Big HELLO from Rita with The Phoenix Journeys, a nomadic travel adventure!

Well hello there beauties!

My name is Rita Quinn and my current project is called The Phoenix Journeys, an experiment in nomadic life. This is my first steemit post and, like all you kind folks out there, I'm kicking off my steemit experience by dropping a note to say Hello and introduce myself.

steemit-sign.jpg

So here's a little about me:

I'm a professional photographer, holistic health and healing practitioner, and full-time traveler. I've had a diverse professional background, such as being an award winning technical writer and usability engineer for TurboTax software in San Diego, and a marketing and events Manager for an Inc 500 company in Los Angeles.

In 2007, I decided to leave the corporate world and follow my passion for photography and it has been one of the greatest blessings and joys of my life. I have had a photography studio based out of Austin, TX where I was able to make a full-time living as a freelance photographer.

Weddings.jpg

I've photographed hundreds of weddings and close to a thousand portrait sessions. What an honor it has been to work with some amazing clients and bear witness to literally some of their most important days surrounded by the people they love!

portraits.jpg

One of my other passions is music and film. As a photographer, I have been fortunate to participate in the Austin based, SXSW festival since 2009. I've been a crew chief since 2010, managing their official team of 70-100 photographers. I got to work with some of the most talented photographers in Austin and many others from around the US. And the team of other crew chiefs and managers who also work on our photography crew are some of my favorite people in the world.

17361977_10155258659271554_372796754987829952_n.jpg
(SXSW 2017 Photography Crew Managers)

I absolutely LOVE the SXSW festival and have been able to see many huge acts before they exploded onto the charts, in the most intimate venues. I will always cherish being able to see Capital Cities at a daytime set with only 10 people in the whole place! I remember walking outside all pumped up with their "Safe and Sound" song echoing in my ears. Oh, and seeing FUN at the Warner Sound day stage and within two weeks hearing their "We are young" song on constant replay on the radio. And Alabama Shakes. And. And. And. Yeah, I love this festival.

I've also had the privilege of being a photographer for Getty Images/WireImage and so excited to have some of my images highlighted in publications such as Rolling Stone, The Guardian, and others. It was a little surreal to me when I was assigned to cover a presentation given by Scott Cook, the founder of Intuit. I knew then how I had come full circle from the life I had left behind so many years ago. (That's him on the bottom left.) And I was thrilled when I had my first image featured in Rolling Stone (the Surfer Blood picture on the bottom right).

sxsw1.jpg

I've been the exclusive photographer for the SXSW Filmmaker's Lunch held every year at Robert Rodriguez's TroubleMaker Studios, based in Austin, TX. Robert gives the best inspiring speech every year to all the filmmakers who have had their work selected for screening. In brief, he always starts by saying: "I hope you fail." But then goes into how failure helps you become innovative and tests your resolve and creativity. I have heard it now every year for 8 years and I still love every word.

robertrodriguez.jpg

And it's always a treat when Richard Linklater (aka Rick) shows up at the lunch to hang with all the filmmakers and mingle. This picture makes him look intense, but really he's very quick to smile and say hello to his fans.

Screen Shot 2017-07-07 at 3.45.08 PM.png

And now, my latest project is called The Phoenix Journeys. It's my full-time travel experiment. My husband and I left Austin in May 2017 (yes, just a few months ago) and hit the road in our 38' Class A Motorhome (with our two dogs and cat). The goal: a nomadic rebirth; from 9-5 urbanites to world travelers. To explore this beautiful planet, meet inspiring people along the way, and enrich the world through uplifting images, art, written word, and community. And hey, if National Geographic (or some other travel magazine) wants to hire me as a contributor, that would be amazing too!

14883423_10154752492484038_5960690045549334588_o.jpg

So, please follow along on my adventures! I'll be posting articles filled with images of the places we visit and hopefully provide some useful information for others who plan to visit them too. But be warned: I like to play, be silly, and have fun. So don't be surprised if you end up seeing pictures like this too:

rita-birthday.jpg
(Rita's wig and tea party)

Thanks for reading and I can't wait to follow along with everyone else's posts! I have a feeling Steemit is going to rock my world. TTFN!

-Rita
aka: The Phoenix Journeys

Sort:  

Welcome to the steemit community! We need people like yourself ... awesome blog by the way 🙌🏼💖

What an awesome intro blog!!!

Hello! Welcome to the Steemit Community! I can't wait to see your content. I hope you enjoy this wonderful platform. All the best for you:)
Have a beautiful day & Steem on!

Hola! Bienvenid@ a Steemit! No puedo esperar para ver su contenido. Espero que disfrute mucho de esta maravillosa plataforma. Todo lo mejor para ti:)
Ten un bonito día:) Steem On!

Welcome to Steem @phoenixjourneys I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Fantastic post. Beautiful experiences. Can't wait to hear more :)

Hello ! I am @digital-gypsy , nice to meet you @Phoenixjourneys ! Welcome to Steemit and all the best for your posting

Hi dear welcome on steemit

Gave you a follow because I am hopeful about your posts!

Nice introduction and intresting blog to follow. Looks very professionap and should get great response from community, I am following and if you are interested in world of poker and mental training content you can follow as well since I am new enthusiastic user as you :)

You should post something about her blog post, not your channel, this is not meant for advertising. Thanks

More than 50% of my post was about opinion on her channel, if you are unable to read this than I cannot do anything about it.Lots of luck in future to you my friend.

Your post could be related to every introduction here...but nvm I have not up or downvoted you, I just thought you should not make advertising for your channel on an introduction post.
It's like you coming to someone's home and the first thing you do is to sell something. I think we can agree that this is not the way to do it.
But no hard feelings, I hope everyone makes his way on this platform.

Thanks for the opinion it is exactly what i did not want to do, it was more like from my side showing appreciation and respect to the intrests and content new user is promoting and then I just say what i do in the following.Didn't want to put myself in the spotlight and now I am sorry if it came out like that. I do want to stress out my blog posts and comments are pretty authentic and surely not bot like, good thing on this platform is they all are public and everyone intersted csn check it. Anyways it is getting long so lots of luck again and no hard feelings again, cheers!

I understand and yes it's getting long :)
Cheers

Love you, welcome!

I upvoted with some cents, can't afford more atm, but I think you deserve something on the start, your post was very good. I really liked all your wedding pictures. And I am not a bot like post, like the others ;)
If you need some help to get started, just comment here and I will respond as soon as possible :)

Thanks so much! I had no idea there were "bots" used for comments. I appreciate the upvote and warm welcome.

There are a lot of them, most of them post on posts in the introduce yourself, because the people have no idea about the platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43