Confucius once said: "What you do not wish for yourself do not unto others"

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Lateral pose at waterfall in Keningau Jungle Sabah Malaysia.JPG

 己所不欲,勿施于人 

That's what the great Chinese teacher, who lived more that 2,500 years ago, once said in ancient China. He also had a lot to talk about regarding other great virtues such as righteousness, love, compassion, justice and benevolence that endure to this day. Well, at least it's still true with the older generations in most parts of Southeast Asia, not so much in China where communism had almost destroyed the cultural roots of ancient Chinese tradition.

I was born and raise in such culture growing up in Singapore. Though imperfect in my life and fallible as I am for a human being, nevertheless, the teaching does provide me with a moral foundation that guide the course of my human development and turn me back on track if I strayed too far off course. 

The primary reason I came over to steemit social media was because of the constant disinformation by the giant media conglomerates and the increasing censorship of free speech by these tyrannical social media providers. The censorship handed down on social media users was extremely bias and politically driven. The last straw was when several of my twitter and Youtube fellow members, whose feeds or video channels I followed or subscribed, were suspended or even banned for merely posting facts or quotes that the self-appointed big brothers deemed politically inappropriate and hateful. Meanwhile, the twisted facts and quotes from the original sources that spew true hate speech were given a pass to continue their operation. This great injustice just incensed me to no end.

Then someone suggested steemit. After my account was approved I found that this site is more geared towards social activity and general themes such as steemit related topics and other interests like bitcoins, cooking, humor, etc, than what I was looking for. I have no problem with that, of course. Just that I need to keep up with current events and people's viewpoint or feedback concerning the political situation in the western world, especially the US, where I had lived there for 32 years. I just relocated back to Singapore this year in January because of my aging mother's health. Of course, it goes without saying, I wanted to be there for her. However, for every day it passes my mind and heart are with the American people and the country which I just left reluctantly behind. The Land of the Free is still a country I care about deeply. 

Just today I learn from Gab, another social media site akin to twitter that I joined not long ago, which reported about what's to come on December 18th:

Twitter will be judging user behavior  both on and OFF of their website. Meaning if you visit another website  that they don't like or show "support" for groups they don't like, you  can get banned. This unprecedented level of censorship and blacklisting  of groups from the public square is unlike anything in history and will  be a huge opportunity for Gab.

Isn't that outrageous? How did America the brave, the Land of beautiful, come to this low point?

America, please WAKE UP!

Please note, since I'm now a member of this community and that I have other interests other than politics, I may stay around to posts something that may interest and benefit members here. I am a physical therapist with expertise in geriatric and stroke rehab. I am also an ardent enthusiast in physical exercise since childhood that propelled my interest further into competitive body building during my young adulthood. Most people like to tell you, "No pain, no gain". But, it's not the pain that is essential, in fact it can be detrimental to your muscular development if you take it to far. It's hard work and time consuming, no doubt. But, if you have great passion in the things you do, and do it right with proper techniques and knowledge, including proper intake of balanced meals to provide adequate nutrients and essential amino acids that your body needs, the result would be very rewarding. See picture above.

My other interests and hobby includes swimming, Tai Chi (Yang style Taijiqian), religious/faith exegesis, oriental philosophy, analysis of meaning in Chinese characters, herbal study, health foods and much more. So, in those regards, I would most likely post some article along those lines. If you have specific interest in mind that you want me to address, you can drop me a line or two in the comment section. And I'll get back to you and let you know whether I can oblige your request.

Meantime, cheers and let it be ...

Shan

Sort:  

source (2).gif

Shan its nice to see you. I am following you now

Congratulations @shanlim! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @shanlim! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @shanlim! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81