My (Reluctant and Rambling) Steemit IntroductionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Hi, I joined Steemit some eighteen days ago, but have been somewhat reluctant to do an 'introduceyourself' post. It's not that I don't want to share with people, but I've never been so comfortable talking about myself, or even having my picture taken. I'm generally a fairly shy person. I did feel like it was important to do an introduction however, and I would imagine there are people setting up bogus accounts in order to try and game the system for as much money as they can, so it seems like a good idea for people to be able to see that others are real, and at least learn a little something about them.

Anyway, I'm (57) years old as of the writing of this post on October 2, 2017. That's probably quite a bit older than the majority of the people on Steemit. You'll see how quickly the time goes when you reach my age, however. ;-)

I'm from Louisville, Kentucky, which is known for 'The Kentucky Derby,' as well as being the birthplace of the amazing man, and Heavyweight Champion Boxer, Muhammad Ali (formerly Cassius Marcellus Clay, Jr.)


Source

Source

My Interests

I absolutely love music, and play guitar a little. I guess it would be more accurate to say that, "I play WITH the guitar." I wasn't exactly blessed with an abundance of talent. My musical tastes vary, although I'm somewhat partial to the music I listened to when I was younger. That was mostly rock, which, of course, is now classic rock. I also like Motown, Pop, Blues Rock, and since this is Kentucky, Country Music, of course. Although much of the newer country, is little more than Pop Music, IMO. If it's good music, it doesn't matter much to me what genre it is.

I've also always been amazed by technology. I was born in (1960), so there was no Internet, CD's, cell. phones, personal computers, or many of the other incredible technologies we have today. One thing I was also impressed with, was Amateur (HAM) Radio. Just knowing that you could send Morse Code or your voice around the world at nearly the speed of light was almost unbelievable for me. I finally got my Amateur Radio License in 1989. However, 1989 was the same year that I first went online, so HAM Radio got sidetracked very quickly. However, I did do Packet Radio for a while.

I own a place in southern Indiana, in the country, and lived there for many years. When I moved there I was on a 'party' telephone line. There were three other homes that I shared a phone line with. I could only be put on a list to wait for a private line to become available, and one finally did a few years later. Why does this matter? When I first got online I had to call a toll-free (800) number with my blistering fast 1200 baud modem, and pay $5 per hour for Internet time. Between the often busy telephone line, and the cost, I could usually get online maybe about 4-5 hours per week. When it came time to upgrade my modem, I saw that they had 28.8 kbps modems available, but I remember thinking, "Who would ever need anything that fast?" I bought a 14.4 kbps modem. haha


Source

There was no Google, Amazon, Wikipedia, no videos or streaming music, or most of what we enjoy on the Internet today, pretty much only static, butt-ugly webpages, and chat rooms. In those days I didn't know anyone else, other than the people that used to hangout on the BBS's (Bulletin Board Services), that even knew what the Internet was, and they had no interest in hearing about it. I've been hooked on the Internet since day one. The whole world is now, obviously, and understandably so.

How I Earn a Living

I started my adult working life doing computer field service. More accurately, it was dedicated word processing equipment manufactured by a now defunct company named Syntrex. I started the job just before IBM released their first 'Personal Computer,' (8088 Processor clocked at 4.77Mhz., and 16-256k of RAM!!) and after that, the world would never be the same. I did that job for about five years, but with the explosive growth, small computer companies came and went, and my employer eventually went out of business. I then did factory work for years, and finally wound up in truck driving. First driving a dump truck for about 8-9 years, and finally driving a semi, which I've most recently been doing. I really wish I would have stayed in the technical field after completing a course in 'Industrial Electronics,' and starting my first computer job.


Source

Hoping Steemit will Be My Savior

I think a lot of people are probably on Steemit to earn money, and possibly nothing else. I believe Steemit is much more. Facebook, for example, is a tremendous platform to connect with people, and it's great for reestablishing contact with those distant friends from years gone by. However, I've always had a bit of a problem watching people like Mark Zuckerberg get wealthy beyond belief off of other peoples's content, and even personal information. Yes, he developed the site, and therefore deserves to profit, even massively, and you're free not to use it, but it seems to be a remnant of the 'Old World.' The one in which the rich get richer, and the poor get poorer, and exploited. Steemit seems to be a better way. Everyone has a vested interest in Steemit, and hopefully cares about the future of the network. I know I do, and I just started eighteen days ago.

Having said all that, I almost need for Steemit to help me financially also. I've only had one article make anything (about $41 total) other than a few pennies so far, but as I mentioned, I just started, I'm patient, and I won't give up!

In Jan. 2016, while in New York doing a drop-n-hook, dropping one trailer to grab another, I got out of my truck and fell in a dark parking lot on black ice. I knew I had messed my shoulder up badly, very badly. I immediately called my dispatcher back in Indiana to report it. I told them I would get the load back, and I did, changing gears with my left arm.

When I got back to Indiana I was immediately sent to the company doctor. He x-rayed my shoulder, said nothing was broken, and told me that it would, "Be Fine," and to, "take a couple of days off." It wasn't fine. I went to my doctor a short time later, she examined me for about (literally) (4) seconds, and told me it was a rotator-cuff injury, and that I needed an MRI to determine the extent of the damage.

I went back to my employer and told them them what was diagnosed. They said for my doctor to fax a letter saying what her diagnosis was, and they would "think about doing something." She did, and they didn't. I was told that I had probably fallen, or injured it a second time, and that they couldn't be responsible. This is after I had assumed it had been turned into my former employer's Worker's Compensation Insurance - it hadn't. Keep in mind that their company doctor also did (does) all of the random drug tests, and DOT Physical Exams for this trucking company. I can't even image how much he makes from this company alone.


Source

It's too late to make this long story short, but I ended up getting my MRI and found out I needed surgery, which I finally had on July 6, 2017. I've now been off of work for nearly (13) weeks, with no compensation, even though this was a workplace injury. Last week I went in to see the surgeon that performed the operation, and he says he believes the surgery repair has failed, and from the very limited motion I now have, and the way it feels, I'm sure he's right. Now I'll need a subsequent operation. In less than two weeks I'll have no health insurance, to match my (nearly) no income.

I was forced to rent my home, which covers my house payment, and cell. phone bill, with about $20 left over, per month. Had it not been for a good friend, I guess I would have been forced to sleep in my 1997 car.


Source

I filed a lawsuit against my former employer, as I had no choice. My attorney said I may get something...eventually. So as much as I appreciate Steemit for not being another censoring and/or demonetizing site like Facebook or YouTube, I do hope it can also be the source of at least some income for me.

I can't take anymore of the "Old World." I'm (57), and always made it through life okay. I was never even close to being wealthy, but I did okay, and I was happy. That's everything to me. They say, "More money, more problems," and I tend to believe it...at least I did until I was flat broke. I'd gladly try the problems that come with wealth about now.

I'm sorry to turn this into a 'Poor Me' post, but it's hard not to worry in my situation. Thanks to any readers that may have made it to the end. lol


Source

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit and thanks for sharing with me. I hope the health improves and Facbook overall looks to have committed suicide. And those days of phone modems.... I used to do Usenet on a Vax 11/75 4.2BSD on a home modem and VT100 TTY @ 300 baud.

Thank you, and 'Vax,' so you've been around a while too. lol

Welcome, and yes. I also did work on PDP-11s doing data acquisition and reporting etc. Did a lot of work intially in various assembly languages on mIcros and minis.

Cool. I always had an interest in programming, but never really did so well with it. I guess it's like anything though, some people pick it up easier than others. Gotta nephew that graduated a scientific school here, and that guy can spit out code faster than I could write a letter. Now if you need some very basic HTML, I'm your guy. lol

HTML is one thing, most of it comes down to logic, and knowing things about architecture, and syntax. HTML and the web is imperfect and needs some help, the foundations are bad. I learned to code in assembler and then worked in C and Fortran. Some of this is by repetition and I likely am faster than most programmers, I can type fast. And my visualization is fast since I can abstract and then code things quickly. It gets harder since I do kernel code and drivers and do things which are not monolithic, as in they need to preempt and be concurrent with other threads of execution. You need to know the paradigms and the traps. I am self taught mostly.

I've been thinking about giving programming another shot, maybe Python. Got some free time on my hands.

C is easy enough to learn and you can use GCC even on a Windows PC under Cygwin. I avoid OOP since it does not work. No secure or reliable systems will run OOP, so C++ is out. But these people think they can do this anyway. It fails.

HTML is fun and I enjoyed doing my website, just wished it was a happier set of topics.... but....

Keep them coming! You are a new member so I am very glad to see that you're actively posting. Here's your upvote and keep up the good work!
I know how hard it is as a fresh account so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have more info on my experience with the system in this post where I explain how I earn over $1 a day from upvotes.

Thanks so much for your comment, and I'll checkout your post. Here'e my upvote, and you have a new follower.

@rip-youtube - Welcome to Steemit!

I'm about a year younger. Totally agree with you about FB and other centralized institutions. They are in for a rude awakening:

Sorry about your health.

Thanks for being part of the solution to web centralization. The more who leave FB, Twitter, Google, etc, behind for decentralized blockchain social media platforms like Steemit, the sooner we empower ourselves.

@zoidsoft

Thank you, and thanks for the video. I'm watching now. Following you also.

That video though.. 1970 was clearly the year it all changed. It's a scary truth. Then again, what can you do? Just make the best of it :)

Bitcoin and the other altcoins including Steem will play a large role in decentralizing power away from corruption. It's starting to cause major problems for authority and it's only going to get worse for them. Equifax is just a peek into the future of what will happen if they continue down the path toward panopticon. Eventually authority will be forced to relinquish control because they can't control this technology. They can try regulating it by threatening people within their borders, but governments will be hopping stones for those who know no borders.

hello .just followed u plz follow me on my steemit

Will do. Thanks.

@mrainp420 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you. You've got a new follower.

Welcome to Steemit! Hopefully things will take a turn for the better.

I remember paying by the hour for Internet access. :)

Thank you. I've generally got a good outlook. I don't plan on just giving up. ;-)

Hi, @Rip-youtube, Let me welcome you to Steemit. Hope you gonna have fun with our community. Feel free to follow me @rightuppercorner Have a great time @rightuppercorner

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79