What The Hell is Steem it and can I Actually add Value to it?

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

So before you continue reading please note this is not one of those posts from an existing user telling you all about what to do to make it on  Steemit that title is a legitimate question I am asking myself as I write this.

Seriously what the hell is Steemit?

So I have done my Googling, my steemit searches typed in the inevitable "Is Steemit a scam?" read all the posts with claims about the Devs and friends having all the power and money and essentially having the power to decide whats makes the light of day. 

SO WHAT am I really going to be upset that someone wants to gather the fruits of their labour? I mean this site and its processes didn't spring full born from the loins of the interwebs and if the Devs get the the lions share then good that's how it should be hell  that's how I would make a system if I could create the tools rather than just use them. 

Conclusion 

  • Devs/power users build system of weighted democratic incentivised content creation
  • Creators get paid
  • Devs/power users incentivised  to put weight behind quality posts and grow traffic.
  • More traffic = more opportunity for quality creators to get paid.
  • and Facebook don't pay shit

I think that's what the hell Steemit is. (I think. Maybe?)

Can I Add Value To It? (and maybe get value from it?)

So on to the #introduceyourself for the record that is literally the first time I have ever used #

Who am I?

  1. I'm the proud  husband to and amazing wife that is a health advocate blogger.
  2. We hit the gym 4-6 times a week.
  3. I look like Kenny G and Weird Al had a child.
  4. See I told you.
  5. With 11 years experience in the pawnbroking industry (but the best I can give you is 5)
  6. Gaming geek with a nice rig.
  7. Once managed to con someone into hiring me as lead artist on a PS2 Title (never made the light of day)
  8. Wish I could be a writer but as you can tell my Grandma, speeLling, and lack of real insight might hold me back.
  9. Love words, yeah I know it feel like I am repeating myself from the last line but I'm talking more etymology.
  10. I wanted to be an animator, photographer, games developer, geologist, entomologist(bugs), painter, tee shirt maker, crypto millionaire.
  11. I am easily distracted.
  12. And I come from the Land Down Under other wise known as the land of nopes

All that and I have know idea what I'm going to wright about.

I can't be a health advocate that's my wifes domain, I can't write you a fitness plan because I exercise to drink, I can't tell you how to be an artist because I sucked at that job, can't write about games because I'm to busy playing them.

I don't know some one give me and idea.

Peace Trout

Thats Me thanks @gogogadgetupvote for the reminder.

Kind Regards

Peter 



 

Sort:  

Hi Shai, welcome to Team Australia and great intro post!

Thanks mate i appreciate the welcome

Great intro, @shai-hulud! Would you be willing to add a "Verification Photo" to your intro post? It is just a picture with you holding a piece of paper that has your username and the date on it. Let's us know that you are a "REAL" Weird Al impersonator, and not a bot! Thanks!
I'm @gogogadgetupvote and I Upvoted and Resteemed your intro thanks to @janvir's link he sent in my "Daily Introduceyourself Post Bounty"

Thanks Inspector

I appreciate the advice and will add a proper verification photo today I don't want people thinking I'm a Robo-Al.

Kind regards
Peter

Great Photo Bud! It's Cute! You have your Daddy's Chin, and your other Daddy's forehead! Still can't decide whose hair you got. Thanks for the Verify Pic @shai-hulud!

Fogot to thank you for the resteem I'm so rookie I didn't even know what that was time to read the F.A.Q

No worries bud! Thanks for replying!

Welcome to steemit @shai-hulud. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @shai-hulud to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Thanks heaps that original works looks pretty cool I will check it all out when I finish up work

@shai-hulud ....welcome to steemit!...I've followed you, pleaae follow back

I think we are a part of something truly special here, and I welcome you! Another early adopter to this amazing technology.

Thanks for the welcome it is pretty cool

Welcome Peter :)
As a medical student, I was of course checking out your link to your wifes blog - It's amazing, get her on steemit!!!
I hope you will find some interesting connectios here, greets :)
Btw, I resteemed you with @welcoming, where you will meet other promising new users!

Hi thanks for the welcome.
I have told her she should join and she has submitted today but hasn't been verified.

I'm not sure if she will have the time to maintain two blogs but we will see she is pretty keen to use any leverage she can to get her message out there.

Hello so my wife has joined you can find her here @insideoutlet

Hello and welcome.

Yes! Welcome fellow pioneer/bug lover! There just aren't enough people that love bugs out there.....

Your wonderful wife told me - you love beer - so you might enjoy the Steemit #BeerSaturday Challenge where you have a chance to win 15 SBD for nice posts about beer.

And buy beer from the revenue to do the next post.

Does this sounds logical?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98