Hi! I'm @sassylori, and here's Why I Joined Steemit and Why I Plan to Stay

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hello SteemIt!

I'm @sassylori, and perhaps like most of the new members here, I was brought here by the fuss about cryptocurrency and the (seemingly too good to be true) reward system that Steemit offers.


Source Pixabay

Rewards are enticing but I know I need a far greater reason than that for me to be able to take part in this community for the long haul.

Just another ordinary social network?

I was thinking maybe Steemit would just be another social network that I would get tired of using over a period of time. I have accounts in Instagram, Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest but I rarely use most of them now. I still log into my Facebook account to connect with family and friends and though I feel sick of scrolling through newsfeed posts that are mostly insignificant to me, I still keep on doing so..just force of habit, I guess.

Anyhow, I signed up and my account was approved a few days ago, but waited til now to create an introductory post. For days, I was just lurking around the site reading a few articles hoping to get a good idea of how to get started and make use of the Steemit platform, and I came up with the following:

  1. Contribute. I've read that contributing to open source projects is one of the best ways to get started on Steemit. I am looking forward to providing translation works and original graphic design in the coming days!

  2. Start writing. I have always loved reading and thinking of new ideas, but often too scared to write. I decided I'll just keep my identity private while doing my best to create good content. I will also keep in mind to curate good quality posts and support other Steemians.

  3. Act.I can find motivation from the Steemit community to act on the change I want to see in the world and to take every day as a learning adventure, a chance to better myself little by little.

So yeah, Steemit is like a breath of fresh air!

Source Pixabay

I also searched for other members who share some of my interests like zero waste living, entrepreneurship, arts and design, diy crafts, etc. and luckily found a few good ones to follow. This is just the start of an awesome Steemit journey and I wish to learn more from other Steemians. I hope you guys can recommend other members (or yourselves) who create good content, as well.

Yes, the Steem rewards system is what brought me here but finding a platform that I could use to channel my deeper thoughts and interests, is what eventually convinced me to jump in and join the Steemit community. As the Steemit slogan goes, "Come for the rewards. Stay for the community."


Source Pixabay

Happy Steeming!

please follow @sassylori

Sort:  

Welcome - some DIY videos are definitely missing on @dtube!

Cool! Another way of contributing to the community. Will surely look into that.

You just started your 2018 right by joining steemit. =)
Welcome and happy steeming, already upvoted this post!

Thank you so much @purepinay!

Hello , welcome to Steem ! I look forward to your content , follow me and i hope you browse my posts and upvote them! Let's keep the original content flowing!

Thank you @gonza.freytes! Definitely following you. Cheers!

Welcome to the Steem World!
I have recently made an orientation video that will help you in your journey here - and will hopefully answer all the questions that took me months to figure out.


https://steemit.com/dtube/@maneki-neko/tuswb0ao
I wish you all the best here on Steem!

Thank you so much for sharing!

Hello @sassylori! Nice to meet you! I'm @modern-me. I feel like you studied hard about these currency system. What a great thing! Let's follow and Voting each other to keep in touch!
Oh hey! And I also uploaded my introducing post. Read it when you have time!

Oh, not really! This cryptocurrency thing is still new to me, i still have much to learn. Thanks for the greetings.

Welcome! Glad you made your way here! Looking forward to some DIY posts—I’m a crafter, too!

Great! I'm a follower now. Thanks @jessicakluthe!

Congratulations @sassylori, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71