Introduction addition

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

When I was 40 yo I moved from the Netherlands to New Zealand.
Eleven years later I moved to Australia.
The same year I moved to New Zealand my father moved to South-Africa and that is the reason I have visited South-Africa a lot.
Mentally is was not healthy to stay with my father in one house for more than 3 days, so as soon as it was politely allowed, my husband and I grabbed his car keys and drive around for at least a week .........

1-Fruitmesje.jpg

......... before we were enough recovered to cope with a new round of 3 family days.

This is me and my dad. We look cool, right?

1-SAM_3173.jpg

Although New Zealand is beautiful, it is not the most highlighted part of my life. Especially not the social aspect. I could not get used to the New Zealanders accent and after 11 years I still only could understand 50% of a conversation. I slowly shut myself off because it became too embarrassing to say: "Sorry, I don't understand you?" over and over and over again. Let alone using humour ... the spare moments I dared to say something funny, people stared at me like I just had shouted out a dirty word. Yes, of course this way my own wooden shoe accent didn't improve too.
I always say that those years I got wilted. It felt like my personal development stalled. For some reason my husband and I could not find people with the same interests. Roughly said; it seemed we only met fisherman and pig hunters. New Zealanders are absolutely super nice. But a meaningful conversation? Neh, for some reason it didn't work. Not with us.
I'm sure we were the weirdo's. Not them. But that did not detract from the existing problem.

Then fast forward to 2017. From day 1 we had arrived in Australia I immediately felt I could shed off my old skin. I was not that boring silent neighbour. I was not deaf. I even was not particularly shy. The Australians just articulate. That made me just relaxed enough to take the time to find the right words if I have to speak. My knowledge of English is moving forward and nowadays I almost enjoy talking to people. Almost. Because I'm still a nerdy introvert. But being heard and seen makes a difference of day and night.

20170825_110043k.jpg

You can also find my posts on SteemitWorldMap

Sort:  

Are you the one who's haunting people?

Because you complaining about? You do not like sports?

You are awesome. My grandpa is from Amsterdam. Love your photos. You are beautiful and funny hehe. Thanks for sharing. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. Happy Easter 2018. I love South Africa and @Stefan.Molyneux

Thanks Oatmeal Joey Arnold thumbsup.gif

It’s good to know that you have finally find the right place to be yourself! So, from now on you can grow and flourish!!
Go for it!

Good luck .

I even can't stop it, whaha.

Amazing lady!
You are making up for lost time!

Cheers.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=red-white-blue
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=introduction-addition


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

You got a 33.33% Prime Upvote from @alphaprime courtesy of @red-white-blue!

All Upvoted posts are considered for additional Upvotes and Resteem based on quality content criteria chosen by our moderators in an effort to give something back to the community.

If you have any queries, want to send a feedback or interested in delegating SteemPower to us please join our discord channel.

hi red-white-blue, it’s nice to see new face on steemit, hope you will spread positive vibes in steemit.and keep up the good work on steemit...;-) and be regular on steemit it will make grow you faster... ;-)

Welcome to steemit , upvoted you will regularly do on your good work , for newbie tips and basic information you can check my blog at @adityajainxds

some of the important website you need to now.

https://steemd.com/@ (username)
http://steemitboard.com/welcome.html
https://steemnow.com/@ (username)

This one you need a must to sign up beause you will get more followers and more upvote by everyupvote and lastly the more points the more SBD. Try it and grow yourself

https://steemfollower.com/?r=9826

You Have My Back.....
Thanks @adityajainxds


Hello @red-white-blue!

I noticed you have posted many times since you began your journey on Steemit. That is great! We love active partipants.

I do want to point out that the Introduceyourself tag is meant to be used once only to introduce yourself to the Steemit community. You have now posted 6 times using the introduceyourself tag. Please see this link for more information Tag Spam?

Please take this into consideration and help build a great platform!

Ahahaha! The real you on top there? :) : )

I love that beach shot too. Where is that?

Yes I was showing my just bought brand new yet unused fruit knife :)
The beach shot was in North of New Zealand. No waves at all.

That will teach us to lump all the Antipodeans together!

I totally know that feeling when one country doesn't quite suit. You REALLY want to love the place, but somehow it just doesn't work for you. I felt that way when living in Sweden. It's an amazing country but just wasn't for me. I felt like a weirdo.
Then I moved to Austria, and it was how you described being in Australia. Suddenly I felt a connection with people. Their way of relating is more similar to mine. I felt cool. I'm still an introvert - but it's nice to feel like a mildly sociable one. Glad you found a more fitting country :)

Well, probably we still are children and don't want to be too different from the other kids in class ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69805.09
ETH 3740.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59