Introducing Life at an Ecovillage - Living in a Fish Bowl

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

Hello, Steemit! My name is Kyle. I live at Dancing Rabbit ecovillage in northeastern Missouri, and I should be plastering my house right now. 

I dig living at an ecovillage. My neighbors are fun, friendly, committed people. It's beautiful-- prairie and gardens and pastures surrounding. The cost of living is real low (I lease my lot for about $50 per month (but own the house)). It's an amazing place to learn traditional building techniques. When I have questions about how to make oak shakes, chisel out a timberframe joint (both pictured below), or how much cattail fluff to put in my plaster, I consult my more knowledgeable neighbors as often as the internet. Building your own house with natural materials and growing lots of your own food is rewarding. It's a nice place to live. 

Just because I make shingles in my long johns doesn't mean I'm above using a tractor to timberframe...

I started my house four years ago, and it still doesn't have a floor.

To be fair, I did give it a foundation, and walls, and a roof, all in the summer of 2012. I used clay from the foundation and sand from the local quarry for the walls. The featured picture window was being thrown out from someone I knew.  The rafters are trees I cut from the ditch nearby. I like my house. It's purdy. But it's been taking me the meantime to give it the finishing touches. The floor is still dust. And the plaster won't be finished until at least tomorrow, because I'm writing this post instead.  

Oh, channel Five, how lovely of you to drop by!

This is a major challenge about life here. There are distractions. 

Our lives are very much on display. We have a public tour every other Saturday. There are occasionally privately managed workshops which might teach people how to build a pizza oven or implement basic principles of permaculture in their lives. We have five visitor programs over the course of the summer (next year it will be six), which each last three weeks. In true poetry, about ten minutes after I started writing this post, a local news crew started shooting footage immediately outside my front door. One of the questions that the membership committee asks people when they move here is, "How do you feel about living in a fish bowl?" I don't mind living in a fish bowl, but it takes a lot of time. These visitors need tour guides, cooks, instructors. My kitchen co-op and subcommunity, the Critter Collective, recently built a pretty large summer kitchen-- not because we don't need a place to eat in the winter (which we don't have), but because summer is the season when we can feed upwards of 100 visitors and guests.

The Critter Summer Kitchen during construction

I don't have any delusions that what I do on a daily basis will derail climate change, or that the lifestyle I'm leading is for everyone. And that's why I can reconcile living with the distractions that come from exposure to the public eye. 

The notion of influencing the world by personally connecting with people and sharing my (somewhat) radical way of living appeals to me. I like the idea that I can model some drastic alternatives to ecologically destructive elements of the wider consumer culture, and that by sharing this experience with others, they might find inspiration to make changes in their own lives. Or at least, I hope to inspire others to consider the planet and the life it supports in a fresh light. 

Rent the Gnome Dome-- with Steem Dollars

So that's why I'm writing this introduction instead of working outside. I want to increase awareness of the different models we're exploring. But what's more, I think our alternative community is a fertile spawning ground for alternative currencies like Steem. 

We're already familiar with how subjective and elusive the concept of wealth can be, and we have both a deeper scrutiny and more open perception of how value is assigned. My neighbor @nathanbrown has been doing a great job pioneering and curating our own local, virtual currency here at Dancing Rabbit; we're not new to the idea of alternate currencies (not to mention that old concept called barter and trade...). He's hosting @stellabelle when she visits Dancing Rabbit to talk about the potential of Steemit here at the ecovillage, and he was wondering if I could give her lodging in the Gnome Dome (a hobbit hole guest room I developed when I first moved to Dancing Rabbit). I love seeing guests find joy (or perplexed wonder) in their interactions with the Gnome Dome, so I was pleased to say yes (I'll be accepting Steem dollars as payment). My hope is that everyone who comes witness our little corner of the world will be inspired to live more simply, or at least find beauty in the natural elements of the living spaces I'm trying to create. Please leave me a comment if you have further interest in using Steem Dollars to rent the Gnome Dome, or if I you'd like to peer deeper into the fishbowl of Dancing Rabbit. 

Now if you'll excuse me, I need to go outside and smear mud on my walls.

Sort:  

Hello @rabbityoder,

Your post has been chosen by the @robinhoodwhale initiative as one of our top picks today.

Learn more about the Robinhood Whale here!

The Steemit community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep on Steeming!

Goodluck!
~RHW~

Thank you! I felt really good about the content of this post, but after talking to @nathanbrown about how the upvoting system works, I was sort of pre-emptively discouraged by the notion that quality content could just slip through the cracks, by only attracting minnow votes and no whales. So it's really heartening to read your article, and to have your endorsement!

@rabbityoder

You are living my dream :)
Welcome to the community.

Cool stuff. My father was a builder (rough carpentry), so I'd definitely be interested in seeing more about how you build your structures. We were relatively poor, especially when I was very young, so my father got creative with materials when building things on our property. When I was a kid he built a small pole barn exclusively out of cedar timbers he cut down in the yard and re-used corrugated metal roofing material from a demolition job he had done. We also built a large (40'x60') pole barn almost completely out of re-used materials (save for the treated lumber poles) from another demolition job we had done. The last one we did was based off of a 20' flat bed truck as the foundation for a large storage shed. He passed away 8 years ago but all of those buildings are still standing and my brother uses them now, as he took over the property recently from my mother. Every time I go back there to visit I like that every so often I drive by a building my father or grandfather built, and admire the fact that in spite of their age and rough appearance, they still don't have a single sag or bend in the underlying structure.

Writing more about alternative construction has been on my to do list for a long time now. We do have a blog where in theory we'll post about building projects but (like this post is about) there's rarely enough time at the end of the day to document things well.

Demo is definitely a big part of building here. The kitchen in the post was built almost entirely from salvaged or directly cut materials (the plastic roofing panels and screws were the main exception). Love that flatbed foundation idea. There's so many opportunities when people think outside the box. Sounds like your father was one of those people, cool to hear about it.

Very interesting. Good luck to you!

Welcome - I read with interest another post by one of your collegues about Dancing Rabbit living and went and searched the video out on it. It looks an amazing place to live and the concept of living this way. Look forward to reading more about the village. Great post thanks for the share ( following now so as not to miss any posts)

We're a work in progress, but I think it's important to have experiments looking for a better way. I'm open to ideas about what people may or may not be interested in hearing about. Is there anything specifically you're interested in?

Welcome to steemit and interesting introduction! -upvoted & followed

Great article Kyle! We could probably accept Steem $ at the Milkweed Mercantile - come on over for a beer! (It may be a good idea to mend the crotch holes in those longjohns...hey, I know! Pay me in Steem dollars and I can make it happen!)

To be wronged is nothing unless you continue to remember it.

Do you ever hunt for answers or omens in dreams?

This is great!
Gives me a lot of inspiration and motivation to pursue similar life :)
Following for more updates about your new house!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59165.12
ETH 2617.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43