Hello world! I'm pilcrow and I'm a web developer.

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

I promised someone in the Minnow Support Channel that once I reached 100 followers I should introduce myself properly. So here's my (late) introduction.

I'm Stephan, a web developer and movie geek from the Netherlands. I joined Steemit almost a month ago and I've been having fun ever since. Some of my other hobbies include playing the drums, watching movies, programming, riding my motorbike and giving my cat fistbumps. I probably have more nipples than you.

My first few posts were horrible because I was just trying to make a lazy buck here, but I've since found my way and I'm trying to be a decent Steemian. I've also decided I should try and make my own Steemit web app, partly for fun and partly because I miss some functionality on Steemit that I think maybe I could try and build. For example, following a handful of tags I'm interested in and seeing the posts in there on one page.


This is what my first website looked like

While I'm working on that I try to blog about it (sharing is caring), I just finished my tutorial on how to connect to Steemit from inside your Angular website yesterday. Apart from that I might blog about things like movies, technology, mindfulness and other stuff I'm interested in.

Right now I'm working on a post about artificial intelligence and why it's scaring Elon Musk but it's turning out a little longer than I hoped. Maybe tomorrow?

Anyway, here's my worst selfie.

Sort:  

We need more developers here posting content! I'm a self-taught (always learning) Python programmer. I also plan to make some sort of app related to steemit. I'll most likely make a comment bot, I already have a steem price bot, that is open source (code posted on my blog). The only reason I haven't mad a web app is I have zero front end development experience. I guess I could try to use the Python libraries Flask or Django but, I haven't messed around with them yet.

Sorry for the rambling! Welcome, to Steemit. Even if it's a late intro. ;)

Thanks! I hardly know any Python but I've been meaning to play around with it. I'm going to check out Steampy :)

Sweet thanks! Let me know what you think, and Python is relatively easy to pickup once you get the syntax down. I'm really enjoying it.

Hi Ik ben Sylvia, ik heb Steemit ontdekt via een amerikaanse vriend en wat een fantastische plek om te ontdekken. Ik ben erg geinteresseerd in webdevelopment, blockchain, app development etc maar heb zelf nog totaal geen skills op dit gebied behalve mijn enorme interesse op dit gebied.
Ook ben ik een enorme liefhebber van sound en dan voornamelijk 3D sound.
Zou je mij wat leden kunnen aanbevelen met name nederlandse leden om te volgen hier op Steemit?
Great introduction of yourself, very interesting. Normally I comment in English but for ones I liked to do it in Dutch. And you know what? I was actually struggling haha because I'm used to communicating in English all the time of at least the majority of my time

Hey, welkom! Ik kan je aanraden om je bij de Minnow Support Project aan te sluiten. Er is daar o.a. een #teamnl channel met meer Nederlanders en sowieso een boel nuttige dingen. Zie hier: https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@rmz/minnowsupport-wat-is-het-hoe-helpt-het-mij-en-hoe-word-ik-lid

Dank je! Ik ga me zeker ff inlezen

What languages do you know?

Just JavaScript/TypeScript (and HTML/CSS) at the moment. I've been playing with python for a bit too, I want to learn more of it.

Nice, a new Steemian, more or less ^^ Welcome Pilcrow I hope you have fun at this place. don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @chrisx

Thanks, will do!

welcome to steemit steven, this is a great place to be, I wish you success @pilcrow

Hey Stephen can't wait to see more of your posts! How did you learn to write websites ?? I upvoted too cheack out my page ! ✌️👍

Thanks! I guess I just taught myself, but I don't remember which websites I used for that. It's so long ago they probably don't even exist anymore ;)

How long have you been codeing for ??

16 years now, I made my first website when I was 16.

Really! I wish I could have stuff like that when I was 16! What was it about??

Welcome @pilcrow, the fist pound meme was awesome LMAO! You're going to fit right in ... happy steemiting .. please follow @lank and I'll follow you

Welcome to Steemit Pilcrow! 😊 welcome to the other side of the world haha

Welcome to Steemit @pilcrow! Happy to have another Dutchie on board.

Tip: I would add 3 more tags to your post, to increase its exposure.

Hi Stephan. I would love to see a gif of you fistbumping your cat. Xoxo crazy cat lady

Like this?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70