You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Funny is here!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

As for the losing content issue. That's not an issue. I mainly make memes and comics and that's always saved before it goes anywhere. It's the only way to upload it, actually.

You seem to be pretty knowledgeable about how this site works... What say you about me posting pretty often, let's say every hour or so... In order to increase the number of followers since I really don't care about how much money I'm generating at the moment?

Sort:  

It's a tough call. Sometimes quick and simple posts will do well, and then other times they will not.

A lot of people frown upon "shit posting." Even the definition varies, but basically it is posting quick and easy content without much effort behind it. Your situation is different though since your content is not meant to be long and detailed. It's specifically the opposite (not suggesting little effort goes into it).

I'd say to go for it, and see how it works. You already have a popular following on fb, so you should pretty easily transfer that success to over here. Popular people on here always do well. The reason is how the site works. People with lots of money in their accounts will support you.

That gets you more of the daily piece of the pie. The more Steem Power an account has, the more of that daily mined crypto the account controls. A new user with no SP will upvote you for a penny. A whale with a million SP could potentially give you $1,000 in a single vote.

What a whale finds valuable varies too, so you never really know. But one key to success here is grabbing the attention of the whales. People follow the money of course as usual in life too. The more money your account has in it, the more followers you'll tend to get. Then it just builds and builds from there.

Some people market well and get 10K followers, and all those pennies add up quickly. You shouldn't have that problem with pennies though. Some whales will definitely find you, support you, and make this place wildly successful for you!

Remember me when you're rich, uhmkay? LOL Steem on Anarchyball! The money you'll make here will make your head spin. I've seen Acidyo, (he's great and a friend of liberty and I'm not complaining), post a simple video game streaming video with two short sentences that makes hundreds.

That happens because he has whales upvoting him. Some of them are probably auto upvotes too. :)

I wouldn't worry too much about getting more followers either. Your posts will naturally end up in the trending and hot categories, and then more and more people will see them. The system works very well to make more highly valued content go to the top of the stack of things for everyone to see. There are tons of liberty lovers, Liberty Professionals as I like to call us, here too. Many of them are whales also, and the founders of this place are, at least in a majority of ways, on our side as well. They are in the fight to tear down control systems--regardless of what type.

I definitely gotta do more research on how this works. Cause I'm so used to getting lots of laughs simply because of the amount of followers we have on Facebook.

You are saying the people getting to see the content is not due to how many followers one has?

Nope. No one has to follow you if your post ends up in the "trending new hot promoted" list to the top left. See the other reply I posted too. You can easily share your memes in trending popular posts by other people as long as they are appropriate for the post's conversation. You'll gain a lot of positive exposure that way.

Okay... That's beginning to make some new sense I was missing. So the goal here is to make it on trending new or hot... And promoted? So I can promote my own post?

I never look in promoted. You won't need that service. Some users pay to have their posts promoted. I figure if someone has to pay to promote their content, I already have no desire to look at it. :)

Cause I noticed, we don't have the equivalent to Facebook's news feed... So where do we go to see what's happening?

I guess trending, or hot? And new obviously... But one can get on new by simply posting a lot?

New is everything. You can click a category on the left from the list then also click new, trending, etc. to get a listing of only, for example, "trending introduceyourself" posts. The feed for your account won't help you much, but it is there. I don't have that many followers or followed, and my feed is practically useless already. It's just too much to efficiently look through.

Trending and hot will probably be the two areas you'll want to be searching through the most.

I found your post for example by going to "introduceyourself" and "new" together. I try to go through it daily to look for promising new accounts to help them out.

Oh wow, that's actually a lot better than Facebook's news feed since it gives more options when your news feed is dead.

I'm really thankful for answering my questions brother. I realize it's still gonna take me some time to get used to it. I just clicked on trending and found something that interests me that has nothing to do with anything else.

I see this becoming my main go to. But definitely gotta go through all the kinks, thank you for helping and showing me how much there is to this format. I'll follow you now. There's no "friend" option here, right? lol

One last question though... How do we get our own feed? For example if I only want to see what the people I'm following are posting?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43