High-five Steemit - the new PEvO Project Leader is here!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Whats_App_Image_2017_06_21_at_22_58_43

Hi everyone - This is my intro.

In the late 80s I decided that it was time for a long journey, so I packed my bags and moved out of my home. Well, my parents packed our bags, because I was still a baby and we had to escape from civil war in Afghanistan, but this decision plus all my life experiences shaped me and the way I think. We had to endure several setbacks on our way to more freedom, but my parents stayed focussed when leaving Afghanistan for Pakistan, then moving to Singapore, Indonesia, Thailand and finally Germany. I was a kid when we arrived in Rendsburg, which is a small city in the north of Germany. 

So we arrived at our new home, I went to school and I quickly understood that becoming a professional NBA basketball player isn't as easy as it felt when dreaming of it. So becoming a doctor is the way to go - since my father used to be a doctor in war-torn Afghanistan and my mother was a scientist, researching cures for diseases like rabies.  

What did I do? 

Short before finishing school in Hamburg I realized that I'd rather solve mathematical problems and develope robots that perform heart surgeries than doing it myself. That was when I started my business engineering studies. 

During my studies I have started, successfully sold and even miserably failed (with) my own startups. Have I felt frustrated because of the failure? Nope, I was impressed about what I had learned from my own mistakes and since then I started sharing my experiences and knowledge with others, helping them build their own products, companies and bringing ideas into reality.

Who am I now?

What truly defines me today is that I love to learn, achieve great things and motivate others in doing the same. 

What does it feel like having life goals and passion combined in your daily work?

That's how it feels like when you're the project leader of PEvO

In October 2016 I met @pharesim and I was pretty impressed by the work he had done and was about to do. He asked me to read the PEvO White Paper and I promised him my support. After a few weeks of researching and understanding the real value of open science @pharesim and I had several discussions about the opportunities and possible obstacles on our way. I decided to take this role and do what needs to be done. 

When I think about the core of why I took this position, it is about impact and change. And even now while writing this introduction I feel honored and excited about being part of PEvO. 

Why PEvO?

The adventure and the opportunities we have with PEvO are challenging the competitive person in me. So my aim right now is to first remove every obstacle that's keeping us from innovating and then build and enable a team that focuses on changing the world of scientific publishing. 

We need a world in which every individual or organisation can get more out of their contribution to science. 

What's coming next?

If you want to help us disrupting the way scientific publishing works, let's get to know each other!

I'd love to keep in touch with you all on steemit and linkedin, so feel free to contact me.

Best,

Shakib

[email protected]

https://www.linkedin.com/in/swassey/

Sort:  

Hello I'm new to Steemit what an Amazing View to your Intro

I am happened to had a very throughout conversation with kevin wong last night about PEvO. We both agreed that it is very disruptive but lucks of some ROI plan for now. That des not mean that there can't be solutions for that. I would love to see you guys making this project a thing. Followed.

welcome, good luck !!

Thanks for sharing your story!

Welcome to Steem @shak I have sent you a tip

@shak
nice to meet you ,, come in my blog OKE :D

Welcome to our family I hope you have great success here On steemit @mannyfig1956

Welcome to steemit, happy to have you here

I am @alienposts , my real name is achraf :)
Checkout my blog posts, Enjoy your time here and let's get this party started :)

Welcome to Steemit! Would love to keep in touch. Following, keep us updated!

welcome man, keep steem project

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11