Introducing myself — high school senior student from Venezuela. Excited to be here!

1522556884181.jpeg

Hello there!

My name is Salma. I just recently joined steemit, after a teacher recommended me to join the community. After lurking for a while, I decided it was very worth a shot!

To post this on introduceyourself without actually introducing myself would be a waste, so here it is. Enjoy

As I said, my name is Salma (If someone wants to make some Salma Hayek joke, I understand it, I have been hearing them my whole life). I am 16 years old, soon to be 17, and I am a senior student. I only have three months left of school and that kinds of makes me nervous! I want to study medicine, but my options are still open for as long as I have time left to think.

I am from Venezuela, currently living here. If you haven't been fed biased news and propaganda, most probably you know that we venezuelans are currently having the worst economic and humanitarian crisis in basically, our whole history. Sadly, every day is a battle, because of the food and meds shortake, rampant crime and decaying services. It's kind of depressing to know that nobody has a real future as long as we stay in this decaying country, but I try to stay optimistic. As I told my mom recently, one has to have a positive outlook on life no matter how hard are the circumstances, otherwise you'll miss out whatever happiness you can have! My personal philosphy is to appreciate all joy and happiness you can have, be it little or a lot.

Since Venezuela's ongoing crisis is such a big thing on my life and I read so much on the subject, plus obviously my day-to-day experiences, I am planning on writing about it here. I've found that foreign people usually have either misconceptions on what's happening here or a very short insight, so I would love to educate people on it.

One of my biggest interests is reading — Both books and manga. I've been reading books since I am five or six (I learnt to read at three, something that most people have a hard time believing!) but recently I have enjoyed them more than when I was a child. My all time favorite book is The Ringmaster's Daughter by Jostein Gaarder, followed by No Longer Human, by Osamu Dazai, and recently, the A Song of Ice and Fire series. About manga, my hands down favorite is Dokuhime. I am not too sure, but I think that maybe I'll also write about the books I have read. Not sure though!

Recently I have been taking an interest in photography, even taking some pictures myself that kind of make me proud (humble braging here!). I got kind of excited about it so I am working on taking better pictures.

VERY important, meet Manchitas!

IMG_7592.JPG

Her name means little dots ( bet you don't know why I named her like that) and she is VERY photogenic! She loves/hates the camera but she always looks pretty on it. She is also a meme queen (long story) and maybe some of her memes will make their debut here.

Isn't she cute?

IMG_7591.JPG

IMG_7594.JPG

In short, I am happy and excited to be here. I know the start will be slow and I am still figuring out many things, but practice made the master as they say. I am wishing to read other people's posts, too, and whatever this community has to offer.

Again, thanks to the moderators to confirm my account so quickly! And have a good day or good night.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit world. Well taken pictures and looks nice. Hope your successful journey in Steemit. Upvoted your introduction post.

Es bueno ver como día a día crece nuestra comunidad, Saludos desde Venezuela.

Gracias, igual saludos!

Dogs can count up to five and can perform simple mathematical calculations.

I know, sometimes Manchitas plays dumb to get whatever she wants still!

Hi Salma, thank you for your introduction. I am following you.
Please follow me @btc2me

Hi @salma! It's so nice to have you here in the community. I wish that you discover a lot of possibilities. Your dog, Manchitas, is so cute!😍 Welcome and enjoy your steemit journey!😉

Hello, Salma, and Welcome to Steemit.

Best of luck during your final 3 months of school. I hope you can find time for both your studies and your new "career" on Steemit.

As an English teacher / writer, I must say, your written English is excellent. And since Steemit is essentially a blogging / publishing site, that means that you will most likely do very well on this platform.

Among other subjects, it would be very interesting to read any posts you make on the current situation in Venezuela. You're right, most of the news we get is filtered through various "propaganda machines," so there's very little news that we can trust at face value. It would be great to read some on-the-ground reporting from a citizen who is living thru it.


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.

  1. Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
  2. Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
  3. Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
  4. Be yourself.
  5. Be interesting and informative.
  6. Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
  7. Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

¡Bienvenida!

Este post ha sido seleccionado para nuestro reporte y promoción ante toda la comunidad de steemit, puedes verlo acá -> Post Votados - Proyecto @curacion

Recomendamos usar la etiqueta "curacion" en tus post.

Hi @salma-01, welcome to Steemit. Thanks for your detailed self-intro. I am here to support a newcomer with a little upvote. Hope you will enjoy your time here! I recently added a new post with some tips for new comers like you. Do give it a read and I hope it will benefit you.

Welcome @salma-01. I have been to Central and South America before, I enjoyed the people and the culture.
Hard times for Venezuela these days, but I hope things get better soon. Good luck for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78