Hello My Name is Sam... And I am a workaholic.

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

My wife told me the other day that she thinks that I am a workaholic.

Confession: I am a workaholic.

My wife told me the other day that she thinks that I am a workaholic. This is because I work a job for 11 hours (1 hour commute both ways, 8 hours work, 1 hour lunch (usually a working lunch) comes to about 11 hours. AND I also do side projects for other people... really just busywork - just because someone has a truck they get asked to do a lot of truck related jobs ... I have this problem with my profession.

In relation to my salary.... this is not the way I want to live. I don't want my life to be dependent on my paycheck. I am absolutely addicted to trading my time for money at my job.

Recently, I'm inspired. I'm inspired by Robert Kawasaki, Pat Flynn, and most recently Satoshi Nakamoto, the founder of bitcoin.

I'm inspired by Robert Kawasaki because his book Cashflow Quadrant helped me realize that I am operating purely from the E Quadrant. Basically the E Quadrant is the Employee Quadrant meaning that my income comes from "Employee" income. Let me back up - there are four quadrants in the Cashflow Quadrant concept. (1) Employee income, (2) Self-Employeed income, (3) Business Owner income, and (4) Investor income.

Employee: Work for someone else. Trade time for money. Live paycheck to paycheck. Aims for job security.
Self-employed: Work for yourself. Trade time for money. Live check to check. Aims for more work.
Business Owner: Other people, technology, systems, work for you. Trades time for building money machines (passive income). Lives off of asset income. Aims to build more assets that generate more income.
Investor: Money works for you. Trades money for more money. Lives off of investment income. Aims to make low risk, high return investments.

Robert Kawasaki says that it should be our goal to move from E and S Quadrants into the B and I Quadrants that way we can break free from the Rat Race or in my case the workaholism.

A few days ago, I drew a picture on my whiteboard based on Robert Kawasaki's philosophy of what a wealthy person's balance sheet should look like. Assets, Liabilities, Expenses, Income, etc.... The more I study this picture the more I see that the "Job" is pointing directly to the Assets because the Job should be increasing the Assets. Meaning the Job Robert is referring to is a smart job that is operating from the right side of the Cashflow Quadrant: Business or Investing. The Job is not an Employee Job. It's a Business Owner Job or an Investor Job.

I want this. I want my job to be building a business. I want passive income. I want to think and live the way that the rich think and live. Thanks Robert Kawasaki for giving me a revelation.

I'm inspired by Pat Flynn, I found his podcast a few months ago and have been chewing through this podcast nearly everyday and I'm amazed at how someone can get laid off and then work for himself and earn a six figure income working for himself. I learn a ton from him and am so grateful that I get to learn so much. The practical knowledge I learn from him is incredible. I have been trying to put some of it into practice, but I fall short so much of the time. Really I don't have a lot of time to implement much of anything. But I know I want to. I'm pressed between work, marriage (my wife is addicted to me as much as I'm addicted to salary), and side projects (many of which are free jobs for other people doing stuff that I do at work). Anyway, Pat Flynn inspires me and he'll continue to inspire me since I'm a regular listener to his podcast. Thanks Pat Flynn for being awesome and sharing your thoughts with me.

I'm inspired by Satoshi Nakamoto because of his privacy. Though he's been found out to be the founder of Bitcoin and has tried to hide it, I'm inspired by him for keeping his identity secret for so long. I have dreamed of the thought of creating something anonymous for some time now. It's really like an alter-ego type of thing for me since I am so transparent with everything. It gets me in trouble a lot. Like strangers start checking up on me... "Oh hey random guy down the street from his work, how's the wife doing?" It's embarrassing when a complete stranger asks me how my relationship with my wife is doing because I blabbed too much a few months back. Uk. It's even worse when it's a casual acquaintance and then my wife finds out that I said too much about her to someone. Anyway. I want to be anonymous here. Thanks Mr. Nakamoto for modeling what it is like to work on a secret project that is bigger than yourself and go so long without getting found out.

This account starting with Day 1 is my journey to Financial Freedom. What Financial Freedom means to me is having my passive income surpass my living expenses. I will do my best to write every single day about the things that I'm doing to get there. Here is why...

I am a workaholic that wants to break free from the chains of modern day slave labor. I'm addicted to my day job. I'm addicted to salary income. I'm addicted. I want to break free from the 9 to 5 job (or in my case from the 7-6 job). This post here on Steemit is my first step toward that journey. Even though I don't have tons of time to pour into an everyday account, I will do it as if my financial future depended on it. In some ways it does. I have a plan to escape from this prison of cubical drudge. Thanks for reading :)

Sort:  

I work over 50 hours per week and am heavily leveraging the Business Owner / Investment quadrants. I have news for you, leaving a day-job will only make you more of a work-a-holic until you acquire enough assets that you do not have to worry about income for the rest of your life.

I have news for you, that will likely mean having 10+ million dollars worth of income producing assets. The idea is to work hard now so you can get the maximum impact from the effect of compounding.

Thanks for the response! That is encouraging! $10m in income producing assets seems unreal. I guess we all start somewhere though. How did you get your start with your first successful business? What worked?

Welcome!

A couple of points:

  • Steem and all other blockchain projects are still experiments. Consider carefully how much you will rely on them. They are very risky.
  • You can also buy steem and convert it to Steem Power (writing and voting are not the only ways to acquire SP). If Steem becomes successful and gets a lot of users, value will skyrocket and your Steem Power will be also more valuable. But liquidity of SP is limited (you can withdraw it only a little bit at a time), so it has to be treated as a long term investment.

These are great points to consider. I'm still having a hard time understanding all of it. Personally, I'm not relying on the "investment" of Steem. This just seems like a great place to post my thoughts around my journey toward financial freedom.

Wang you fooled me, I thought you actually know the guy lol

Thanks Wang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66426.55
ETH 3459.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62