Greetings and salutations! Let me introduce myself..

in #introduceyourself8 years ago (edited)

I'm 38 years old, living in San Diego, CA. I'm an IT manager working at a Fortune 500 company about to have my 20 year anniversary with that company. I found out about Steemit through one of my reports who is really into crypto - he tipped me off on the guardian article about the price of STEEM skyrocketing this month and as a investor in BTC since 2011, I thought I'd check it out. I turned one of my BTC into SP and here I am! I also found out about the great website purse.io which as a person who buys off Amazon at least weekly frankly I'm surprised I didn't hear about this site a year ago (am I living under a rock?!).

My other interests are reading (fantasy / sci-fi mostly), movies, PC gaming, technology, travel, cooking, transformational festivals and in general just having a good time with friends and the finer things in life. Yesterday was our Gay Pride parade and although I've gone for 4-5 years, this is the first year I walked in the parade with my company. I have a couple other names I go by.. My burner name for instance is Penguin and I also have a Hash name which is The Fast & The Bi-Curious (you'll know what those are if you have been to Burning Man or run with the Hash House Harriers). Both have a story as to how I came about those names. I also get called out about once a week by people saying I look like Seth Macfarlane.

Here is what I'll be doing with the rest of my lazy Sunday afternoon:
Image of me

I've been on reddit for over 7 years, here is to hoping Steemit becomes the next big thing. While I have been dutifully saving for my retirement most of my working career, I would love to help that happen sooner by making a small fortune on SP. I really want to get out of the rat race, sell everything, move into an RV, and just travel the country with my girlfriend for a few years.

Edit: If you are going to be in San Diego this week for Comicon, consider attending our Wednight "preview" night fundraiser. The event is free and open to all, but a $30 ticket will support the Foundation as well as gain access to food, soda, beer/wine, and the silent auction. There will be award winning Sci-Fi/Fantasy authors doing book signings, raffle prizes, a DJ, Cosplay Artists, Photo Ops, and more making this a night to remember! More details HERE.

Sort:  

I think alot of people will check this post out so here's a little more for the people who feel in over their head, Ive compiled some info on the currency/coin it's pretty easy to understand
https://steemit.com/trending/@kalaylah77/all-your-steem-bitcoin-currency-questions-answered-here-plain-and-simple

boom your post exploded !!!

purse.io is great

Yes sir, San Diego representing. We should start the first San Diego Steemit meetup. You in?

I could be convinced if we go somewhere that has drinks :)

Hey! Glad to see a fellow SD person. I see the part about supporting a foundation, but can you tell us more about this foundation? I don't see anything about it in particular and am very curious about good causes in the area. Also does the foundation accept Steem Dollars?

I doubt hey accept steem dollars yet, but I will inquire. KWF stands for the Kevin Workman Foundation after our friend who passed away a few years back. Many of his good friends including myself contributed in starting KWF in his honor. You can read more about him at the bottom of this page.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57298.55
ETH 3059.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29