1 Week Into Steemit: Earned A Few Dollars And Gained 75 New Followers - The Most Important Thing I've Learned So Far 🚀

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

week1.jpg

So it's officially been just over 1 week since I started consistently posting on Steemit. I've gained 75 new followers ( Thank you everyone that's followed me so far! ) and I've earned close to $7 so far. Nothing crazy, but just shows it's possible to earn a few bucks even as a complete beginner!

I've been spending a lot of time using and learning about Steemit lately and I wanted to post the most important thing I've learned so far!

Be Persistent!

One of the things I've been spending admittedly way too much time doing is looking at relatively new users on Steemit and seeing how much they've earned per post over time.

I can't even tell you the number of profiles I've seen that are posting relatively low quality content. But even still, because these posters have been consistent, they've gained a bit of a following that consistently upvote their posts. Which in turn gets them more followers and more earnings over time.

It seems like most profiles that I've looked at that are consistent with posting every day, start earning on average anywhere from $1 - $5 per post within about 3 months. People that stay consistent with posting for 6 months or longer seem to get to anywhere from $10 - $30 per post. That ain't too shabby!

Don't Get Discouraged!

However, it's definitely discouraging when you spend time on creating quality articles only to get 0 views, comments, or upvotes. But Steemit definitely seems to reward those that consistently use the platform.

I was just looking at the profile of one Steemit user. Her entire first month, she posted every day, and made $0.00 on every single post. But she persisted for several months and didn't change the types of posts she was making. That user a few months later is now making anywhere from $10 - $30 per post. Truly amazing what consistency can do for your on this platform.

Conclusion

So if there's any major takeaway from this post, it's to be persistent! Develop a following, create quality content, and earnings will come with time.

Want To Stay Up To Date With My Steemit Journey? Click Here To Follow Me!


steemy.jpg

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @phil917!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Let me know if I can help.
Many blessings! @bycoleman

@bycoleman, if I read all your posts I really need to quit my job 😋.
Nevertheless I started to follow you.

What is your opinion about number of posts? You also seem to have a lot. But I can't easily determine your number of posts and comments. But it really looks like one needs to write huge numbers of posts and comments to get somewhere.

As long as you are contributing quality material, post as much as you want. The more your post the more you will get noticed.

But if you post trash, you will be down-voted and end up off the platform. The community is the final judge.

Thanks for the encouragement!

Certainly, Keep it up.
I see you like crypto. Check out my blog for some TA I do every week.

Will do! And likewise, check out my blog for daily crypto updates and news.

Will do. Thanks.

Hey thanks for this! @bycoleman

Glad I dropped by here.

You're welcome. They are great links.

Check out my blog and I'll try to keep you informed.

I did. Thanks.

Agreed! Persistence has helped me go a lot further than I expected, and like you said realizing that it takes time to build an audience is critical.

For sure! My only regret is that I signed up 3 - 4 months ago and I didn't commit to consistently posting earlier. Had I started posting every day back then, I would probably already be at the level of a few dollars per post. Oh well ¯_(ツ)_/¯

Better now than never!

Oh man I feel it.

And agreed, time to start building upwards! If I may ask, why didn't you commit?

Didn't really understand the platform and the value it offered. I now think it's one of the best uses of blockchain technology and cryptocurrency that I've ever seen.

Thanks for being honest, and I agree again, Steem really is a wonderful tech.

Definitely encouraging! I just started a few days ago as well!

Welcome to Steemit and good luck! Hope you stick with it. Consider following me and I will follow back :) @phil917

Very well done by earning such an amount. I will read your story a bit later. For now I just wonder, did you really have no followers after 2 months?

I may have had 1 or 2, I forget if my friends had followed me already or not. I made 1 post initially when I first signed up and then didn't come back to Steemit for several months.

Did you also see profiles earning money without posting everyday or even more than once a day?

I always think as follows. Let's assume I follow 50 steemonians and they post an average of 1 per day. They also resteem 0.2 posts per day. It takes me 1 minute on average to read a post. This means it would take 1 hour per day to read all posts in my feed. Way to much for me and also for many others. So that's basically part of the reason why minnow posts get so less views.

Did you also learn a lot about the technical aspect?
Although I've read a lot I still have the idea that I almost don't know nothing. For example how much steem goes on a daily/weekly basis into the reward poule? How much SP do you need to let your vote become worth $0.02? Etc. Etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52