Why my name is not my pen name/username? (introduce yourself)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

Good morning. Good afternoon. Good Evening to you wherever you are in this world.
My name is Ayrie Mei. Quite unique right? It was based from my sister's name which is AYRA and the Mei is from my Birth Month "MAY" but my mom decided to spell it like a Chinese name but I'm not Chinese in fact I'm a Filipino.
I'm a 19 year old from the Philippines. Everyone of you might know my country cause we have achieved a lot of things like in sports and the miss universe.
So why is my username not my name?
The main reason is that I want to be proud of my root, my origin or my ethnicity which is the "IGOROTS(i-go-rot)". (Igorota is a term used for women of this ethnic group.) Our group of indigenous people are one of the most established and long running ethnic groups here in the Philippines. Why? Because even though the Spaniards colonized the Philippines they were not able to reach the far most mountains in the north which our ancestors have lived for centuries. For hundreds of years, a lot of people from our own country and even around the world had always misrepresented us as people with black skin like the Aetas and tails but NO we are fair skinned people and the same as any other race or ethnic groups all around the world, we are not animals for people to misconceive us that we have tails. I want to change this misconception of people with our ethnic group.

My next blog would be where exactly I am from in the Philippines.19399652_1329500467105182_2105802918868515875_n.jpg

Sort:  

Hey @proudigorota, welcome to Steemit!

Welcome to Steem Community @proudigorota! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Welcome to Steem @proudigorota I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Thanks I received it already.

That is so awesome. I am very grateful for that! Love it.

Awesome! I looked at your profile and noticed that you have made a fresh account so I'm feeling generous. This deserves an upvote and bring on the next one!
Getting those big upvotes on a new account can be a daunting task, believe me, so you should try out @MinnowPowerUp where you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up through steemit! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I have also made this post where I explain my experience with the service in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Congratulations @proudigorota! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

G'day @proudigorota! How are you? Welcome to the platform :]

Welcome to Steemit, Ayrie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70439.87
ETH 3810.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44