Starting Fresh with my Art Vlog

Hello Steemians!

I’m an illustrator and teacher in Vegas.

Here's a Youtube link because I couldn't embed the d.Tube link properly.

I recently had a very expensive piece of equipment called a Cintiq break on me and I am now exploring new ways to replace it outside of doing assignments for clients or paying for it out of my own pocket. I used it for all my digital painting and ilustration for the past 8 years.

I’m curious to see if I can fund a replacement strictly through Steem/Dtube. Please bear with me while I get the hang of this. I'm confident that it can be done. The question is; how long will it take me?

In addition to doing videos of digital paintings and studies, I’m experimenting with my painting process as a means to figuring out how to quickly and efficiently produce a graphic novel project that I started in college. While in college, I also wrote a novel in one of my classes. It’s called Liz Crimson.

I took as many classes as I could in the writing department even though my major was in art (animation). I found writing to be just as much fun as illustration.

My focus now is to complete my graphic novel and document its production. I intend to post videos on my process.

Thanks and Steem On,
@pixelcolada

For those curious, here’s the link to the equipment I used below.

Sort:  

Hello! It's nice to see you here! This is a great place to network with other people from all over the world. If you continually post great content you will grow a following in no time and start making some nice author rewards.

I am very happy with your presence in Steemit. I wish you the best! Hope you gonna have fun with our community and see you soon.

Thank you @lytieulong. I appreciate the kind thoughts!


Welcome to Steemit @pixelcolada!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Hi, welcome! Very well painted!
Can't you do without the Cintiq? I actually prefer my old Wacom Intuos3 lol, Cintiqs get hot, are so heavy and take up more space, using it upright makes my arm tired and yeah, the price... whenever my Wacom breaks I get a new one from the office, they're practically throwing them away now. (And it never breaks, unless I spill water on it or something) :)

Thanks!
I can do without the Cintiq. For years I resisted buying one for two reasons. Representatives from Wacom came to my school to demo it. I noticed that when drawing a fast curve the line would appear segmented. And it irritated me that my hand was in the way. So I saw no reason to get one. Then powers that be put Cintiqs into the classrooms and teacher station. After being forced to use one, I was sold. I realized that years ago, the people demoing the Cintiq had a slow laptop. However, you're right about them getting hot and being tired of drawing in that position. Now, having had my experience with the Huion Tablet I'm considering a small Huion Display because it's smaller and I can move it around much easier than a Cintiq. The price is comparable to the Intuos Pro Paper w/ Art Pen that I just returned. For me the lower price makes the slight differences negligible.

Wacom Intuos 3 still my favourite non display Wacom :-D I'm thinking about one of the clone displays as well :-D For now I make do with my android tablet for anything that's not too heavy, my nvidia shield has a strange stylus, its just about ok for painting...pressure is a bit weird and slow small movements are useless.
However my daughter has a kids tablet that is Wacom powered and has a 1080p ips screen!!....its just a bit sluggish but works well for line work and lower res images. Cost next to nothing refurbished at the time.

The idea of tablet that can double up as a pc display/wacom slate and a portable drawing tablet feels like a perfect fit for my needs.

I have tried those apps to enable an android tablet to function like that in Windows, but I never got it to well enough to my satisfaction. It was just too slow. My 2014 tablet is still fun to paint with. It's small enough to bring to a life drawing session.

Nah I'm not talking app based, rather hdmi in and usb out to convert the android tablet's into "Cintiq"
Found this by the way... I've yet to try it but looks promising as an android tablet and usb wacom combo. Could be useful at times.
https://android.stackexchange.com/a/158981

Welcome to steemit pixelcolada! I hope you find a home in our community!

Thank you @lopezdacruz! I hope so too!

Loading...

Hey there, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and I love to draw and do art too.

Nice to meet you! I'd like to check out your work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49