We need to eat ... so let’s build Steemit farming communities for land and sea :)steemCreated with Sketch.

I hope to connect with Steemians who can help to make tags such as ‘farming’ ‘aquaculture’, ‘agriculture’, ‘ecological’ and yes … even ‘seaweed’ … rate high in popularity.

Collaborate through Steemit to produce essential crops

Many active Steemians seem to be into art, travel, and the crypto-world and we aquaculturists are into those activities as well. One of my Bali-Boys Krypto-Club buddies is a professional street-musician who is starting a seaweed farm in Bali!

We need to grow the crops that feed us and enrich our lives so let’s grow Steemit as a tool for collaboration. Together we can develop socially responsible and ecologically sustainable ways of producing essential crops in the new world of distributed-ledger technology.

My name is Iain Neish

I have invested more than 50 years of my life into tropical aquaculture development. I left the frigid waters of my native home in Nova Scotia, Canada 40 years ago to work in the warm, clear tropical seas of the Coral Triangle region where I now make my home on the wonderful island of Bali in Indonesia.

The growth of tropical sea farming

Over the years I have been privileged to participate in the growth of tropical seaweed farming from the time when many said “it will never work” to the present day when many consider it to be a “traditional” way of life for thousands of seashore communities. Seaweed farming is now a driving force for development of integrated, ecological approaches to agri-aquaculture around the world. That is the ‘SeaweedChain’ that this Steemit account and my newly evolving Seaweedchain.com website are intended to promote and develop.

As you can imagine, the development and implementation of technologies in globally dispersed coastal villages is no easy thing. Legacy means of communication (even through cellular networks and the internet) often dish out a frustrating, unrewarding experience. As I approach my sunset years I see distributed-ledger technologies, as manifested by Steemit, becoming a solution to two of the most problematic issues we face, namely: (1) reliance on fragile trust relationships; and (2) lack of compensation for the hard labor involved in developing and communicating the ‘content’ that enables progress.

The virtuous cycles of Steemit

Perhaps the value proposition of Steemit seems too good to be true but as an early-cohort baby-boomer I am running out of time, so … based on hope and optimism … I am launching my campaign to accelerate progress by helping to build agri-aquaculture communities on Steemit.

I see Steemit developing as an effective way to link back into legacy communication tools such as books and journals; to link laterally into old-school IT such as slide-shows, websites and blogs; and to link forward into the fascinating, evolving world that distributed ledgers and blockchains are enabling.

Linking my network into Steemit

As past-president of the International Seaweed Association (2010-2013) it was my privilege to link-in with hundreds of colleagues around the world. As an active field guy, I have engaged with thousands of farmers. As my Steemit adventure proceeds, I will link them in as much as I can, so we may share our knowledge, information, tools and solutions and earn Steempower while we do it … through the virtuous cycles of Steemit.

So full Steem ahead!

Cheers, Iain

Sort:  

Good Stuff, Welcome. Cant wait to see what content you will make . Have a great day

Thank you pandorasrealm. I have a lot of content in the works and look forward to following yours as well. Cheers ... Iain


Welcome to Steemit @seaweedchain!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit be truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

welcome the community

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50