Introducing myself, & getting to know how this works. Hello, Steemit friends!! <3steemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago

Good day, dear Steemians! I come in peace! :P

Wael_59.jpg

My name is Wa'el Jom'aa. & I am excited to be a part of the Steemit community but I was kinda confused about writing my introductory blog cuz I didn't know what to write in it. I mean I'm quite talkative but I needed to get started. (but once I do, stop me if you can. lol) & I didn't have the time to write this (I'll get back to this).

I was born in Damascus, Syria. & I spent most of my life in this city. Our old house was in a town on the edge of the city. I love this city cuz it has a fun mixture of the ancient old and the modern new. Both of which took a big hit cuz of the crisis & it makes me feel sad and different about this city. But I, as everyone, am hopeful that one day it will be peaceful and safe again and everything will be as it was in 2010 if not better.

Life in Damascus has always been fun and interesting. Always alive with so many flavors where you can find most of what you look for. although I always dreamt of travelling, I haven't got the chance. I always said I wanna go see the world and meet people from different cultures, but in a way, the world used to come to me right here. Before the crisis, I used to spend most of my time with people from different parts of the world; whether they're tourists fascinated by the beauty of my country, or people who moved here to work and made it home over here. Then when the crisis started all those people, all those friends, moved away or had to. And you have no idea the emptiness they left. The city lost something of its soul, as one of them used to say "A part of the city's soul will always be in us."
I still communicate with some of them online, and after a while I started meeting new people online, including @lyndsaybowes and some of the people who are now family to me & although they live thousands of kilometers away, they live right here with me, right in my heart. & I couldn't be more grateful. ^_^ & I would just love to meet people who are like-minded & who are just as open and loving as the ones I'm already lucky to have.

I'm 32 years old, but most people can't tell . They say I look much younger. Most say 23 or 24 which I love, btw. I'm sure it's cuz my inner child is so much alive and out there, and my optimistic nature which regenrates hope every morning. So hopefully, I'll be forever young. Yet when people get to know me, they feel my mind is that of an older man who's wise & aware. Optimism is my main characteristic maybe. I'm always hopeful. Things get me down sometimes, but all I need is a little while or a short nap to bring me back to happiness. I'm also patient. I hate lying and I almost never do it. & I never curse.
I'm both logical and full of emotions, talk about Kirk & Spock together. & I love to laugh and make endless jokes, even under rain of bullets and mortar shells. I love to keep a balance between seriousness and humor, but never separating those two ;) I love puzzles & mind challenging games, talk games, card & board games and all kinds of games, really. Uno & Pentago seem to take the stage lately whenever with friends.
Music is always playing in my room or in my earphones, unless I'm talking to people or watching movies, music is not allowed to be off! You name it, I probably listen to it, no matter the genre. But Metal, Oriental, Classical, Jazz, and Rap are the top genres for me. Don't ask how! :P

I studied English Literature in college & I loved it so much. I still love comparing it to the Arabic literature esp. when it comes to poetry. & if I could, I would stay a student forever. I used to be a bookworm & I used to enjoy just reading and studying all that was required and then some more (even at times when we didn't have electricity for months, or it'd be raining bombs, I still did great). Then I was accepted in the MA for English linguistics, which would've been amazing if our university is what it used to be before the crisis or if I could travel to an English speaking country, but then I kinda had to stop pursuing it. I wished to find a scholarship or something, cuz I can't afford to travel and study on my own. (Hoping Steemit would help with the money issues). I work as an English tutor for kids and for adults for many years now, & I taught in a school last year, I love the kids more than I can say. I would love to have such an opportunity again. & I work as an English<=>Arabic translator from time to time.

I still don't know a lot about Steemit but I'm looking forward to. & I haven't had time to do this post cuz electricty and internet are not always on around here and lately they agreed to never be on at the same time. hihihi. (I'm glad it was saved as a draft when there were blackout, we've had a few today). I'll talk more in later posts about our way of life around here.

That's me, Wa'el. if I say more, it'll become an autobiography. :p Thanks for taking the time to get to know me. If you're still reading then hopefully you like what you're reading. (if you're not still reading then you scrolled here since you're reading THIS, hahaha) Let me know about you, and direct me to your posts. I'd love to read them & get to know you in return. <3

Looking forward to making the best Steemit experience with the great friends and lots of $$$.

Have a great day. Sending you peace, joy, and love & light. <3

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community the most exciting platform ever @scorpii!

Tips: Don't forget to share this post on your social page, Google+, Twitter and the rest. It help advertise this platform for more newbies. Bless you.

As a splendid reminder, Kindly ensure to keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

Remember to always post your best. Don't copy from written article online. Beware of @cheetah because she is ready to catch you, i.e, plagiarism is seriously frown upon here.

Don't forget to use FAQ to understand steemit.com well and to be familiar with terms used on steemit. Terms like Whales, Dolphins, SBD, STEEM, SP, VP, VW etc. Feel free to contact me on steem chat. Thank you.

If you are a religion post writer too, you can get more exposure from this discord channel.

To mingle with great Africans. Join the movement on discord now.

I remain @stevenmosoes and ready to see you at the top if you are ready to go to the top.

@stevenmosoes

Thanks for your great tips, my friend.

What an outstanding introduction Wa'el! I'm totally impressed, you have the hang of this no problem by the looks of it. I hope Steemit can help you reach all of your goals, I'm so glad you are here, you are far ahead of the crowd my friend!!

Thank you so much, my dear Lyndsay. I wouldn't b here if not for you. I hope so, too, esp now that we're facing harder times. I'm happy to be here, too. ^_^
Much love, @lyndsaybowes.

I haven't done my introduction yet. I don't think it'll be anywhere and as good as this one. Well done Wa'el. I followed you here

You're gonna knock it outta the park Robert! <3 I really look forward to reading all about you!! xoxo

Welcome to Steemit! Thank you so much for sharing your story. Looking forward to being connected with a fellow lover of peace. Onward and upward!

noʎ ʞuɐɥ⊥ ^_^ Much love and peace. ♥☻

Welcome to Steem! I'm so sorry for the crisis in your country. I hate war. Of course, my country is the ultimate warmonger (hi, I'm American). The government doesn't even bother to vote on it anymore, they just do whatever they want no matter what the people want. You must be very strong to keep a positive attitude even with all that happening! That's amazing.
We have a lot of similar interests, I think. I love board games and puzzles and card games and all that, and literature, and all sorts of music! I love the Darth Vader picture, haha.
Your photos of the city are beautiful. I hope it is still like that! We only see destruction on the news. I love old cities. I hope to travel someday too, but $$$. American cities are all new and for the most part, built for cars, not people. I don't drive, so I think it's terrible, lol.

Hey my friend. I was brought up to understand that whatever your government does doesn't have anything to do with the people. So I love the Americans as any other people in the world. (other people were raised to hate you cuz of your government or whichever difference they focus on, but not in my house!)
Believe me, the positive attitude is only thing that can save you in war, and it did save my family's life, too. I'll talk about that later.
If a lot in common we have, friends we will be I'm sure. ^_^
Yeah, hopefully the old city is still intact. Lots of mortar shells fall there but not a lot of destruction. I'll share a lot of photos cuz I just love that part of the city. Modern way of life is destructive to humans. I love being advanced but I hope we'd do it in a better more careful way with a lot of simplicity instead of all this.
I really hope Syria was safe and available, I'd bring all my friends from around the world to see it & really enjoy.

Hi Wa'el!!! Welcome to steemit!! It's is WONDERFULLLL (i am shouting😊) to have you here!!

You sound like a really loveable awesome guy! I will look forward to learning more about the realities of your life in Demascus🙏

Peace, love, joy and abundance to you and yours as well as to the land that you call home. Jill

THANK YOU shouting louder hihihi. I'm already liking it a lot.

Nice to meet you. Peace and Love. <3

Welcome friend. I'm following you and resteeming your intro. Great Intro indeed. I'm a bit shy so i messed up mine. who knows maybe i'll redo it again sometime. I sympathise with your situation brother. I also interpret for the refugees in the UK .

Waiting for the day when peace returns to all of the levant

Peace from your brother Al.

Thanks a lot for all your good thoughts.

We're all waiting.

Peace and Love. <3

This is the best introduction post I read on steemit 😁 This was so good and detailed and you are a really interesting guy. You are also a really kind and caring guy and seem down to earth. MY favourite music is rap too and im glad you like it. Hopefully steemit will bring you lots of love and money so you can travel 👍 I also really like to travel but also cant. I have been saving money to go play football in London and still am working on it. May all your wishes come true @scorpii and enjoy the process🤙 I have followed you and upvoted because this is a quality post and I know you are going to have much more interesting posts.

noʎ ʞuɐɥ⊥ @joordanzzz. Hopefully we'll do all what we wish for & we're sure gonna enjoy the process.
Thanks for your nice words and upvoting.

welcome to steemit :)

Warm welcome to Steemit

Thanks a lot. ☻♥☻

Nice intro Wa'el! Looking forward to reading more.

noʎ ʞuɐɥ⊥. <3 For sure, there will be more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22