Introduction - Hello World

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello all, I'm Ren.

I'm a 22 year old American game dev that really wants to quit his day job. I went to college for two years to learn both the design aspects behind making a successful game, as well as the programming required to make games using several 2D engines (They stopped teaching 3D by the time I got to it, so I've had to teach myself). This degree has only gotten me retail positions in the real world, forcing me to use the entirety of my free time actually working on what will make my life better. Now I'm taking another step, another opportunity, towards doing what I actually love. I'd like to use Steemit to be able to write about what's important to me, while getting paid for it at the same time. This is obviously the concept that drove everyone else to this website, but I'm looking to bring a type of content that I've seen very little of here: game reviews.

Why video game reviews?

With the death of YouTube being plausibly within the year, it's understanding that this platform will begin to see an exodus of content creators looking for a better, more stable source of income. And understandably, they're more likely to join if there is a large pre-existing community here; one that separates itself from talks of the cryptocurrency backbone of steemit, or that of more traditional art forms, and more towards what they already know. The goal will be to eventually make the tags "gamedev" and "gamereview" be popular enough to attract more content creators who are good at making this type of content. So when YouTube does finally die, this platform will have a fighting chance to redirect of of YouTube's lost business here.

So here I am, the game dev.

I'm not a pioneer to this genre, but simply one of the first to try and use this platform for the sole purpose of writing good review content that has ironically been seen in big you-tubers, but not game critics from the big name websites. What makes me different than the big names? Well, I actually enjoy video games for one. It seems like it should be a requirement in the industry of criticism/journalism, but it's not. I also have a very advanced knowable of how games work based on my own in-process, unreleased projects. There are many design aspects within games that aren't brought up, simply because the normal consumer/critic doesn't know they're there. I'm hopeful I can prove myself to be a competent critic in time, and more importantly, I hope I can both entertain you while providing an insightful look into the design of both popular and unpopular gaming media.

Thank you for taking the time to read what I hope is the start of a long, beautiful, game blog.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit, and good luck on your endeavors. I'm a huge fan of several tech reviewers and I agree in your assessment that the same is missing in the gaming genre

Thank you! I'm very passionate about the good the gaming industry has to offer. I hope that through my writing that I can help start the organization of a larger Steemit gaming community.

Welcome to Steemit, I really like your approach to game review, If you don't enjoy doing something you can't review it properly.
Looking foward to your channel we are trying be gamedev too looking to leave their daily jobs someday!
Hope you enjoy yourself here :D

I personally only watch game reviews when a game catches my interest from a different place. My most direct avenue is using the fair steam chrome extension that adds 3 youtube reviews to a steam page.

Good luck in your endeavor.

Congratulations @renning, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps, that have been worked out by experts?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62835.77
ETH 3392.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50