Hi Steemit! I'm a personal trainer here to bust myths about fitness!

About Me

My name is Ryland Townsend and I love fitness. I am a personal trainer that enjoys educating individuals about the various common misconceptions with losing weight and building muscle. Believe me, there are tons of myths floating around the fitness industry. Supplement companies have skewed the general population's view on getting fit. Such as thinking protein powders and protein shakes have magical properties where it helps them reach their fitness goals faster. 4oz of chicken breast is not any different from a scoop of protein powder (besides the obvious: dairy versus poultry).

My Story

When I first took the path to becoming fit, I was no different from anyone else. I was a 5'9" 110lb 17 year old who was tired of being picked on for being a twig. I wanted a prom date for my senior year's prom and I thought I needed to work on my appearance. So I began. At first I suffered from a ton of anxiety feeling out of place. I felt as if everyone in the gym had their eyes on me. I stuck to machines not wanting to embarrass myself in front of the frequent gym rats. I would always watch the really fit people and imitate their workouts and exercises. To put things straight - I knew nothing.

After 3 months of working out 3-4 times a week, I noticed that I did not look much different. I was discouraged, very discouraged. Instead of giving up, I realized that I must have not been doing something right. I read tons of articles, forum posts, and blogs. I realized that the information was always different depending on the source. I decided to choose to look into bodybuilding because I thought "Hey, I want to build muscle... and these guys are really good at it". I did not want to look like a competitive bodybuilder nor be a bodybuilder, just wanted to learn how to build muscle. Learned a ton about workouts, diet, and rest. I absorbed every word that I read. I was excited to get back into the gym and do all of the things I read about. After a few months of my newfound knowledge I was getting compliments from friends and peers such as "You've been going to the gym?". This fueled me and made me want to work so much harder. Every day I was excited to be in the gym because FOR ONCE in my life, people have said something positive about my body instead of the "skin and bones" that I have been referred to as thousands of times.

After 3 years of going to the gym very regularly (6 times a week) I have built up discipline. I am still motivated to go to the gym, but on days that I don't feel like going -- I still do. Discipline always is better than motivation, there have been weeks and even months where I did not want to go to the gym. I stayed and kept up with it and looking back -- I am so happy I have stayed with it. I am now in progress of getting my Bachelor's Degree in Exercise and Wellness and this would not have been a reality if I ended up quitting during my initial phase of discouragement.

What I want you to know

I want you to be knowledgeable about the false claims and quackery that is in the fitness industry. I don't want you to spend weeks or months seeing little to no results. I want you to reach your goals. A lot of people come to me asking "what supplements can I take to help lose weight". Supplements are always the first thing newcomers think about taking -- and in reality should be the last thing to think about. Proper diet, nutrition, and exercise regimen are the most important when wanting to change the way you look. There is no magic pill; fat burners and other "easy way outs" may seem extremely convenient, but do not work effectively.

Stay tuned for many topics including weight loss, building muscle, and looking the best you can! Would love to answer any questions in the comment section. Was great to meet you guys!

Love to hear from you guys,

Ryland

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

Congratulations @ryland.townsend! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ryland.townsend! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ryland.townsend! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66