Hi! I'm new.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone I'm @s3gur0. This site piqued my interest when someone in a discord channel was talking about this place. Writing is my passion but I still have a lot to learn. I hope that I can grow here as a writer and maybe find some kindred spirits! A little info. about me, I love dogs because they are the only animals who will love you unconditionally and I like to hike cause I love observing nature.

Here are some of the place that I've hike.

Wiliwilinui trail, Oahu, Hawai’i

Mt. Diablo California

Yosemite Falls, California

As for dogs, my sister's previous dog recently died to a hit and run. It was a painful moment for me because I was very attached and bonded with the dog. Her name is Ten and It happened March 2nd 2018.

It was a rainy friday and It was my day off from work. I woke up looking for her and when I couldn't find her, I began to worry. So looked outside to search for her. That was when my father who was visiting, told me that a car had hit her.

After hearing what my father had said, I frantically literally ran out to the street barefoot in the rain to where she was. When I arrived to where she was laying down, Ten was still alive. The moment she saw me, she began whimpering. I watch as she attempted to crawl to me using her front legs so she could lick my face like she would do whenever she would see me. But this time she wasn't able to do it. The moment that I noticed that she couldn't get up or wag her tail when she saw me, I began to fear for the worst. The reason for my fear is because I use to be a veterinary student and I've seen similar situations before. But during that time, I didn't want to jump to conclusions so I knelled down on the wet asphalt to assess her injuries.

While I used my hand to feel her body in order to asses her injuries, she began to lick me and at the same time I began to cry. At that moment I realized that several of her ribs were broken and there was a possibility that she had a spine injury. Immediately we gently put her in the car so that we could take her to the vet.

On the way to the vet, I kissed her on the cheek and told her; "Everything is going to be alright baby girl."

When we arrived at the vet, the doctor did the same procedures that I did and gave her some sedatives for her pain. A few minutes later, he gave us our options. He told us the things that I already knew but afterwards he told us about the transactions fee. Taking her to the vet and assessing her injuries had already cost us a hefty fee. Mind you I am not wealthy, I actually dropped out of Veterinary school because of financial problems. The doctor told us that the procedure to repair the spinal injuries would cost over $10,000. Hearing the price saddened me and at the same time made me furious. But my sister talked me into making one of the hardest decision that I have ever made. Since I am literally already in debt and I was already at the brink of bankruptcy, I couldn't afford adding more to my debt. My sister made the decision since it was her dog and I couldn't do anything.

I still miss her but life goes on.

Anyways hopefully I can become better writer by posting here and If you guys have some advice for me in order for me to become a better blogger, I'm all ears.

Sort:  

Welcome to the Steemit Community!

Hello s3gur0! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you'll like the community here. As a start, here are 5 tips that we believe will be helpful to you:

  1. Keep your passwords safe: Unlike conventional sites, Steemit has 4 types of passwords. Each offers varying degrees of access to your account, so know where and when to use each of them. Also, make sure to keep them all safe and secure.
  2. Get Steem rewards: When writing a post, you'll have the option to choose how to receive your reward: "Default 50%/50%" or "Power Up 100%". As of this moment, choosing Default 50%/50% is the better option. But this can change over time. Check our post to know more.
  3. Upvote wisely: When upvoting, wait at least 30 minutes after the post is published to maximize your curation reward. Also, make sure not to upvote too much too fast so as not to drain your voting power.
  4. Know your Steem, Steem Dollars and Steem Power: Steem and Steem Dollars are the 2 main currencies here. Convert and power up more Steem into Steem Power so you can have higher values on your upvotes.
  5. Have Fun and Enjoy!

For a detailed writeup, check our post Getting Started: 5 Essential Tips for New Users.

Good luck on your Steem journey! Follow us if you like to receive more helpful tips and maximize your Steemit experience.

Welcome to steemit

Hi @s3gur0! Welcome, and I hope that you will enjoy steemit!!

Welcome to Steemit! Have fun.

Great photos and welcome. With such great photos you will do well here. 100% tell us if there are you photos as you get more street cred from the community.

I try to upvote new users every week. I am following now and feel free to drop a line if you need any help here.

Lol street cred? Yes they are my original photos. BTW can you explain to me about this up vote system, I've been reading and so far it seems people are making a big deal about it.

Yep. No worries. Cool photos.

Original photos are cool as they are something new that you are contributing to the world here. So good to say so. It is totally ok to use other photos too if you credit them.

Basically I can upvote you. I am a nobody with very little SP, but I have enough to upvote your comment here by 0.01 at today's rates. If someone big, here known as a whale comes by they may be able to upvote your post by $1.00 or more.

You can only vote a few times a day as your voting power drops off with time. Maybe 10 or less is a good place to start. Hope this helps?

hello and welcome to steemit. you will love it )

Hello! Thanks still trying to figure things out here. Kinda confusing since i'm still new :p

oh well that's easy just write a post when you confused and steemians will try to help you

Welcome to Steem, @s3gur0!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 3133 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : Steemplus 2.18.

welcome to steemit. good luck and have a great prosperity

Posted using Partiko Android

Welcome to Steemit s3gur0. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45