Introduce yourself: ex-athlete, sociologist and fire officer

Hi everybody. My name is Lars and I'm a very tall Dutch guy (what's new). When I was young I dreamt about becoming Olympic Champion in ice skating. Some years later it seemed like I had some talent by becoming European Champion inline skating, but take my level that final step higher I just missed something (bad timing with injuries or not enough will to keep training twice a day for the upcoming years). I decided to do some studying and partying (or partying and studying). I got my bsc. in Sociology some years ago, but most jobs were in the researchworld. I just didn't feel right about doing loads of research nobody gives a f* ck about (bounded rationality still states that the majority of people give way to many f*cks about money and power, not improving the lives of the population). Again I made a big switch in my life: I decided to become a Fire Officer. The last 1,5 year I devoted my time to become an allround fire officer. A big lifeswitch, but one I am very happy about. I just had my first incidents and the feeling I get from people who are very thankful that first responders and the fire brigade are taking big risks to help them, makes my heart warm10151165673854182.jpg

But what the f*ck am I doing on steemit? Well, I have no clue. I swore Facebook and Instagram off, because I kinda got the chills from being on something which is very mainstream and for the biggest part based upon 'happy-pictures' and photoshopped moments. Instead I want to check if steemit is what I think what it is, namely a medium on which I can write some interesting stories and read some interesting stories with a little money incentive. Sounds good enough to try!

So what do I want to read and what do I want to write about? Well, I came on this medium because of my triggered interest in the cryptocommunity and it's impact on society. I watched an episode in the tv-show Black Mirror about some sort of cryptomoney which was generated on bicycles (S01e02: Fifteen Million Merits), and from then I knew cryptomoney probably is going more and more mainstream in the future. Questions as: "Will there be an world crisis due to the impact of crypto's?" "What coins will survive?" and "Are we as human beings going to be as individualized as the episode of Black Mirror shows?" are some of the questions floating around my head.


Paying for you toothpaste with cryptomoney...

Let me know if you want me to write on some specific subjects which are within my knowledge/experience area!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @scheenbeen!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Let me know if I can help.
Many blessings! @bycoleman

Loading...

@Mountainwashere's Guide for New Users:

Welcome to Steemit! It's got a steep learning curve, but it's worth it in the long run if you keep putting in the time! Just know that it will take quite a while before you start getting attention and followers. The biggest secret to success? Keep posting high quality content regularly, and make sure to search out other people's posts, read them, and give relevant comments.

Tagging is extremely important. Always make sure to use all five possible tags, and to keep them relevant. You can always just tag something "blog" or "photography" or something else really general (so long as it's still relevant) to fill the quota if you need to- most of your tags should be established ones, though one or two less used ones are fine.

Posting more than four times a day can reduce your potential rewards, as well as turning off potential users. (I aim for one post per day most of the time.) Consistency is important, though, so you should try to post often.

Always make sure to attach a photo to your posts! You should also have a finished profile: Write a description, add a profile picture and a banner- neither needs to be a photo of you, necessarily, but you should have something- and set a website.

There are a lot of really good resources out there for plankton and minnows (new users). You should check out the following groups and services, they offer a lot of valuable resources:

@thesteemengine (Check this one out first- they're an extremely supportive group that can help out in a lot of ways.)
@qurator (These guys offer an excellent liftime upvote to accounts that post consistent quality content.)
@steembasicincome (Another lifetime upvote option.)
@steemstem (The biggest and best STEM curation group in the game. If you're interested in writing or reading about science, check these guys out!)
@geopolis (A fairly new science curation group, this one's dedicated to the study of the Earth.)
@ocd (A curation group that seeks out undervalued new writers.)

Much of the activity on steemit actually takes place off Steemit, on places like steemit.chat and discord. Learning to use them is a great idea.

And, again, the biggest thing is just patience. Breakout successes are incredibly rare on Steemit- you've got to find your way to success through perseverance and hard work. It takes time, but you'll eventually succeed if you put in the work.

Please feel free to repost this guide on the posts of other plankton & minnows you run into (though I'd appreciate it if you credit me.) If it was useful to you, feel free to check out my posts and give me a follow!

Thank you for the information.

Hi Lars,
Great name just like my oldest son.
Just write about what interests you. Only a genuine post can be a good post.
Veel plezier op Steemit. Probeer in het begin vooral te leren. Zeker comments zijn zeer belangrijk om te groeien binnen de steemit community.
Gr,
Peter

Bedankt Peter, ik ben benieuwd of het een leuk medium blijkt.

Glad you joined us, Lars! How did you come up with the idea to become a Fire Officer? You seem an interesting personality :) Best of luck!

I am into healthy lifestyle, mind, motivation and more in case you would like to visit my channel :) VALUE guaranteed

Being relatively high educated and not willing to sit behind a desk for 9 hours a day made me look at the job of a fire officer. I will check your account out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59204.66
ETH 2526.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52