Sam here - Figuring Out How To Live Life On My Own Terms

I've waited too long to post here, but it's never too late to start.

laptop-1.jpg

Hey Steemians

I’m new here, kind of. I’ve been lurking since 2016. Recently I noticed @louisthomas talking about Steem again then noticed a bunch of other Youtubers I follow also jumping on here (@thelifeofjord, @jacoblaukaitis, @brianturner) 👋 so thought I would join the party and get involved.

My Crypto Story

Like many others, I heard about bitcoin in 2012, but ultimately did nothing with it until late 2013/early 2014. On the previous hype train I made the desktop version of bitcoinstats app (site/app now dead :( - way back machine) I also hosted a number of episodes of the bitcoinstats show on youtube ( it’s a little cringy to watch now). In general, had much laughs with dogecoin. Super exciting to see bitcoin gain so much attention over the past few months.

I’m interested in how blockchain technology can bring a new wave of change to society through transparency and immutability of information. DApps are a pretty exciting space, it’s going to be interesting to see if the centralised/controlled apps make it through this next phase.

Adventure Time

After leaving my job in London I set out with my camera to travel. I started uploading to youtube last year. I’m by no means a big Youtuber (my recent videos get only a few hundred views) but I think the platform is amazing for its ability to create communities around almost any idea or interest. I can't imagine youtube going anywhere anytime soon but totally understand why many creators aren't happy, hopefully ideas in Steemit and d-tube can help create a more fair landscape for creators.

This is my latest [2:30min] creation from a bike trip in San Francisco - any other cycle touring fans here?

My most viewed video from Bali is nearly at 30,000 which I find incredible. I know people get caught up in big numbers but personally, I think the thought of 30,000 people watching something I made, simply mind-blowing.

I save my money and try to travel as much as possible - last year 6 months, this year 3 months (+10 weeks in different cities in the UK). I have all sorts of ideas for next year, but for now i’m focussed on saving $$ and working on new projects from home.

Background

I’m from the UK, grew up and studied here before getting a tech job in London. First working as a full-stack developer after that, teaching web development at a training company, I then left London to do my own thing.


I now work all over the U.K.to deliver a program with the Princes Trust helping young people get started with technology and app development. Learning to code has given me so much freedom and opportunity, If you want to get started coding but your not sure how just let me know and i'll help. I also do freelance web development to help save for travel and camera gear :)

Photography

This past year I’ve been getting more into photography and am really enjoying it, slowly building up my Instagram. Especially enjoying trying not to crash the drone. I’m fascinated by the ability to freeze moments in time with a camera.
hk-3.jpg

Are there any other photographers here on Steemit I should follow?

If you’re into tech/coding/photo/video/ let’s chat or if you like exploring the planet lets go on an adventure ✌️

Sort:  

Oh wow incredible videos!! What an amazing editing.

I would like to invite you to my community where we provide quality author the attention they deserve:

Please join Discord: https://discord.gg/J5Ax9uf

I may be busy this week but feel free to leave me a message.

Hey FutureThinker, glad you like the videos! I appreciate your support of my posts 🎉

I will stop by and say hello to your community. Thanks

I am looking forward to it :)

Are you using the same name for your discord?

Wow what a Intro post, welcome to Steemit even though that is a bit weird coming from a newbie like me to someone who joined back in 2016 but welcome all the same, I look forward to following your adventures. Merry Christmas!

Thanks for the welcome, it's a little weird that Steemit incentivised people to chat/comment but I am interested to see how it plays out as an alternative to traditional social media platforms. With all of these things even if they don't work out I'd much rather be a practitioner and figure out myself rather than watch from the sidelines so just here on steemit to see how everything works and another place to share stories and meet other people. Just about to try posting on steepshot too :). Happy Christmas :)

Welcome to Steemit! Your introduction sounds amazing so I gave you a follow! Looking forward to your content :)

Hey thanks Emily. Steemit looks like a great place to actually have interaction, I have my regular blog on my website too but you know, it's difficult to get people over there so looking forward to posting more on here. :)

A really promising introduction post and I'm definitely following you looking forward to your future stories! Welcome & good luck ☃️

Thanks for the welcome, looking forward to posting more on here and d-tube and seeing how it goes verses my own website/insta/youtube

Great post. Try using dtube instead of youtube. You will steem and soon other coins.

Thanks for the warm welcome and push towards d-tube. I'm going to do another post over there too and see if I can figure out how it all works. It looks super promising as a platform.

Your very welcome. Yes it is a great platform we also have steepshot and zapple. There are so many things they are coming up with for us. I will keep an eye out for further posts from you. : )

nice steepshot like Instagram and zapple like Twitter! Very interesting to see these platforms take place. Thanks for letting me know about these two.

Welcome to Steemit! You will do well here! Lets Upvote and Follow each other! I post about envorinment!
Regards,
@leranion

thanks for checking out my post Leranion!

Cool pics and video. What kind of drone are you using to get those high shots?

Hey Givon! Glad you enjoyed the video. It's the DJI Mavic Pro, It's such a great piece of kit for the size/weight especially on a bike trip where space is limited. It has an auto track/follow mode that I used to get it following me while I cycled.

You got a 4.14% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @sambillingham!

You got a 14.97% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @sambillingham!

This wonderful post has received a @sambillingham 8.32% upvote from @hellowhale. Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/XG4y3mg Be sure to vote for witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65178.97
ETH 3261.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68