Hellooooo Steemit Community!

![20170623_085251_2.jpg]()
Hi, my name is Randy Krafft. I'm 62 years old and semi-retired. I'm doing some part time work - and stay as busy as I want to be.

A friend of mine, Mike McDonald, known here as @worldclassplayer, started talking about Steemit months ago, and I signed up back in March to check it out. I poked my head in every now and then, reading various posts – and a portion of the FAQ - and this is my introductory post.

I've noticed that many refer to the Steemit community as Family, which is very cool, as I see all of humanity as one big family – sisters and brothers from different mothers is what we are... There is No One that's better than, or less than, anyone else... Big or small, short or tall, we're all basically the same – all connected by/with the Life substance that exists in all Life – yet each unique individuals with unique interests, talents and passions...

In addition to recommending Steemit, Mike (@worldclassplayer ) also has been sharing a lot about cryptocurrencies. I've always been kinda stingy with money – 'cause I've never had much – and don't have the money, or expertise, to invest in the stocks and bonds system in which I've come to have less and less confidence, so I was hesitant to even investigate this crypto arena – this alternative money... However, having known Mike for about 9 years, I know he's not a jump-on-the-bandwagon kinda guy – that he wouldn't have gotten himself involved if he hadn't thoroughly investigated it.

![20170622_123937_3.jpg]()
The more I looked at Steemit, the more I saw that there's a plethora of knowledge being shared here. So, the past couple of months I've been reading – a lot – to try to wrap my head around what blockchain and cryptocurrency is/means. And, based on this new knowledge, it seemed that the time is NOW, and made the decision to take part of the money I do have, and put it into a few cryptocurrencies. Taking baby steps, but am moving forward...

About 9 years ago, the company I worked for terminated their pension plan, and my partner and I decided to take the cash payout and bought a little piece of land (5 acres – which is about 2 hectares) out in the country. It's close enough where I could still commute but, out of the mayhem of the city. I saw this as my retirement project...

Three years after my partner was diagnosed with cancer, she passed away May 2016, so now it's just me, 3 dogs, 2 goats, 6 hens and a rooster at the moment. I've been looking at sustainable options and would like to eventually be self-sufficient, and am interested in – and have considered - a variety of options for replacing my humble abode – earthship, shipping containers, and straw bale or cord wood construction, along with capturing solar and wind energy.

![20170622_124249_2.jpg]()
I enjoy camping, cooking and gardening, recently completed a beekeeping class, and am on a waiting list to get bees. I'm also convinced that Self-forgiveness is the key to self-change – to face and change those habitual patterns of behavior that we develop and adopt over the course of our lives, sometimes without considering or questioning Why... And, what's really cool, is that I've found articles/posts here on Steemit regarding on almost every interest I have...

While I'm just a newbie - rather, minnow - I see the Steemit Platform as sort of a grass roots movement toward global change. Sure, there's the potential to make some money but, that's a bonus. This is a global community - people from all over the world communicating and sharing ideas, knowledge and information for the benefit of everyone...

![20170622_124519_2.jpg]()
We can create a world where all decisions are made based on what's Best for All – a world where All are treated as equals and everyone can live a dignified life and reach their utmost potential...

Happy to be Here.

Thanks for reading...

Sort:  

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

 Check the contest for newbies-https://steemit.com/steemit/@tinashe/600-followers-feeling-the-love-milestone-contest-of-sbd-inside-post-follow-upvote-and-resteem
*Thank you*
 

Thanks for the welcome @tinashe... It is an incredible platform.

Wellcome to the community!

My Man! haha.

Awesome Post Brother.

So Happy to Read You Here :)

Re-Steem'N this post :)

Hey @worldclassplayer. Can't Thank you enough!
Truly Grateful for your persistence, Mike...

Always a Pleasure :)

Welcome to the community!

Welcome Randy! @worldclassplayer was certainly looking out for you when he recommended this community. :) Happy you listened, happy you're here :)

Thanks for the welcome @flatearth... Gotta agree with you re: @worldclassplayer ... Grateful he kept bringing it up.
Yeah, I'm Happy I listened and Happy to be here. Seems the time is right ...

Hey and welcome @randykrafft!! Love the pictures man! Wanna see more in posts to come :)

Guess I'll have to be taking more pictures, then Aldin... Had to tease the dogs and goats with treats to get them in the frame... Thanks for the welcome, dude...

Hey Randy. First I liked your face, then I liked your dogs, goats and chickens. I have 0 animals right now because I live in big city but I want a farm really bad one day for me and my family. I even thought building a house from shipping containers. So I will follow and hopefully you will drop some knowledge on us! welcome

Many thanks, @vachemorte. Understand wanting to get out of the city... And, will definitely share what I learn - once I decide which direction I'm gonna go for a dwelling. While not a minimalist, there is something to that... I've learned over the years that I just don't need very much "stuff" . Sure, I want/need the essentials but, I'm pretty sure I can get by with less space and less crap... For my part-time work, I'm a (house) painter, working for my youngest brother and a brother-in-law. We work in some huge homes and I simply don't get why people believe they need so much... Thanks again for the warm welcome.

thanks Randy, I know what you mean. I get you and I will follow your future post with interest ! no bs I will. Cheers

Hi and welcome to Steemit, I such you luck on your journey here.

Can I suggest you look into the #minnowsupportproject - a place for newbies to get help and support as they set out across Steemit. We have voting bots, a follow train where you can get followers and much help and advice.

Drop in to chat at https://discord.gg/v3GpU4N and tell @aggroed I sent you

Hi and thanks for the welcome. I was reading a little about the #minnowsupportproject, and will check it out...

Thank you @vinay-negi. Looking forward to Steeming on...

Welcome to Steem @randykrafft I have sent you a tip

Thank you @bottymcbotface. Appreciate the tip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66425.17
ETH 3185.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63