My journey as an entrepreneur.

As I think back on it I've always has that entrepreneurial spirit, from selling fruit with my father to starting my own business it's had some lessons Ive had to learn more then once. My first introduction to the MLM world was Pre Paid Legal and my mother was working it at the time. I saw the benefit in the service and my wife and I got our living wills done. It was good but my mother and her team lived in NYC and at that time we lived in Georgia. I was able to go to the meetings but because I was on someone else's downline help wasn't extended that much if I wasn't willing to drop my mother and sign up under them. Needless to say I don't do that anymore.

I've done a few MLM businesses and I've seen success both according to me and the company. A friend of mines I went to high school was doing real good in one of the MLM business. He was one of those getting the car allowance, his story was on the website, he was THAT DUDE. Unfortunately he passed on but I saw that those bonuses are attainable. When we moved back up to NYC from Georgia I started a handy man business and hit the ground running. I got my first client that lived in my friend/business partner buiding. I laid a floating laminated floor, installed the kitchen cabinets. The client called me back to do the floor in their office. Then another job, business was good but slow. I was 1 man but my wife just had our 2nd son who was born with Dandy Walker Malformation and our oldest is on the spectrum of autism, it was alot.

Although I was working, I didn't have health insurance and even though our sons had coverage and my wife was good I was butt naked to say about health insurance. I cut my thumb on a table saw and that was it. I started working with Fed Ex lol. It took the entrepreneurial wind out of my sails at that time. Our personal life at that time was hectic, POSTPARTUM DEPRESSION IS REAL and my wife seem to never shake it from the birth of our first son. And 2 medical diagnosises dosen't ease the pain either. We had our bouts with ourselves and with each other. I told her me loosing that Fed Ex job saved our marriage.

When I lost that job we agreed that she would go back to work and I'll stay at home to take care of the home and boys. She became the woman I knew, her depression faded away and we was able to enjoy our friendship once again. Now I needed something to do, back on my hustle. Today I'm founder and co-owner of catdaddyscorner.com we sell apparel and footwear. It's been a year since we started and it's a great feeling to get a sale, to see a post of someone in something I designed or someone share something I did and now they circle knows about my products. One of the biggest lessons I've learned is you can't do it alone so I've gotten together a team of like minded individuals that see's the bigger picture.

This journey I'm on is a life lesson and I hope to share it with you all. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @scottthomas! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

congrats for happy life and good luck for ur future....steemit also a good community where you can use your earned skilled from past.... here is a steemit guide it may help you to grow faster at steemit https://steemit.com/steemit/@rajag234/complete-steemit-guide-to-success

Congratulations @scottthomas! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - France vs Belgium


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @scottthomas! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63