like I’ve got a lot to say. Been a long time quiet. Truth be told, I’m more comfortable with all this in person, one to one. A pub, a pint, some music...

I remember a conference. A squatted dole house: Brixton, London. The year 1991. The space, a large empty industrial shell. I was better acquainted with the room decked out in drapes, lit by flashing strobes and DJs playing all night sets to enthusiastic dancers. But now, it was daytime and small groups of people huddled around the walls, talking about subjects that seemed to me like fairy tales. The conference was called Alternative Societies in the 21st Century. I listened to speakers discussing a variety of subjects from the imminent explosion of the internet to creative collectives, and new financial communities. One particular guy from Nigeria - exotically turned out in red jeans, a thigh-length white cotton blouse and a colourful kufi on his head - was talking about money. New money. New systems of barter and value.

Something happened to me that day. Utopian dreams became a reality.

Now, 27 years later I come across Steemit and I’m reminded of that dream.

My friend, @samstonehill, has been banging on about Steemit for months. Being a late adopter, through a suspicion of the Big Brother qualities of technology, it’s taken me a while. Plus I’m British. I’m not used to blowing my own trumpet. We used to leave that to less inhibited nationalities. But times have changed.

Me

I’m a single parent, a writer, a film maker, a musician. My online presence is sorely lacking and I come to Steemit after recently sending out my first novel to a couple of agents who both agreed I needed to blog, presumably to do the publisher’s PR job for them, in these tiresome days of austerity.

My Intentions

I want this to be a two-way relationship. I intend to blog on things that I have a natural curiosity towards. Stories. The world is built on stories. Fiction and non-fiction. The trials and tribulations of what it is to be a single dad in austerity torn England. And along the way I’ll listen to your stories if you’ll let me.

041.JPG

Sort:  

Welcome to the tribe brother. Nothing to be nervous about here except them pesky bots!

You will find this community to be a much more uplifting bunch than the FB one you are accustomed to and your understanding of how we can live from our art will be transformed forever ;)

Thanks for all your help Sam

Welcome To the community!!!

Welcome to steemit @shift17 upvote :D


Welcome to Steem @shift17.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

I'll do that. There does seem a lot to learn!

Just read your piece. Interesting. What is bandwidth?

Glad you took the plunge and came aboard @shift17! I was a little skeptical at first, then I started meeting people on here and that very quickly wore off, that is for sure. I am inviting you to the contest I am hosting https://steemit.com/earthnation/@cryptkeeper17/win-steemit-upvotes-for-life-with-a-free-membership-to-steembasicincome a chance to get upvoted and get rolling on here more quickly! Feel free to ask questions I am always happy to help!

Sounds cool. I'll take a look

Welcome on board you are going to love it here.. Feel free to follow me so we can support each other with upvotes

Ok- I'll take a look at your stuff

Congratulations @shift17, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Hi,i'm new to steemit and have just posted my intro post as well.Being Birtish , I understand your reluctance about opening up.But it sounds like you've got some great stories to tell.Looking forward to hearing them.

I hope so and thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51