You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your unaverage Korean South African

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Welcome to our Steem Community @sangdoze! Thank you for this introductory post and letting us get to know you a little bit.

Dropping in to visit after finding your post featured by @macoolette in her entry into the weekly Pay It Forward Contest. As part of the @pifc community, we would encourage you to check into it.

"Well I'm a Korean born South African in my twenties with a rather interesting past and hopefully a more interesting future.

I immigrated to South Africa when I was a year old and subsequently lived and studied there for 17 years til I graduated High School."

That is certainly a very interesting start to an interesting life so far. I had my own challenges with getting through school, but “hung in there” and have never regretted it. Hope you make it.

All the best to you in your future here on the Steem blockchain!

Sort:  

Thanks for the welcome and the motivational "hang in there" haha

I most definitely will think more thoroughly on the matter :)

Yes, definitely want to think very carefully about it @sangdoze.

There's actually a little bit more to my story. I actually did quit. For about 2 years, working as a laborer in Wyoming, amongst other things ...

In making that decision, I definitely "grew up" through the experience and went back to college to finish what I had started. While we all face the challenges of the difficulty and question the effort, over time and looking back, it makes much more sense as to why it is worth persevering.

An employer certainly is interested in us receiving a good education to increase the value of what we can do to help their enterprise succeed. But, having been a supervisor of other's work since 1984, I can tell you from long experience, there is more to it than that.

It is a question of the character of a person who does not quit, but "hangs in there" through the difficulties and ultimately is successful.

Why is this such a big deal? Life is full of difficulties. We don't want to develop a habit of "laying down" in the face of them, but learning what it takes to overcome adversity. It is not "fun," but there is a quiet satisfaction achieved which then helps you be at peace.

You are then in the process of developing a "do whatever it takes" (as long as it is legal and ethical ... 😉) mentality, which will serve you well over the course of a long career

I'll trust you don't mind a little "extra" from an "old war horse," on the other side of the world (what an amazing time we live in ...) Hope it helps a little.

Have a great day! 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41