Steemit and Commitment to Eternal Existence

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Steemit provides us with a platform in which our voices can be heard- a place where our words will remain for an eternity in this earthen realm. That is, if the internet doesn’t seize to exist for whatever reason. But up until then, the blockchain is an anomaly that has become an allegory for everlasting life once we flatline. This extraordinary technology has proven itself worthy of bringing about the next industrial revolution. While I am sitting on the edge of my seat to see what happens next, I am also a little freaked out. Permanence keeps me from fully expressing myself here, and it is a major restraint on my inhibitions. I am not sure if others share this perspective. Perhaps it is just me, or this is a topic less discussed and more often swept under the rug.

I am having this internal conflict as to whether or not I should reveal my face here, or whether I should continue to remain under an alias. Does it really matter? I honestly don't know.
FullSizeRender.jpg

Like many humans, I have a problem with commitment. That’s why I don’t have tattoos, and probably never will. I am very square.

images.duckduckgo.png

My Problem with Social Media
I am not a fan of social media. Self-promotion leaves a bad taste in my mouth, and I am embarrassed at the mere fact that I have taken photos of myself. This embarrassment likely stems from my upbringing; it had been drilled into my head that self idolization is unacceptable behavior, and certain acts typical of social media posts fall under this category. Steemit does not require nor promote this sort of behavior, which is why it is a fantastically novel platform. However, I do fear for what may happen to the content here the day when the majority takes over… if that day comes.

Commitment. My commitment to media is piteous, so much so that I generally don’t allow snapchats to ride out their full 24 hour duration. And that’s for snapchat, a platform that prides itself on its temporary existence. My Facebook is deactivated, and has been for several years. I don’t use that shit simply because I value privacy. It freaks me out that my acquaintances have the opportunity to go through my teenage history and gawk at my awkward stages. My awkward stages are never ending, I am not afraid to admit that, and I believe I have valid reasoning to avoid associating my face with some of the things I have to say.

If there were a “delete” button on Steemit (nonetheless an “edit” button that lasted more than five days), my aptitude for writing posts would change dramatically. Being that there isn’t either of those things, Steemit has certainly helped me face commitment in its rawest form towards the content I create.

Steemit is a new place where I can share my thoughts and ideas without any identity attached, y’all don’t know me. Y’all don’t have to know me. And that’s pretty cool.

Screen Shot 2018-07-15 at 7.26.08 PM.png

Sort:  


Welcome to Steem @samoasilk.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

You are not square, you are cubit.. find your cube-like perimeter and be the sphere with-in.

It does not really matter if you reveal your face here or not. We know that there is a real and beautiful person behind those words you have jotted down.

WElcome to Steemit. I, myself, am new here. Let's be friends!

Welcome to the community!

Hi, hiyo. I am not confident that you read my post. I guess I shouldn't have posted this with the first tag introduceyourself but it seemed relevant to the topic :/

my b

You are lovely and Facebook is dying.

Facebook is absolutely dead. I'm not about it. But, where will those people migrate to once it's completely outdated? Here, perhaps.

I'm on Facebook telling people to come to Steemit, Minds, Gab, Bitchute.

Check out SteemVerify.com if you don't want your face to be revealed!


Welcome to Steem @samoasilk.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!


Welcome to Steem @samoasilk.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchain works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60935.93
ETH 2645.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56